We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly Pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gilded Lily

The Gilded Lily
Ranked #22 of 117 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Wine Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
SOUTHSHIELDS
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Good real ale and meals, Fish and chips with proper mushy peas and the homemade burger with wedges were excellent washed down with some fine real ale can't fault it ....

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaveHSouthshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    77
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“relaxed & friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

unusual to find a wine bar in lake district! definately not your traditional beamed pub. lovely relaxed atmosphere. good choice of drinks. friendly staff.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank bambi4sluice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super friendly! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The staff here treat you as friends from the moment you walk through the door. The food is fantastic, my steak was probably the best I've ever had and my wife and kids loved their meals too. There was a good selection of fine ales and wines. The atmosphere was very relaxed and complimented with live music. I'll gladly visit again when we next visit Ambleside. One point of note, it is now called "The Lily".

Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

There was a nice atmosphere food was reasonable.I chose the chorizo rissotto which was very good but my husband's chicken and leek had a bit too much liquid. The live music was okay but a bit too loud for the venue.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well worth every penny spent!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Food was excellent... steak cooked to perfection with real homemade chips and onion rings! My other half had the burger he said it was the best burger he'd eaten in years! Chef is to be commended for getting good food bang on! The music, bar and settings are just nice mix of young and old! The young lads who work there are very nice and friendly! If I come back to Ambleside I would most definitely be coming here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dewks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gilded Lily also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing