We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Xmas at Dove Cot”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
55 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

heskinhal...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Perfect Xmas at Dove Cot”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We had been looking for a cottage for over Xmas and we found it in Dove Cot. We had a wonderful 5 night stay at Dove Cot over Xmas with our 2 dogs.
It was perfect for us , even down to Christmas tree and decoration and also a bottle of fizz and cake.
We arrived in the dark so it was lovely to get up the following morning to the beautiful views.
We had no problems working any of the equipment and found everything we needed. Plenty of literature about places, and important information.
The cottage is lovely and cosy and surrounded by beautiful gardens and river. I loved all the old stables and buildings. The dogs loved exploring as well.
We knew we would have trouble with phone signal ect , as after all it is in a fairly remote part of the Lake District, it goes with the territory.
We had quite wet weather, nothing unusual in the lakes but it made the river behind the cottage very interesting .
We had gone for a quiet relaxing Xmas and that is what we got. Perfect .
The dogs loved it , we kept them on very long training leads on the garden as I wouldn’t let my dogs loose anyway.
There is obviously bits of work going on around the parking area and edge of garden but it has to be done some time ( the cottage is available all year ),and does not impose on a stay at the cottage.
People have mentioned it being difficult getting in and out of the driveway, we went in a large jag and had no problem, and there is plenty of room to turn around on the parking area.
We have already decided we will be going back at different times of the year and it will be lovely to see the change in the scenery and garden and if lucky do a bit of walking if we get better weather .
I would like to thank Liz for being so nice and helpful when we were booking the cottage and for the communication after we got back. Christmas was a difficult time for me this year and Dove Cot and Liz made a big difference
Thankyou
Gill, Martin, Butch and Scruff

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review and I am so happy that you all had a wonderful time .christmas can be a difficult time for some and getting away from it all can be a real help and glad that we could make that difference .
All the best for 2018 and look forward to you all returning to the beautiful lakes .
Take care liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethWil...
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 22 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Amazing beautiful weekend away! Felt so remote even though wasn’t. Everything we needed for weekend away. Gardens and lake view was amazing. The owner put a xmas tree up for us which we though was such a nice touch.
Only negative a real fire would have been the cherry on the cake.
We will stay again.

Merry Xmas and thank you.
Gareth

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Reviewed 25 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Oct 2017
Thank you for your kind comments and hope to see you both again in the near future .
All the best Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rachyroo2...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Holiday to the lakes”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed at Dove Cot for a 4 day break with our 2 dogs. We have stayed at Ambleside before but more in the town centre, so wanted to try something a little more ‘rural’
The cottage is well equipped and cosy. The heating and water system are spot on, always enough water for a soaky bath, and the cottage heated up super quick to keep us nice and toasty.
The internet/phone signal was pretty none existent which we were expecting so that was fine, and it’s quite nice to not be constantly attached to your phone.
The downfall (for us) was the road where the cottage is situated is rather busy and very narrow, so walking along it with dogs for me was a big no no! If there was a bus coming one way and a car coming the other there was literally no space. There is a path to the left of the cottage, but part way along this has been damaged pushing you back onto the road. So we did end up using the car more than I had hoped.
As with a few of the other reviews the bed needs looking at. It may not be the mattress necessarily, but you do seem to roll towards the middle of the bed? Not to my comfort.
And I loved the garden, the view was gorgeous! But it would be nice if the fencing was all the way around, to make it secure for visiting dogs.
Generally a nice place to stay. Liz is easy to get in touch with and very helpful.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your rural experience in the Lakes .
Walking on the road isn't advisable as you said there is a national trust path to the left I wasn't aware of the damage and will report this do it can be reinstated .
We have taken on board a few comments now in the new memory foam bed and will replace this ad the traditional pocket sprung seems to be more suitable for all taste thank you for letting is know as we rely on our custmer feedback to rectify things .
We hope to see you all in the future
Take care Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristinb6...
Horten Municipality, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not satisfying”
Reviewed 7 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
3
people found this review helpful

It looks very cozy and idyllic, and the potential there is huge. It could be so nice there! Unfortunately it was not clean, had a strange smell and the sofa definitely needs to change. I would suggest to change the mattress on the bed as well. We didn’t know that there was no internet and phone connection until the day we got the “key”. You had to go out and away from the cottage to receive some connection. This was our honeymoon so we were a bit upset. Th garden and area around the cottage could be so nice if it had been taken more care of. I’m so sorry but we were disappointed and left after only one night in the cottage.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review and very disappointed that your didn't enjoy your stay .
We did email you prior to your stay with our contact details and explained that as you are in the countryside telephone connection was variable depending on network and that you could get a signal in the garden .
We would of loved to of heard from you during your stay to have been given the opportunity to address these issues as customer satisfaction is imperative to us.
The mattress is a top of the range memory foam may be not to your liking
We will of course speak to the housekeeping the cottage should be immaculate upon your arrival and I know the housekeeper takes a pride of their work and would of been more than happy to pop along and address the issues personally.

We don't advertise internet however we are arranging this for the future .
Congratulations on your marriage .
All the very best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorettaco...
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Pretty cottage!”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We did have a wonderful week up in the Lake District.
The cottage was lovely and was very well equipped.
The sofa and bed were not to my comfort as we like a firm mattress, but that is our preference.
The fridge was not working to its full potential, but has been reported and I know from previous comments that the owners rectify problems swiftly.
The view from the living room is beautiful.
The walk from the cottage to Ambleside and Skelwith Bridge is a bit hairy, as you have to walk alot on the road with blind spots, so be careful.
But...we noticed that a path has begun to be installed to make it easier.
A lovely weeks holiday!!

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review and comments .
We have since replaced the fridge as it appeared not to be fully working ..
There is a national trust path to Skelwith bridge perhaps not very well highlighted just past the little wood and as you mention I think they are putting in a path further down to Ambleside which will be of great benefit .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanbCann...
Wheaton Aston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“3 day break”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed at The Dove Cot from Saturday to Tuesday. Beautiful cottage and scenery. Just a few minor issues, uncomfortable sofa mainly on right hand side. Could do with a small coffee table. The view from decking would be made better by removing some of the lower branches of the Monkey tree so you could see the scenery beyond. Jacuzzi bath has no plug chain and taps are all loose, no holder for toothbrushes or handwash provided. The road directly from the cottage has fast traffic, this together with restricted views each way is a little scary to pull out.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 May 2017
Hi thank you for your review .
Since your stay we have adjusted the springs on the setee and put a chain on the plug .
We will look into your other suggestions which we welcome .many thanks Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.