We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, cosy and romantic hideaway”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen with full size fridge and freezer dishwasher and microwave . Everything for your stay . Bedroom with king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Kitchen with full size fridge and freezer dishwasher and microwave . Everything for your stay .
Bedroom with king size bed
Exterior
Alfresco dining
Blue bells
Cosy nights in
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gregstoke
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy and romantic hideaway”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at this property and couldn't recommend it highly enough to anyone. The location is perfect for exploring the majority of places in the south lakes, but a car is really essential as walking to Ambleside would be quite treacherous in the dark especially as a lot of the road has no pavement. The bedroom was very spacious with plentiful wardrobe space and drawers, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The cooking facilities are fab and are quite modern. The lounge had a very comfortable sofa, good tv and the lighting in the whole cottage was superb. The double Jacuzzi bath was most welcome each evening after walking many a mile around this picturesque area. My small gripes that could be improved on would be
1. a pair of scissors and a working can opener (petty i know but its a bugger when you got no scissors and the can opener doesnt work)
2. a small instruction manual wouldn't go a miss with regard to the dishwasher (not sure if it works properly) and the heating (water) though we worked this out.
3. Maybe installation of internet (for an extra £10 week)
4. A book to write in so you can recommend places for sightseeing, eating and drinking for new visitors to the cottage and area.
5. A note about the outside washing machine and tumble dryers.
Finally please be aware that if you need to keep in touch with people (family or work) that quite often we got no service on our mobile networks (Vodafone, Orange and T Mobile) which can often be a problem to some but was very welcome for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We got what we saw in the photos
Liked least: No internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllyMiche...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This cottage was faultless! We couldn't have wanted for anymore out of our trip. Everything you could possibly need had been thought about, down to pots, pans and utensils. The view of the private pond out the patio doors was beautiful and we even got to feed a few ducks :-) The location of the cottage was perfect, we felt like we were hidden away in the middle of the lakes, however we were 10minutes away from the beautiful Ambleside, so getting around wasn't a problem.

We will 100% be staying again. Thankyou for a lovely holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning cottage itself
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maltomlin
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a short break at the cottage and it couldn't have been better. It is so well equipped and in a beautiful location.

The owner was super helpful and we will certainly stay again.........didn't want to come home.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Reviewed 24 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Daisy L
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$95
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing