We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brambles Cafe

Brambles Cafe
Ranked #78 of 117 Restaurants in Ambleside
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This café and shop were AMAZING!. I was stunned with the amount of stuff in there, lots of food, papers, stationary, pet food, frozen food, toilets, café, household items, toys, maps..................... it is endless. I would DEFINITELY RECOMEND THIS PLACE. It is a MUST!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SAM DAVID G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great location. Good Value.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have stopped here several times over recent years when walking in the area.

It's nice enough in a bit of a dour and downcast way, but could do with a bit of a refurb and bringing up to date.

Food has always been reasonable, but the coffee we had this week was less than memorable.

A few less laminated rule cards would also lift the mood a bit as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, pleasat cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Good home-made food, Illy coffee, excellent service and a pleasant friendly attitude. The cafe is well hidden above the Co-op shop in Chapel Stile village but is well worth finding.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandlers Ford, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great - pre or post walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I probably only get to Langdale once a year (or less) but this cafe has become a must visit location for me both before and after heading out on the hills. Food and coffee has always been of good quality and resonably priced. On my most recent wild-camping trip with my 14 year old son, making it back to here in time for a full breakfast after 3 days out certainly got him moving on the last morning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“always delivers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

been here several times now.the food is always to a very high standard.nice drinks in a lovely setting looking out onto the hills.friendly efficient staff and reasonably priced.highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andyw29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brambles Cafe also viewed

Elterwater, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Brambles Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing