We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen with full size fridge and freezer dishwasher and microwave . Everything for your stay . Bedroom with king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
Kitchen with full size fridge and freezer dishwasher and microwave . Everything for your stay .
Bedroom with king size bed
Exterior
Alfresco dining
Blue bells
Cosy nights in
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
GrandTour...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely little break”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

So, initially I had booked to stay at the Pavilion located 2 doors down from the Dove Cot, however due to an error on my part the booking was mixed up. More than happy to help, Samantha (Daughter of the owner) was great, the Pavilion was booked so she advised the Dove Cot was free the day before we were due to arrive and we decided to stay here instead. Extremely grateful to Samantha for helping us with this and reacting so quickly to find us a place to stay.
Samantha advised us about the heating and how things were operated which was a great help prior to our arrival. Once we arrived we were really pleased, the Dove Cot is a small cottage with almost everything you need for a getaway in the Lake District. The lounge is lovely and as mentioned by other reviewers, the cottage has been renovated to a really nice standard. The sofa in the living room was very comfortable and a nice place to relax. The fire is only decorative, however once the heating came on this made us plenty warm. The TV is a flatscreen with freeview which we didn't use much, but still good for downtime, also a DVD player if needed.
The kitchen panels look brand new and there was plenty of appliances and kitchenware to be used (fridge/freezer, kettle, toaster, dishwasher, cooker, pots, pans, plates, bowls, cutlery etc).
No shower unfortunately, but the jacuzzi was very big and has a modern shower hose attached. The bathroom sink took a while to drain, which would be one of the only things I have to fault during the stay.
The bedroom was cosy with clean linen, bedside drawers, another set of drawers and a wardrobe, lots of storage space if needed.
Slight downside is that there wasn't really much phone reception and no wifi, but when you're going away for a break that's probably for the best.
The cottage is located close to Ambleside, but as some people have said it may not be wise to walk as there isn't much space for walking, however we drove a couple of times and got taxis into Ambleside which only cost £6-7. Both taxi drivers were very nice as well.
On the whole, we really enjoyed our stay at the Dove Cot and would be more than happy to stay here again. Again, a massive thanks to Samantha for everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X7270FUas...
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage - we will be back”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Admittedly upon arrival i was not impressed from the outside as it didnt look as i had expected. But the cottage itself was beautifully decorated & maintaned to high standard its well equipped with everything u could need other than a hairdryer and a home telelphone. Phone service and signal is non existent so a home telephone would come in handy if u need to contact owner.
Which we needed as had a little difficulty with getting the water hot every now and again but overall the whole experience was beautiful we had comfy nights sleep and the spa bath is a great touch to have after a long day trekking.
Situated close to ambleside town.
Our photos are of the back garden views we had a pond to feed the ducks in the morning that backed onto the lake.
Our dog loved it out there
Our issues were minor and did not cause too much disruption.
We had a really wonderful time and cant wait to come back again.
Might book in the other cottage next time just to mix it up a bit. Lol but we will be back. Thank you for having us on such short notice u have a lovely cottage in a beautiful location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mister-te...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed 19 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

A cute little cottage nestled close to Ambleside. Perfect for a relaxing weekend. We enjoyed a snowy walk up Loughrigg Fell from the cottage. Whilst it's only about a mile out, would not recommend walking it as it is quite a windy road. However taxis are very quick and quite reasonable at about £6 each way.

Liz added some nice touches at arrival, a box of chocolates and a Christmas tree! The cottage was very comfortable and we even were able to see some deer in the garden. Would definitely recommend staying and can see us returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Le0naM
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect and quiet”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful spot. No one around. no wifi, no signal. loved it. A total break from the modern world. Thoroughly enjoyed The Dove Cot. It has everything you need for a nice relaxing quiet few days away cut off from the world.

Perfect. Thanks for a great few days and reasonably priced also. Couldn't fault it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JAW255068
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

On arriving here we thought we were in the wrong address; a place with out-buildings collapsing and looked a mess. On reversing to leave we noticed the sign "The Dove Cot".
We entered the cottage and noticed immediately that the interior had been renovated and looked quite good. On closer inspection the maintenance and cleanliness fell far short for a rental property.
For example, there were open packets of food in the freezer, there was a problem with the refrigerator that did not get cold, six light bulbs were blown, the floors needed sweeping, especially in the corners and the rug was quite dirty. The fireplace looks good but apparently is not to be used. There we definitely no instruction to use any of the appliances or heating (the only ones, the fitting of the hot water system). We searched everywhere including the laundry. Ahh, the laundry. Again, no instructions but we did remove "years" of accumulated fluff in the dryer. The laundry itself had a plain wooden worktop (dirty) glass missing from one window, half rotten door, cracked and broken floor tiles and the outside toilet was marked as "out of order".
Distance is not a real problem if one wants to walk but the road is dangerous especially at night. In my opinion, too far to walk for a night out in Ambleside.
On the positive side the linen was clean and good quality but the bed was sagging in the middle. We were disappointed and at this stage would not recommend this cottage, however, regular maintenance, more thorough cleaning and a little care would resolve all of our concerns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Lakes area and off street parking
Liked least: maintenance and cleanliness of cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review I would like to write in response . The Dove Cot is a cottage in the country forming part of a small estate there are disused stables and barns some of which are 17th century one in particular a Dove Cot hence the name of the cottage adding to the character and typical Lakeland scenery . The laundry is part of the stables and is used as a boot room and cycle store also forming a general room . The cottage and it's surroundings are reviewed every year by visit Britain and consistently obtains a high 4* . The cottage is let all year round and we have numerous guests that return . Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing