We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pure Tranquility”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen with full size fridge and freezer dishwasher and microwave . Everything for your stay . Bedroom with king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
Kitchen with full size fridge and freezer dishwasher and microwave . Everything for your stay .
Bedroom with king size bed
Exterior
Alfresco dining
Blue bells
Cosy nights in
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
valhutchi...
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pure Tranquility”
Reviewed 19 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Beautiful cottage in beautiful surroundings just what we needed to get away from it all. Perfect for our two pets who loved it as much as we did. Would recommend to anyone wanting to escape. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariemeli...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent getaway”
Reviewed 18 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Stayed at this beautiful cottage for 3 nights, lovely, relaxing and had everthing we needed,, Lovely walks and pub and coffee shop 10 mins walk away, Enjoyed the cottage so much have booked again for 5 nights in September, The cottage was very clean and the jacuzzi bath was just what you needed after a day of walking in the beautiful countryside .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2018
Thank you for your lovely review Marie and Paul .
September will be a wonderful time of year to return .
Look forward to seeing again
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelsall
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Few days rest”
Reviewed 26 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I booked the cottage hoping to find a nice place for my husband and l to have a couple days rest . And we found the perfect place. A beautiful sweet cottage. The cottage was immaculate..clean cosy and had everything we needed. Set in beautiful gardens by a river loads of areas to sit and enjoy the scenery.
Look forward to being able to arrange to go again.
Highly recommended...and the owner very quick to answer all my questions.
Thank you .
.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2018
Thank you for your lovely review and we are pleased to hear you had such a wonderful restful stay .
Look forward to seeing you both in the future .
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubbsy74
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hidden gem”
Reviewed 23 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
3
people found this review helpful

I booked the dovecot for myself and my hubby to have a much needed break away. We stay in cottages quite a lot with our family but never one quite so cute as this. It’s a perfect cottage for 2 set in beautiful gardens and providing everything you could need and more besides. The views from the back are amazing and I loved the fact it’s away from everything. No problems getting in and out for us the entrance is plenty big enough. I will definitely be booking to go back next year thanks liz you have been amazing!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossrober...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Romantic getaway- mini moon.”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in August 2017

My wife & I stayed at the Dovecote for three days after our wedding for a mini- moon.
Absolutely loved it , comfortable, clean & very well equipped. Could not fault it and look forward to returning in the near future. Fantastic getaway totally enjoyed the peaceful location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Glad to hear you both had a great mini moon and look forward to seeing you in the future ... liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heskinhal...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Xmas at Dove Cot”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We had been looking for a cottage for over Xmas and we found it in Dove Cot. We had a wonderful 5 night stay at Dove Cot over Xmas with our 2 dogs.
It was perfect for us , even down to Christmas tree and decoration and also a bottle of fizz and cake.
We arrived in the dark so it was lovely to get up the following morning to the beautiful views.
We had no problems working any of the equipment and found everything we needed. Plenty of literature about places, and important information.
The cottage is lovely and cosy and surrounded by beautiful gardens and river. I loved all the old stables and buildings. The dogs loved exploring as well.
We knew we would have trouble with phone signal ect , as after all it is in a fairly remote part of the Lake District, it goes with the territory.
We had quite wet weather, nothing unusual in the lakes but it made the river behind the cottage very interesting .
We had gone for a quiet relaxing Xmas and that is what we got. Perfect .
The dogs loved it , we kept them on very long training leads on the garden as I wouldn’t let my dogs loose anyway.
There is obviously bits of work going on around the parking area and edge of garden but it has to be done some time ( the cottage is available all year ),and does not impose on a stay at the cottage.
People have mentioned it being difficult getting in and out of the driveway, we went in a large jag and had no problem, and there is plenty of room to turn around on the parking area.
We have already decided we will be going back at different times of the year and it will be lovely to see the change in the scenery and garden and if lucky do a bit of walking if we get better weather .
I would like to thank Liz for being so nice and helpful when we were booking the cottage and for the communication after we got back. Christmas was a difficult time for me this year and Dove Cot and Liz made a big difference
Thankyou
Gill, Martin, Butch and Scruff

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review and I am so happy that you all had a wonderful time .christmas can be a difficult time for some and getting away from it all can be a real help and glad that we could make that difference .
All the best for 2018 and look forward to you all returning to the beautiful lakes .
Take care liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethWil...
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 22 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Amazing beautiful weekend away! Felt so remote even though wasn’t. Everything we needed for weekend away. Gardens and lake view was amazing. The owner put a xmas tree up for us which we though was such a nice touch.
Only negative a real fire would have been the cherry on the cake.
We will stay again.

Merry Xmas and thank you.
Gareth

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing