We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !”
Review of The Lily

The Lily
Ranked #22 of 120 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
norwich
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Initially popped in here for an early evening drink before going for a meal but watching the food come out decided to stay (so glad we did !)
The service was excellent (the best so far) and the food was amazing we had the fish sharing platter which was lovely and then the fish and chips both served on wooden platters.
Would have stayed longer but a group of rather noisy youngsters came in and it all got a bit loud (god I sound like my mother!) .
The only reason we didn't go again is that we had promised ourselves to try as many different restaurants as we could in our weeks stay in Ambleside.
This was not on our recommended list of Restaurants given by the cottage but have made sure it is on the list now.
Highly Recommend if you're in Ambleside.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    83
    23
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Quality food
Friendly atmosphere
Wine priced accordingly
Excellent live music
Just one of those places you are so pleased to have decided to go in
Staff are great and the quality of meals and drinks give justice to your money.
Love it

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So friendly”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Dropped in here on a Saturday night. There was a good fun blues rock band playing very well, great drinks, smashing atmosphere.
My only regret is that we didn't eat here, as the food is meant to be great.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

A lovely bar with a great atmosphere, went in for drinks after a meal but wished we had eaten here too as the food looked delicious.

Helpful?
Thank CSN1039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful food!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I went for our anniversary meal during a weekend break and the food was delicious. I would mostly recommend the chicken, ham and leek pie! Definitely worth a visit if you're in Ambleside

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lornag1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lily also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing