We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain bike weekend”
Review of Sunny Brow Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunny Brow Barn
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Two friends and myself rented one of the yurts at sunny brow as a base for a weekends mountain biking. The owner came out to meet us on arrival not knowing the purpose of our trip, the first thing he did was take us into a barn were he told us our bikes would be safe if we wanted to store them when not riding.
We were then taken down to our yurt which was in a small wooded area, it was great to see there was already smoke coming out of the chimney as it was a cool evening but inside it was very warm and also surprisingly very spacious
Beds were very comfortable and cooking facilities very good, a short walk to toilet and shower block which were kept nice and clean
Five minutes walk down the lane took us to a fantastic pub called the Drunken Duck which serves up real ales and good food just what was needed after a long day on the bike.
Overall a great place to stay no matter what your visit to the lakes is for
We ll be going bake as the walking and riding was perfect right from the doorstep
Can't Wait !!!

Room Tip: All three yurts are more or less the same situated with enough room in-between to give you privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldgoldpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip S, Owner at Sunny Brow Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Cheers for the brilliant review, we welcome mountain bike riders and offer dry storage for the bikes and if requested a power washer to clean the bikes at the end of the holiday.
Hope to see you both again and maybe join you on a run.
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed at this delightful place for my girlfriends birthday for a few nights in September. It is tremendously good value for what you get. The yurts are genius. Very well designed, with lots of room, a comfy king size bed and two large single beds/sofas. There is a great little stove for hot water, a sizeable fridge for drinks and all essential kitchen bits and bobs. There was an excellent wood burner which ensured that you weren't cold, although the yurt is very well insulated anyway. Each yurt is sufficiently far away from each other for privacy if you want it but close enough if you are coming as a squad! There is a BBQ and lovely homemade tree stump seats on the doorstep of each yurt. There are clean, large toliet/shower facilities in close proximity to the yurts. They are situated surrounded by beautiful greenery and a lovely stream trickling by you. The farm is close enough to Ambleside and there is a brilliant high end gastro pub a small amble down the road. The owners were very helpful. To top off everything else, the owner makes amazingly delicious organic cakes on request, perfect for a birthday break! We have been telling all of our friends about this place, I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My wife and i stayed here for a week in April and had a great time. The Yurts are very spacious with a king size bed, 2 other sofa beds, a grill and the best thing - a wood burning stove that keeps the Yurt very warm. Unfortunately the weahter wasnt nice enough for a BBQ. There was also a shower and toilet in a block about 100 yards from the the Yurts that were spotless.

Very good location within a short drive of ambleside and coniston and i will echo the previous review and say that Philip couldnt have been more helpful with all our requests.

We will definitely be returning at some point and will recommend the accomodation to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stechap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

went for a week with family, we had two yurt's out of the three. enjoyed playing in the stream, building dams and racing boats. the kids enjoyed the experience of out door living. explored surrounding fields and woodlands that the farm owns. even the weather (2 days rain) did not damped out spirits. toilet, shower block, clean and well kept, Phillip could not do enough for you, any problems he would sort out,
would recommend this place to anyone would wants the outdoors and going back to basics, but without the trouble of tents and sleeping on the floor. Also children would love this place.

Room Tip: doulbe bed and two side beds, comfortable and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilly r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.0 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#12 of 103 in Ambleside
698 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cuckoo Brow Inn
Cuckoo Brow Inn
#1 of 2 in Far Sawrey
903 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
490 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Brow Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Brow Barn

Address: | Sunny Brow Farm, Outgate, Ambleside LA22 0PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Ambleside
Price Range: £45 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Barn/Cottages are of the highest standard furnished with quality and care, we offer a very secluded holiday experience within a small farm and woodland environment, but within easy reach of all areas of the South Lakes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunny Brow Barn Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing