We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Brathay Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brathay Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A great budget priced option in the Lakes - we stayed in the grand hall building and wish we'd had more time to explore the grounds. The self-service breakfast was excellent and service was friendly. We did have slight difficulty locating it as the sign on the road outside is rather discreet, but would definitely go again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed here over the August Bank Holiday for one night ,having booked at the last minute. The welcome was very friendly. My room was a single in a building like a chalet that had been converted into 8 rooms . The room was small but clean, with a good shower in the en-suite. There was a small TV that I couldn't get to work (and no operating intructions that I could find). There was not much space but there again there was enough for my needs , which was, basically,somewhere comfy to sleep overnight. Breakfast was great and buffet style. The Dining Room looked like a school dining room. There is free Wifi which worked well.
Overall, given that if you come to the Lakes , you're not spending that much time indoors in your hotel room anyway, this did the job for me and I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetedelMonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A group of us stayed here during Easter and had a wonderful time. A few of us had the superior rooms and some of us were in the standard single rooms.

If you go for the Standard rooms ask for a room facing the lake - beautiful views.

The breakfast was great and there is also a lovely lounge/bar area. Brathay Hall is a short walk from Ambleside, but we welcomed the walk after our heavy evening meals!

I went for early morning walks, past the fields, to the lake and to the boat house. There are great views and a superb spot to have the serenity all to yourself for a short while!

I can highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake with wonderful views (Front of building)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizJou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Needed somewhere to stay cheaply for the Coniston marathon for a 7am start on July 7th, all of Coniston booked, and happened across Brathay hall, and I'm really glad I did. Cannot fault it for the price, £35 a night for per person. The location and views amazing our room looked out over Windermere in the main building, and the lovely Lakeland scenery, and this was certainly helped by the most amazing weather I've known in the Lakes. Yes the rooms are dated, but if you only need a bed who cares? Only had breakfast one day, and it was perfectly acceptable, and all the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. Easy walk to Ambleside(in the sun anyway), and we especially appreciated the peace and quiet before the big race- I feel certain I will return when I'm running again in the Lakes, as staying over at these prices beats the immediate drive home.

Room Tip: main building Helvellyn- great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iainmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We did not really know what to expect at Brathay Hall. We were staying in the Lakes for a couple of nights for a short break and had struggled to find somewhere at a sensible price over the Bank Holiday weekend. What we found was a great surprise. We had a room in one of the lodges in the grounds of the Hall. The room was huge, with lots of space for our travel cot. It had tea & coffee facilities, flat screen television, a modern bathroom and an amazing view out of a vast window. The Hall and lodges are set in extensive grounds, so it is an incredibly peaceful spot, but it was very convenient for Ambleside and for Hawkshead; a good place to visit for Beatrix Potter fans. Breakfast was good and whilst the dining room is a little basic, given that the Hall is basically an outward bounds centre, the food itself was very tasty and there was plenty of it at the self-service breakfast buffet. We did not see much of the staff, but everybody we did come across was helpful and polite and, despite the weather being a little less than sunny, we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The rooms in the lodges in the grounds of the hall are huge, quiet and some have fantastic views; so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt-T78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Booked a double room for a rare child-free evening out with a meal and a film at Fellinis (which was just superb btw). The location really is stunning, the main house itself is very grand, the grounds are literally on the banks of Windermere and are snaked with beautiful walks and wooded areas. The only downside to mention about the location is that you're a bit outside of Ambleside here, absolutely walkable heading into town shopping during the day, not so much if you're dressed up for a night out. We phoned every taxi in the book and could not for love nor money get a taxi to take us into town on the Friday evening so I ended up having to drive - something to be aware of on a weekend.

Our double room was in one of the 'Wansfell' lodges which are located behind the main building. With the benefit of hindsight I should have booked a 'Superior' room as the Wansfell lodge, whilst clean, did very much have the feel of a portacabin/scout hut about it and felt tired. One of the room's windows looked directly out onto the lodge entrance and this was the source of quite a lot of noise as other guests returned later in the evening and the spring-loaded doors slammed shut.

Breakfast was nice, with cooked buffet or cereal options. The breakfast area is a canteen style setup rather than a dining room.

It sadly wasn't really for me, it was reasonably priced and clean but overall a little disappointing. That being said, for young travellers and those that just want a clean room and a roof over their head while they explore the wonderful local area you really can't go far wrong and the beautiful setting does make up for a lot.

Room Tip: Couples and families, go for the Superior Lodges if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a stay at Brathay. We stayed in the lodges with friends, 4adults 2children. The lodges are spotlessly clean with lovely solid oak furniture, and the beds are really comfortable too. The views from the lodges are fantastic and the small sitting area makes a lovely place to sit and have coffee while taking in your surroundings. It is about a 10 min walk into Ambleside and similar to Lake Windermere, there is a good bus service with running commentary of the local area, we used this once but walked everywhere else. If you have kids a trip to Grizedale Forest can be recommended . Would definitely return to Brathay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethanHogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
1.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,731 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,428 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
570 reviews
4.1 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brathay Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brathay Hall

Address: Brathay, Ambleside LA22 0HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Ambleside
Price Range: £79 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brathay Hall is the residential training centre of Brathay Trust, the national charity that inspires young people to become successful, confident and responsible citizens. Set in 360 acres of mature woodland and rolling pastures, at the head of Windermere, the imposing Georgian country house offers B&B accommodation suitable for all the family. The Hall is set in its own grounds on the north shore of Windermere, with beautiful views of the lake. The site offers a variety of accommodation, with something to suit all pockets from single en-suite through to luxury lodges with King size beds, seating area and good sized bathrooms. All rooms are en-suite, with colour television, tea and coffee making facilities. The Loughrigg rooms are all single en-suite and are detached from the main building, with their own parking area; Helvellyn rooms are en-suite, and can be either singles or twinned, and are situated in the main Hall; the Scafell rooms are our latest addition and take the form of luxury lodges, again detached from the main building; all are en-suite; and feature picture windows with stunning views of the Cumbrian hills. Breakfast is served from 8am – 9am in our dining room, where you can gaze out across the grounds at the beautiful lake and hills, truly an inspiring start to the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Brathay Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brathay Hall Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing