We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good take away”
Review of Walnut Fish Bar

Walnut Fish Bar
Ranked #60 of 117 Restaurants in Ambleside
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Kent
Level Contributor
160 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good take away”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We had fish and chips and haggis and chips as a take away, you could have eaten in but we wanted to get back to the cottage that we had rented to watch a film.
The food was very well cooked and the portions were huge.
The best chippy we have found in the lakes, and we have tried a few!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BJN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    77
    28
    19
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very bad fish and chips”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The service was ok and kind. The portion was massive and impressive. It looked really good. But as soon as i tasted it i got so dissapointed. The chips was alright but the fish was very greasy and i almost could'nt feel the taste of it. There was more crispy cover than a fish. It ruined my fish and chips experience in england. Sorry :-(

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank odessau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best fish & chips outside Yorkshire”
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

There were no seats left in the restaurants so on a freezing night we came here and ate in, delicious fish & chips happy staff so glad we found it

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunholstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
147 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Massive portions...”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Popped in here for dinner during our stay locally, we could have managed with one portion between the two of us but I did manage to polish all of mine off and they were delicious!! Now we have found this little gem we'll certainly call in again after a day in the hills...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely local chippy”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We always get our fish and chips here when in Ambleside. Staff are very friendly and quick to serve you. You also get condiments thrown in for free (some places do charge you for this!!) The fish is white, fresh and delicious.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sillyjilly31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walnut Fish Bar also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Walnut Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing