We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough...”
Review of Brathay Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brathay Hall
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice enough...”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My partner and I stayed her on Friday 30th May for 1 night. Can't fault the staff or room even though a little cool on entering, heating was on later. Check in is from 5pm but we arrived at 3 and our room was ready...great stuff. Large room with huge bed and small hall to bathroom. All very nice indeed. In a quiet location not in main hotel. This hotel is for all walks of life and seems to host adventure weekends so goes from private rooms to lodge type rooms to basic accommodation. I think this is a great idea but because you get hostel type rooms you also get a hostel type feel to the place. Its a good mile from Ambleside town and lake but with being walkers we enjoyed the stroll around stopping at the occasional pub lol. Now the only niggle I have is the price...its no way worth £80 for 2 BnB. The room was lovely and clean and quiet, that wasn't the issue. For breakfast you use a room that's like a school canteen and its set out for hostel people with long tables here and there. We had a good choice i.e. cereals, fruit, coffee, juices, toast and cooked breakfast to help yourself too and you can eat as much as you want. Just not my cup of tea for the price. Felt I was staying in a bunkhouse on the cheap. Everyone has their own preferences...this was tried, tested and not mine. BnB in town would be more intimate and more my scene. Least we had a nice walk and could leave car easily at the hall. Nice view of the lake and also lots of bunnies hopping around in the grounds. Has a bar which was open but quiet. Depends what your looking for. Would stay again at a push if no place available in town as Ambleside is one of my favourite places...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SooPoo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    20
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
34
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We threw our wedding celebration here. What an amazing setting! Brathay helped us organise the tent for the party, rental for the crockery etc, accommodation for most of our guests, and got us out onto Windermere the following morning on whaling boats. Everyone had a great weekend and we couldn't be happier. The staff were very accommodating and even supplied an emergency music system at 11pm when ours died! Brathay is situated on the northern end of Lake Windermere, only 15 minutes walk from the town of Ambleside, with many walks and fell climbs accessible from Brathay's doorstep. The weather decided to play ball too, which just set the whole thing off so magically. Thanks so much

Room Tip: Brathay has a wide range of rooms from dormitories to more luxurious speparate lodges at varying rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

All you need to know:

Family with children in the 10 bed dorm.
Worked out at £20 pppn.
Wonderful staff.
Amazing location.
Fantastic building.
Delicious breakfast.

This place is a gem! It is a charitable trust, so not only is it a worthy place to support by staying here, it has the added bonus of being somewhere we all immediately felt was a place we will definitely visit again soon, as it felt like home.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaLashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

After a long drive from London, reached here by 7pm. A friendly reception staff told us our room was ready with the kids beds as had been requested. We got the swedish style rooms which were pretty spacious and nice. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was big and had a stand-in shower. From the room we had a nice view of the hills and saw many rabbits and sheep out on the field.

The staff pointed us to a great vegetarian restaurant in the neighborhood. They also offered to have vegetarian sausages ready for breakfast. The breakfast was nice and as promised, the vegetarian sausages were there along with breads, beans, tomatoes and mushrooms. There were 3 other kinds of cereals and juices.

The main building indeed looks like a youth hostel and they were having some youth activities in there. But nothing that was in our way.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuggleDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I wanted a quiet weekend away in what we thought was a beautiful manor house. What we actually got was what can only be described as nasty. There was a bizarre on the day which we arrived. So no peace and quiet. The room well there are no words. It was a large enough room. 2 single beds put together. The view was stunning until you looked at the windowsill. The windows had never been cleaned and where so dirty inside and out that I nearly cried. Found human body hair on the windowsill. And the day we left we found someone elses socks under the bed. I was mortified to have paid 180 for 2nights. A mistake I will not be making again

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky A, Manager at Brathay Hall, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We are very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and apologise for shortcomings in any service areas, these are being reviewed and action taken to ensure our normal exemplary standards are maintained.
We set our room pricing to be at a reasonable level and in the context of the lake district demand and the peak time of Easter therefore do feel that we are within an acceptable range for the accommodation provided.
We appreciate that the noise level from the Easter Bazaar music was significant and as this had been a long planned event we did endeavour to contact, by e-mail, every guest who had booked rooms on site to let them know, well in advance.
The event was a charity fundraiser for us, Brathay Trust and another local charity and we did want to inform guests as fully as possible about it and to provide information and a specific parking pass to minimise the inconvenience.
We appreciate that acceptable noise levels are subjective and appreciate that this has caused dissatisfaction.
Once again we regret that your stay was less than satisfactory but would very much like to extend a welcome to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a walking weekend and had been informed that there would be loud music in advance on the Saturday evening. The setting was magical and my room was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. I did have a problem with my door and I did suggest having an emergency number written in the room, which I hope will be actioned on. Breakfast was self service and had healthy options. I would stay here again but I would advise travelling back by taxi at night.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky_boow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky A, Manager at Brathay Hall, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again soon.
We are currently reviewing guest books and will definitely take your suggestion on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked the Room through Booking.com, we loved the location, this is our 1st time to the Lake District. What a SHAMBLES!!! 1st of all we paid for a Lake View and was told they were all booked, then their was a Charity Concert Playing thumping loud Music until 1 am. We got no warning, no e-mail to let us know what was going on. We paid £90 for a few quiet Days in the lake District, all I got was loud Music, I suffer from Irregular Heart Rhythm, and the Bass of the Music gave me palpitations, I also am a light sleeper. Our Room was nice as was the self service breakfast. I wanted a refund and there was no one around in the Morning, all you had was a boarded up reception, with a Door to dump your Keys through, there was another couple as we were leaving, who said the same, we will never stay there and again! Same goes with us, disgusting service, we pay £90 for a service and all we get is a Youth Hostel Style service, appalling.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pth1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky A, Manager at Brathay Hall, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We are very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and apologise for shortcomings in any service areas, these are being reviewed and action taken to ensure our normal exemplary standards are maintained.
We set our room pricing to be at a reasonable level and in the context of the lake district demand and the peak time of Easter therefore do feel that we are within an acceptable range for the accommodation provided.
We appreciate that the noise level from the Easter Bazaar music was significant and as this had been a long planned event we did endeavour to contact, by e-mail, every guest who had booked rooms on site to let them know, well in advance.
The event was a charity fundraiser for us, Brathay Trust and another local charity and we did want to inform guests as fully as possible about it and to provide information and a specific parking pass to minimise the inconvenience.
We appreciate that acceptable noise levels are subjective and appreciate that this has caused dissatisfaction.
Once again we regret that your stay was less than satisfactory but would very much like to extend a welcome to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
1.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
4.0 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#13 of 103 in Ambleside
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brathay Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brathay Hall

Property: Brathay Hall
Address: Brathay, Ambleside LA22 0HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brathay Hall is the residential training centre of Brathay Trust, the national charity that inspires young people to become successful, confident and responsible citizens. Set in 360 acres of mature woodland and rolling pastures, at the head of Windermere, the imposing Georgian country house offers B&B accommodation suitable for all the family. The Hall is set in its own grounds on the north shore of Windermere, with beautiful views of the lake. The site offers a variety of accommodation, with something to suit all pockets from single en-suite through to luxury lodges with King size beds, seating area and good sized bathrooms. All rooms are en-suite, with colour television, tea and coffee making facilities. The Loughrigg rooms are all single en-suite and are detached from the main building, with their own parking area; Helvellyn rooms are en-suite, and can be either singles or twinned, and are situated in the main Hall; the Scafell rooms are our latest addition and take the form of luxury lodges, again detached from the main building; all are en-suite; and feature picture windows with stunning views of the Cumbrian hills. Breakfast is served from 8am – 9am in our dining room, where you can gaze out across the grounds at the beautiful lake and hills, truly an inspiring start to the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brathay Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brathay Hall Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing