We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen with full size fridge and freezer dishwasher and microwave . Everything for your stay . Bedroom with king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
Kitchen with full size fridge and freezer dishwasher and microwave . Everything for your stay .
Bedroom with king size bed
Exterior
Alfresco dining
Blue bells
Cosy nights in
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
cassiebuk
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful little cottage which surpassed our expectations. It's modern and clean with plenty of space for a perfect couples retreat - pictures don't do it justice. No wi-fi or signal but TV had lots of choice and let's face it - get out into the spectacular lakes, come back to a gorgeous jacuzzi bath and out again for dinner in Ambleside or Windermere. What more could you want.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Thank you for your kind review the lakes is such a beautiful tranquil place and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Dove Cot . Hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris a
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely place to stay.
The jacuzzi bath is awesome.
The pics don't do it justice it's bigger than it looks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merryweat...
England
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Idyllic countryside retreat!”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at The Dove Cot for 2 nights travelling on my own and the cottage was exactly what I had expected from the pictures! Liz was extremely friendly and helpful both leading up to and throughout my stay - even arranging for the cottage to be cleaned earlier so that I could check in 3 hours before the advertised time :)

The bed was really comfortable and the jacuzzi bath was amazing after a day on the mountains. There were also lots of maps and leaflets about the local area which were very useful and helped me plan my weekend.

The only thing to maybe be aware of is that with it being a few miles from Ambleside and the pubs/restaurants and shops etc. you would need to get a taxi in the evening or drive if you wanted to go into the town as it was a little bit too far to walk in the dark around windy roads. That said, the kitchen and the whole cottage is very well equipt for cooking and a cosy night in :D and the property certainly benefitted from the peace and quiet which is exactly why I went!

Overall I would thoroughly recommend staying here and would definitely come again, perhaps in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy homely feel and the jacuzzi bath!
Liked least: Tricky to find off the main road but worth it when I did! A hidden Gem :)
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future . Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X7270FUas...
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet romantic beautiful”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This lovely cottage will keep us coming back time and again
We loved it just as much as b4 and surely will be back.
Beautiful well kept cottage so peaceful and quiet.
The bed is surely the best part its so comfortable and i slept like a baby.all facilities are perfect and well maintained.and the spa bath again is such a luvly added bonus after a day of trekking its wonderful way to wind down with a glass of wine.
Thank you once again for a perfect stay x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
It was lovely to have you both back again and glad to hear you had a wonderful time . See you both soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creamtea1...
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

An Autumn Delight

We had a wonderful mid week break at Dove Cot.

Easy enough to find and a beautiful cosy warm cottage. The furnishings and facilities were excellent and the cottage was decorated to a high standard and very clean. Lovely cosy bed and a super double jacuzzi to chill in after a day on the fells.

This cottage is on a busy road so care and attention is needed if walking to Skelwith Bridge you can also pick up a good footpath into Ambleside from there too.

The gardens were full of beautiful Autumn colours and we sat outside to drink wine and take in the views

I look forward to return visits. Thank you Liz

Oh and dog friendly - brilliant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2016
Thank you for your kind review and really pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your stay in the Dove Cot .
Hope to see you both again in the future .
Best wishes Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark000B
1 review
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Nice little cottage out of the way in the country side lovely surroundings.We found the only problem was very close to the road which is a country road but at times very busy not really a problem if it wasn't for a loose great in the road which banged every time a car went past very annoying at times

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind review . We have made a note about the grid on the road and will address the problem
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caringdia...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It has perfect views over the hills - the property has everything needed for a relaxing holiday with a central location to the surrounding areas.
The owner was very helpful and pleasant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing