We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage and location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Magnificent fireplace in the lounge for those cosy nights Downstairs double bedroom en suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Magnificent fireplace in the lounge for those cosy nights
Downstairs double bedroom en suite
Downstairs en suite
WELCOME
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great but so much more potential”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

There are so many things to love about this place, quiet location beautiful surroundings, practical space but (there is always a but) just a few little things would make it special such as fixing the shower screen so the floor doesn't flood, having at least hand soap or something for people to use or even a hand towel? when the cleaner turned up at 7am on a Sunday saying she had a right to be there cleaning I politely suggested she return at 9.30, unfortunately this left the wrong feeling overall.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review and glad to hear that you thought halfway house was a beautiful cottage . I am sorry to hear you had a few minor problems which we will of course look into .I can only appologise about the cleaning firm this isn't normal practice departure is by 10.00am and my usual housekeeper is lovely and has a good rapport with guests . I will mention it to the cleaning company .many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joseph541...
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage and location”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The cottage is perfect for a holiday in the lakes, fully equipped (Wi-Fi would be a bonus, but not essential) The view from the rear patio is fantastic, we watched the barn owl hunting every evening. Will be staying here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: access from the road into the drive, bit tricky at busy times of day.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailk1
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic would have loved to stay longer”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Good accommodation in a fantastic location. The garden areas boast a shared but private fishing pond which my children loved and spent hours quietly remarking at nature. Perfectly positioned for easy access to Ambleside and great walks from the front door. Definitely be returning.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Megan B
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This cottage was a wonderful fun place to stay for a girl's weekend away. Plenty of space and Liz, the owner, was incredibly helpful. The fact there was no signal or wifi made the trip fantastic as we played games and walked a lot.
The only problems were the radiator leaking in the downstairs room and the shower being a little bit temperamental, sometimes hot and cold.
In general though this was a lovely place with ample parking and a positive feel.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2014
Thank you for your review and we are very glad you all had such a great time at halfway house.We hope to see you all again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jtownley
Leicester
1 review
“Cosy Lakeland home from home”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Me and my family visited halfway house on the 18th January and spent a lovely holiday here. The house is typical Lakeland with beautiful ornate features that give it such a lovely homely touch. The property was clean throughout and the owner was very helpful throughout the whole booking process. The house is in a convenient location very close to Ambleside and we walked to a lovely little cafe about half a mile away at skelwith bridge and had the best cake ever. The house was great for the children (2 boys one 4 one 9) as the rooms were large and the living room was perfect for them to play and watch tv while we prepared dinner. Obviously being in the lakes u don't expect much phone signal etc but we were pleased to find adequate signal in certain rooms in the house (we are on Vodafone and O2). I can't fault the property at all and we had such a fabulous holiday I will definitely be booking to stay here again ... Hopefully bring my sister along as well next time! 5* lovely home from home... Thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are so glad you and your family had a wonderful time . We have recently upgraded halfway house too after your stay and would love to see you all again in the near future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing