We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Stock Ghyll Force

Stock Ghyll Force
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Coulsdon, Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We thought this waterfall was beautiful and is a well kept secret in the middle of Ambleside - we made it part of a longer walk but it could easily be tacked onto a shopping trip to make for a more interesting day out. The recent rain made it even more lovely making it a must for anyone wanting a short walk from the middle of Ambleside.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    76
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Steep but fun!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I wasn't expecting the walk to be quite so steep - fine for my 8 and 11 year olds, but as a physically challenged adult I struggled slightly. I'd have been fine if I'd actually taken my walking pole with me! Steep and slippery in places, I would still recommend this short walk to anyone who has an hour to spare in Ambleside. Look out for the 'money tree' next to the road between the town and the start of the falls path. Make sure that you walk into all the little viewing places (with railings round them!) to get the best views.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lovely short walk”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great little walk for a short half day on arrival or before return to the Lakes. Also good for rainy weather; in fact the waterfall will be more spectacular. Go up the left hand side of the river, over the top bridge and down the right for a circular walk.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clodia94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely waterfall”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lovely walk just behind Barclays in the town. Quite a steep uphill walk and a bit wet under foot in places, but lovely scenery and a pretty waterfall. You can walk up one side and down the other side, there are viewing platforms all the way up. It was beautiful and a lovely setting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose660xford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Easy climb close to town”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very close to centre of Ambleside but feels like a 'proper' walk. Quite steep and can be slippy and muddy underfoot but our 4 year old made it with little trouble.
Walk up gives lots of views of falls along the way. Not the most spectacular but a good afternoon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryony77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stock Ghyll Force also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Stock Ghyll Force? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing