We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“3 day break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
55 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

jeanbCann...
Wheaton Aston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“3 day break”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed at The Dove Cot from Saturday to Tuesday. Beautiful cottage and scenery. Just a few minor issues, uncomfortable sofa mainly on right hand side. Could do with a small coffee table. The view from decking would be made better by removing some of the lower branches of the Monkey tree so you could see the scenery beyond. Jacuzzi bath has no plug chain and taps are all loose, no holder for toothbrushes or handwash provided. The road directly from the cottage has fast traffic, this together with restricted views each way is a little scary to pull out.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 May 2017
Hi thank you for your review .
Since your stay we have adjusted the springs on the setee and put a chain on the plug .
We will look into your other suggestions which we welcome .many thanks Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamn7...
Liverpool uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love da lakes”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely cottage. Great spot for walks up mountains. Our dogs loved it .. nice inside. .. only prob. Steps on patio need fixing. ( take a hour. ).

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and pleased you had a great time and your dogs enjoyed it too ..
We have mended the step once it was brought to our attention .
Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie9013...
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good base to explore from!”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage looked quite different from the road and the sign wasn't the easiest to spot whilst driving so it did take us a little while to find. It has lots of space for parking and inside the cottage is beautifully decorated and the space has been used well. Sadly, due to bad weather, we didn't make the most of the little patio or the view from it. The kitchen was well equipped and the maps and leaflets supplied were useful. We did one of the yellow leaflet walks which was great!
It was nice to have a jacuzzi bath but unfortunately the broken shower head made hair washing rather difficult. The heating warmed the cottage nicely but the foam mattress on the bed wasn't the best for us personally but for others would be comfortable. The owners popped by to tell us they were fixing the broken step and painting the rails outside. It was very easy to get and return the keys and the cottage isn't too far from Ambleside which has a co-op, spar and Tesco express as well as 3 or 4 dog friendly pubs and a fish and chip shop.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curiosity...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

jacuzzi not very good, broken steps in garden, bed and sofa very uncomfortable, will not be going back.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review customer satisfaction is very important to us .
The king size bed is new top of the range Sealy memory foam mattress .
We will be happy to look into your other remarks .
Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well Appointed”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Perfect in every way, location, superbly equipped kitchen, beautiful lounge , comfy sofa, jacuzzi bath, lovely bathroom, soft bed. Great place to unwind and have a short break, we took our 2 whippets ,and had a lovely time. We will go back very soon and stay for lomger.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsey P
1 review
“Lipuk”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Our stay was fantastic! The cottage was everything we wanted, so cozy and warm. The facilities were great it was a real home from home. The grounds were lovely with some improvements to the grounds being made. A five minute car trip into Ambleside made it a rural retreat with close convience to shops etc... Thank you for a wonderful stay we will return again.

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul1wrig...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good and Bad stay”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed here for my wife birthday and liz gave us the right instruction and found it easy, we where a little disappointed at the front off cottage as we thought in the picture was the front, plus on the Friday watching the tractors getting close to car.
But once we got into the cottage it wasn't great but nice warm soon as we put heating on bed was nice and soft and liked the spa bath even the wife like it ,lovely view to the lake.
Walked in garden and nearly tripped as step are broken and wet.

The only faults where the traffic had problems turning left also the toaster was broken .
good having free washing machine and dryer

Don't know if we will return.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 Mar 2017
Thank you Paul and Heather for your review we do appreciate your comments and hope that Heather had a great birthday and enjoyed the bottle of wine we left to help you celebrate .
The local landscape contractors were just finishing a job in the grounds upon your arrival at 3.00pm overlapping your stay by an hour which wasn't intended but unfortunately necessary to finish we do appreciate your cooperation for this.
Thank you for bringing to our attention the toaster we will replace this .
It would be lovely to see you both again in the future not forgetting your doggies too ..
Many thanks Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.