We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen with full size fridge and freezer dishwasher and microwave . Everything for your stay . Bedroom with king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
49 reviews
Kitchen with full size fridge and freezer dishwasher and microwave . Everything for your stay .
Bedroom with king size bed
Exterior
Alfresco dining
Blue bells
Cosy nights in
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JAW255068
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

On arriving here we thought we were in the wrong address; a place with out-buildings collapsing and looked a mess. On reversing to leave we noticed the sign "The Dove Cot".
We entered the cottage and noticed immediately that the interior had been renovated and looked quite good. On closer inspection the maintenance and cleanliness fell far short for a rental property.
For example, there were open packets of food in the freezer, there was a problem with the refrigerator that did not get cold, six light bulbs were blown, the floors needed sweeping, especially in the corners and the rug was quite dirty. The fireplace looks good but apparently is not to be used. There we definitely no instruction to use any of the appliances or heating (the only ones, the fitting of the hot water system). We searched everywhere including the laundry. Ahh, the laundry. Again, no instructions but we did remove "years" of accumulated fluff in the dryer. The laundry itself had a plain wooden worktop (dirty) glass missing from one window, half rotten door, cracked and broken floor tiles and the outside toilet was marked as "out of order".
Distance is not a real problem if one wants to walk but the road is dangerous especially at night. In my opinion, too far to walk for a night out in Ambleside.
On the positive side the linen was clean and good quality but the bed was sagging in the middle. We were disappointed and at this stage would not recommend this cottage, however, regular maintenance, more thorough cleaning and a little care would resolve all of our concerns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Lakes area and off street parking
Liked least: maintenance and cleanliness of cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review I would like to write in response . The Dove Cot is a cottage in the country forming part of a small estate there are disused stables and barns some of which are 17th century one in particular a Dove Cot hence the name of the cottage adding to the character and typical Lakeland scenery . The laundry is part of the stables and is used as a boot room and cycle store also forming a general room . The cottage and it's surroundings are reviewed every year by visit Britain and consistently obtains a high 4* . The cottage is let all year round and we have numerous guests that return . Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, Cheshire
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely views form the window
Liked least: Dishwasher was tempremental.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hannah R
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could be great but not there yet”
Reviewed 14 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My husband booked for us to stay at the Dove Cot for four nights to celebrate my 30th birthday and were hoping for a lovely little cottage near Ambleside that we could use as a base for walking and going in to the town.

There were no directions provided on how to find the cottage so after a random google search and many u-turns we managed to find the property. It is about 2 miles outside of Ambleside so was quite a bit further than we thought but it has a lovely view and was very peaceful. As another reviewer said, it is very difficult, almost dangerous to walk on the main road in to the town.

The property itself is lovely and perfect for two people and our small dog. However when we arrived there were no instructions or basic welcome pack so we spent a good hour trying to work out how the heating worked and then another two hours trying to work out where a mystery beep was coming from...it turned out to be the broken dishwasher. Some basic supplies like tea, coffee, oil, toilet roll etc. would have been useful although we did come pretty well prepared ourselves but these small touches would have made the stay great as opposed to average.

There is no wifi or phone signal in the cottage which was a welcome break for us but it would have been nice to know that in advance.

Overall it was okay but a bit disappointing as with a bit more attention could have been great.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2015
Thank you for your review . The Dove Cot is in an ideal location for walking at the foot of Loughrigg Fell and at the gateway to the Langdales. The cottage is just 1.5 miles from Ambleside in the countryside as shown on the location map which is nice and peaceful but convenient for shops or for a night out . We offer directions however most guests are happy to use sat nav we pass on our contact number and are quiet happy to assist . Mobile connection varies depending on the network this is common in the countryside in the Lakes due to terrain and not spoiling the beauty with those dreadful masts . All manuals and a house book is in the cottage and must of been overlooked .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alisonmar...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A lovely peaceful romantic break. Ambleside was an easy walk but at night not great with the last section of narrow road but the taxi option is not expensive after a night out. The cottage was just the right size for two and had everything we needed to eat in. The bath was a lovely treat after our snowy walks. Easy fishing from the back garden and star gazing from the patio. Easy access to all the main holiday walking areas so overall Dove Cot comes well recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjayjayj...
Lomdon
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Beautifully refurbished to a very high standard and in a very peaceful location just outside of Ambleside. Plenty of parking. The kitchen is very well stocked with utensils. The front room is very spacious and comfortable. The jacuzzi bath is a great luxury after a hard day hiking. The bedroom is spacious with a very comfortable bed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveTub
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Cottage and Location”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My Wife and Myself spent a lovely couple of nights at the Dove Cot at the start of April. The cottage is in a good location just a mile or so in one direction to Ambleside and a similar distance in the other direction to Skelwith Bridge. The cottage itself is very well decorated and very well looked after, with all amenities required for a good break for two. The garden was also very nice to spend sometime in and with its location next to the river has some good views.
Location wise it is very central to make visits to other lakes such as Grasmere and Ulswater as well as Windermere being on its doorstep.
The only downside for us is that we could only spend 2 nights at the cottage and will look to visit again for longer in the future.
Thanks to the Dove Cot for a highly enjoyable stay....

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauraaime...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing week with lovely owners and cottage”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Having just got home yesterday from The Dove Cot, I would recommend it to everyone. The owner was very lovely and understanding during the booking process and helped me by explaining everything clearly with prompt responses.

The cottage itself was gorgeous and had a great view from the garden which you cant even see in the photos. Some lovely walks right by the cottage and near enough to towns on rainy days.

Thanks again for a great week.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing