We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy yurts and beautiful, peaceful area”
Review of Sunny Brow Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunny Brow Barn
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Yurts very comfortable and warm. Booked 2 of the yurts for 2 families. Spent our evenings around the campfire and the children loved venturing out to explore the woods, stream and waterfall together. Contrary to a previous review, the shower and toilets were always spotless. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We hired all 3 yurts for a girly weekend away. They are well stocked, have comfortable beds, BBQ and fire pit and even a supply of tea, coffee and sugar.

We had very hot weather while we were there and as a result the yurts reached sauna temperature by the afternoon, but no one wanted to sit in them anyway as we were enjoying the outside space and our visit to Bowness.

There are two toilets and one shower, which was fine for us as we all knew each other, but I could imagine the queue for the shower could be awkward with strangers.

Room Tip: There are 3 yurts in total, two are together and one is on it's own. If I only wanted to hire on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Sorry for the obvious pun!

This was to be my first 'Yurting/Glamping/Camping without the tent' experience and it was superb. Being a man of the cloth and by this I mean an avid camper. I was quite sceptical on Yurts. My thoughts being if you want to have luxury, stay in a hotel or buy a bigger tent. Yurts are indeed luxurious; the ones at Sunny Brow Farm seemed like the ones for me they had all the right luxuries without being traditional chintz. The website told me what facilities were available and was quite comprehensive. I still brought pretty much everything we needed for the weekend. Be Prepared!

The yurts have been fitted out beautifully with well designed and thought about items. Items such as a small hotel type mini-bar fridge, meaning reduced noise. A plug socket to charge mobiles. And lighting powered by solar. This is about as off-grid as I like to be without doing everything by head-torch at night. Oh and there was limited signal on my phone, heaven! For those who can't cope with the thought of having no signal, if you hold you head at a silly angle, stand on one leg and stick your tongue out the corner of your mouth. Apart from looking really silly, you may get a signal. I did on Vodafone. Other mobile phone operators are and were available too.

The website will tell you all about the facilities and a little of what to expect but the welcome by Phillip was superb. He shown us around and told us that he is there should he be needed. He encouraged us to explore as much of the farm and woodland as possible - useful for collecting wood for the campfire. (A free unlimited supply of logs is available for the log burner in the yurt) The only rule; apart from being good citizens of course, was to try and have a quiet campsite for around 2230. Not a problem after all the chats around the campfires, lack of bright lights and listening to the rhythm of the babbling brook which runs through the woodland most of the evening.

The weather was poor for most of the weekend and it was quite parky on one night. The cosiness of the yurt with the log burner allowed it to be enjoyable regardless of the storm outside. On the colder night I did have to use one of the blankets but let’s face it, this is not a central heated building. A yurt is a big tent with a few luxuries. It does make camping really enjoyable though. I don't think it would have been as enjoyable in a nylon tent considering the weather.

Room Tip: Make the most of your visit by exploring all the surrounding land at the farm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnbhoy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had a wonderful 7 days in our 'Yurt Across the Beck', perfectly situated with its own bridge, campfire and outside seating area (bench table and tree stumps to sit on around the fire). The yurt was beautifully decorated and also very practical, kitted out with lots of lovely things from IKEA. We loved the furniture, all made by Philip. The bed was so cosy and warm that we only used the wood burner once, on a chillier night. The bedding felt and looked gorgeous - duck feather down duvets, cotton sheets and covers, blankets and beautiful cushions.

Everything was clean and tidy - yurt, showers and washing up area.

Philip kindly picked us up from and took us back to Hawkshead bus stop. We were travelling without a car, which worked out very well indeed. With Sunny Brow as our base for all our explorations of nearby places, we used the stagecoach buses from Hawkshead almost everyday to get around. We recommend buying Stagecoach Weekly Bus Ticket (£26) if you are without a car as this saved us a lot of money. The walk to Hawkshead was about 40 minutes and although slightly longer than we had anticipated, we enjoyed the countryside scenery everyday.

Thank you so much for such a lovely experience. We hope to be back soon. Charlotte and Phil.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the "Yurt over the Beck", set slightly apart from the other two yurts in a wooded area. We couldn't fault it ! The wool felt lined yurt was nice and cosy and the woodburner worked very well and was easily adjustable. Philip was very friendly and helpful too. Just a short walk to the shower/loo and everything we needed to cook in the yurt or on the gas powered BBQ outside. We would certainly like to stay there again. Its a beautiful peaceful location with the only sounds being those of the birds (cuckoos, woodpeckers, owls etc) and the babbling of the beck below us. Thanks Philip and Suzy from Paul and Gill.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank PaulR_and_Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip S, Owner at Sunny Brow Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thanks for the review. Suzy and I are both very glad that you had a great time, we do hope to see you again soon.
Philip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We booked to stay in one of the Yurts in order to celebrate my girlfriends 30th Birthday. We arrived and were shown to our Yurt by Philip. He was very friendly and showed us everything we needed including how to use the essential log burner.

We had a very peaceful time and were certainly warm enough throughout our 3 night stay. The location was great - the website states that the local pub is within walking distance - this is actually quite a walk!

Our only main criticism would be the very poor cleanliness of the only guest shower - Firstly there is only one shower for all 3 yurts at the site - this is not enough - I had to wait outside the shower for about 20 minutes for another guest to use it first.

I don't think the shower has ever been cleaned since it was installed - very poor considering the price charged for the whole stay.

Our first Yurting experience - A lovely place but we wont be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickymelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We had a great weekend in the yurts at Sunny brow farm - our party had 5 adults, 2 children (3&5 years old) and one dog and we all enjoyed the yurt experience. The yurts were comfortable and very cosy with the log burner on, it was great that the logs were all included in the price. The yurts had everything you might need in terms of BBQ, kitchen utensils and bedding. The weather wasn't great but we still managed to get out and about. Our 2 children loved getting their waterproofs and wellies on so they could play in the stream, go out to collect sticks, say hello to the horses and generally explore. The owner Philip was very friendly and helpful. We all enjoyed the Drunken Duck pub along the road and they were also very good with the children. In short it was a lovely weekend and a good memory to have. Would definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys the outdoor life with a bit of warmth and comfort.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAP2680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip S, Owner at Sunny Brow Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Many thanks for your kind words, we are very proud that you enjoyed your stay here with us and in the Lake District was a good one despite the weather.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
168 reviews
0 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,249 reviews
0 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
500 reviews
0 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,436 reviews
0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Brow Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Brow Barn

Address: | Sunny Brow Farm, Outgate, Ambleside LA22 0PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Ambleside
Price Range: £45 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Barn/Cottages are of the highest standard furnished with quality and care, we offer a very secluded holiday experience within a small farm and woodland environment, but within easy reach of all areas of the South Lakes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunny Brow Barn Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing