We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house in stunning location great to be...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Magnificent fireplace in the lounge for those cosy nights Downstairs double bedroom en suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Magnificent fireplace in the lounge for those cosy nights
Downstairs double bedroom en suite
Downstairs en suite
WELCOME
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tb2119077...
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic house in stunning location great to be back 😄”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Yet again another wonderful stay . We were pleasantly surprised with the new entrance driveway and landscaping which really enhances the property.
As always the house and gardens were beautiful we enjoyed seeing the wildlife too feeding the ducks and a visit from a deer was exciting .
We would highly recommend this fantastic cottage for its character/charm , cleanliness and location . look forward to revisiting next year .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob L
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely location”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A guest information book would be helpful, such as doctor no ,nearest pharmacy, dustbin day etc
Many good things but a few niggles,
Toilet seat does not fit
toaster half works
outhouse difficult to find map would help
Good points
The raised deck gave us wonderful views and we enjoyed sitting out there
Comfortable rooms with plenty of space
Caught large pike from bottom of garden bit of trek but worth it.
parking for 3 cars
well maintained paths.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Lack of information at property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind review and we have made a note of the few niggles which of course will be looked into and addressed . We are glad you enjoyed the cottage and the gardens and the fishing too .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurtonSL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good location just outside the hustle and bustle of Ambleside”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We are regular visitors to the Lake District so know the areas and like to stay in good accommodation. This cottage is lovely. However it has the potential to be top rate. It would benefit from a log burner or fire place so there is a focal point. The furniture is mixed. Some pieces are lovely and others quite run of the mill. Having said that the location is good, garden lovely and well enclosed for dogs, very well heated, comfy beds and we would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2015
Hi thank you for your review . We love a roaring fire too we have had a problem with the chimney and hope to rectify this in the New Year .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
North Salt Lake, Utah
1 review
“Great Location”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed from September 16-20th 2015. We absolutely loved the location of the cottage. Beautiful area. The number one complaint is that the beds were awful. My mom has a bad back and hardly slept for the four nights we were there. Also the numbers on the oven are completely worn off so we had to guess how high we were turning the oven up to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Liked least: the uncomfortable beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review and we are really sorry to hear about your mothers bad back . The downstairs bedroom has a lovely orthopedic mattress which is medium to firm and very supportive for this condition . The upstairs mattress was only a year old however upon further inspection following an earlier review the base had been damaged causing the mattress to dip slightly this has now been fully replaced with a pocket sprung bed to ensure a good nights sleep.
We welcome customer feedback to help us maintain a good service for our guests and are always available for comments during your stay and happy to assist in any way . Customer satisfaction is paramount
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning Cottage in an Idyllic location”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just returned from a short break at Halfway House, we found the cottage to be very well presented and comfortable, with everything you could possibly need for a holiday in Cumbria.
I have visited this part for the world for more than 40 years. Halfway House has got to be my number 1 choice for future visits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property itself
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great house BUT”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband ,mum and dad and myself spent 4 nights here ,on arrival we were over the moon but soon felt disappointed ,kitchen worktop near cooker greasy,dirty hairband on kitchen chair ,previous holiday makers litter in bathroom bin, went on to relax in the evening and the sofas are so uncomfortable better to go to bed ,double bed upstairs is a joke ,sinks in middle and the linen needs to be binned! This comment may seem harsh but previous comments have been ignored.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review . We do appreciate customer feedback to help us maintain and improve our cottages in any way . We have personal contact with all guests and are surprised that any issues were not brought to our attention during or after your stay . We have looked into matters further after seeing your review spoken with housekeeping etc . The bed was only just over a year old upon further inspection the base had been damaged this has been replaced now with a complete new bed to ensure a good night sleep. We have been letting the cottage for 16years now and customer satisfaction is paramount to us .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BevSlack
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely location and Setting”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from a weeks holiday at Halfway House, the cottage is lovely in a lovely setting not far from Ambleside or Windermere. We did enjoy our stay and stayed here with our 2 boys and my In-laws, the only down sides was the upstairs bed was uncomfortable due to the mattress/base, my husband spent most of the night rolling into the middle we tried turning it round but it made no difference! Under the sofas in the lounge and around the sides of the beds hadn't been cleaned very well there was quite a bit of dust and dog hairs under one sofa when looking for one of my children's toys. The heating was set to come on twice a day but most radiators didn't have the temperature controls so couldn't turn them down as the instrutions advised so it got too warm at night and there was no windows to open in the downstairs bedroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and setting
Liked least: The uncomfortable bed upstairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review and glad to hear that you had a great stay at Halfway house . We will look into your comments and mention this to the housekeeper. The boiler is accessible and the heating is in total control of the guests .
Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing