We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit if it's rains”
Review of RockShop

RockShop
Ranked #2 of 11 Shopping in Ambleside
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and try our exciting 3 children's experience's at our wonderful RockShop attraction in Ambleside, including our very own Dinosaur Den themed treasure hunt, jump in to our unique Gem Pit and get creative in our Pippin Bead Bar. All our experiences are designed around the world of Dinosaurs, gemstones and fossils and are suitable for all ages and abilities from 4yrs upwards to join in with the fun. We are the ideal children's wet weather attraction or just somewhere to amuse the kids for an hour in the heart of the English Lake District. Rockshop, Ambleside, is a great place for the whole family, not just a shop... But an experience!
Bideford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to visit if it's rains”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My 6 year old & 3 year old loved going here. Would recommend doing the 3 activities for £9. It's worth the money you get a bracelet & a bag of stones & do a dinosaur treasure hunt which they enjoyed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Landjsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth-RockShop, Manager at RockShop, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, unfortunately we cant do anything about the weather but we can make sure you enjoy yourselves when you visit RockShop, Ambleside.

Our in store activities are an ideal location for families when it rains, which it does a lot in the Lake District. But then if it didn't rain we wouldn't be surrounded by the beautiful lakes and mountains which we all enjoy.

I hope you get the opportunity to visit again soon and fingers crossed you get some dry weather next time.

Elizabeth
Retail Manager
RockShop
North Road
Ambleside
LA22 9DT

Not just a shop... an experience !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    29
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real Gem”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A great place with fun activities for children. We took our 2 year old & she participated in all 3 activities for £9. She was initially a little unsettled in the Dino Den (recommended for 6 years +) but soon loved it as she got to use a torch & there was sand to play with. She got a certificate & a prize for completing the trail/ hunt. She really enjoyed the gem pit & choosing some to take home. She then made her own bracelet (with some help) and found the freedom of picking her own beads great fun. Lovely shop full of pretty things. I would recommend a visit it really is a fab place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kezalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth-RockShop, Manager at RockShop, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, I am delighted to hear you and your family thought we are "a real gem".

Both children and adults love to browse around our store and sample in the delights of our Gem Pit Pool, Pippin Bead Bar and Dinosaur Den, and at 2 years old she was a very brave explorer indeed.

Elizabeth
Retail Manager
RockShop
North Road
Ambleside
LA22 9DT


Not just a shop... an experience !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

my daughter was so excited she was outside the shop waiting before it even opened.she loved the gem pit and was in there ages trying to match the gems to the poster.going around the dino den with torches looking for clues was great but she was disappointed at the bead bar as they had run out of charms for making her bracelet.the shop is brilliant and I purchased a longed for salt lamp

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lorna648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth-RockShop, Manager at RockShop, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, I am thrilled to hear about how excited your daughter was about visiting us, and can only apologise that we had run out of our very popular Pippin Apple charms for her bracelet. If you'd like to contact me on 015394 31923 I would be very happy to post out to you, a small kit with the apple charm for your daughter to make at home or you could collect when you next visit with our compliments.

P.S Don't forget to post a picture of your bracelet on pippinkits Facebook page to be in with a chance to win a free pippin kit every month!

Elizabeth
Retail Manager
RockShop
North Road
Ambleside
LA22 9DT

Not just a shop... an experience !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great attraction for when the weather is bad”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We visited The Rockshop in Ambleside when it was pouring with rain. My two children aged 8 and five thoroughly enjoyed themselves for 1 1/2 hours in this attraction. They both did the 3 sessions for £9 each and it did keep them entertained.I feel it is worth the money as I have certainly paid much more for a lot less!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CazzyK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth-RockShop, Manager at RockShop, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, I am pleased to hear you and your family thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

Both children and adults love to jump into our world of gemstones and search for the hidden treasure in our Dino Den.

P.S Don't forget to post a picture of your bracelet on pippinkits Facebook page to be in with a chance to win a free pippin kit every month!

Elizabeth
RockShop, Ambleside

Not just a shop... an experience !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent find!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were on a short holiday in Ambleside and came upon this fab shop. So much interesting stuff to see here. Although we were not looking for a lamp I could not resist buying a beautiful salt lamp. We were helped by Grant who explained the origins of the lamp, providing a leaflet "A Salt Lamp is born" The shop has a vast array of interesting things, crystals, jewellery etc. I only wish we had more time to look further around the shop.
The lamp now looks great in our home & was a fabulous purchase for £20. When next in Ambleside another visit will be made!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Guardian5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth-RockShop, Manager at RockShop, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, I am thrilled to hear that you discovered our salt crystal lamps and that Grant gave you all the information about where our salt lamps are mined.

Please do pop in on your next visit to Ambleside, even if it's just to say 'Hi'

Elizabeth
RockShop, Ambleside

Not just a shop... an experience !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RockShop also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to RockShop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing