We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a quiet location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tock How View

Open plan living room, dining area and kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan living room, dining area and kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Open plan living room, dining area and kitchen
Rear elevated patio with bench and table
View from rear elevated patio
Dining area
Downstairs double bedroom with king sized bed and en-suite
Downstairs double to en-suite
First floor double bedroom with king sized bed and en-suite
En-suite in first floor double room
Utility area with washing machine, tumble dryer, sink and additional fridge
View from terrace
Table and chairs on first floor terrace
Games room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SarahGrai...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage in a quiet location”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a family holiday here, 6 of us and we had a fantastic week. The cottage was very well equipped and had amazing views from the terrace. The village pub was in walking distance and we were right in the middle of where we wanted to be

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2016
Thankyou for your review. We are delighted that you had such a great holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil m
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday with the family, and a stunning holiday home, which I would highly recommend”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What an excellent time we had in the lake district with this fabulous holiday home as our base. The house was exceptionally clean and had all mod cons that you could think of, from the dish washer to the washing machine.

The house was also much larger than we expected and the games room, was an added feature that provided us with much entertainment. The great thing about this house was the location and the views, which really makes it stand out from other holidays we have been on in the past. Our weather was very changeable, but that didn't matter, as the wood burning fire and the house facilities such as the Wii and board games, made this a great home to stay inside and have fun with the family.

The only disappointing aspect of our stay was actually having to leave. We would have loved to have stayed longer and next time we will. I would highly recommend staying at Tock How View, which surpassed our expectations.

The McGhie Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house, the facilities, the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSManches...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Self Catering Lake District Hawkshead - excellent”
Reviewed 5 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My son and I enjoyed a 3 night getaway in this grat cottage situated between ambleside and hawkshead. Amazing walks from the door, quick drive to ambleside and windermere. Pub is 2 minutes walk away, wood buring fire, patio, views, 2 beds ensuite and a 3rd bedroom. Games room. Really comfy and cosy, clean and well appointed - we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wood burning fire
Liked least: poor selection on sky
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frymann
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place and position”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had a really good week. The rest of UK was saturated in rain and we had the sun every day. Dragged the girls over striding edge (they loved it), langdale pikes, go ape, grizedale biking, Tarn Hows biking, Windermere.
The house is in a superb position overlooking the bike path that goes everywhere, we didn't use the car much at all.
Thank, you. Love the Lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: bike path and views
Liked least: no big pan!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan T
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous! Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a brilliant week at Tock How View. It's superbly positioned and we were able to do some lovely walks from the cottage over to Hawkshead, Latterbarrow and Wray, so some days we didn't even need to use the car.
The accommodation was lovely, it had everything we needed and the games room, in particular, got a lot of use. We had several darts and table tennis tournaments on the go which everyone loved.
We liked it so much we are booking again for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and comfort of the cottage.
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieDEdi...
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not 5 star”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I was disappointed in this property as 5 star accommodation. My husband and I were looking for quality accommodation for 2 but due to short notice were unable to find anywhere suitable. We therefore decided to just pay extra and book this accommodation for 6, purely because it was advertised as being 5 star. Our main complaint was cleanliness and we felt that the kitchen in particular needed a good spring clean. There were lots of good points too, but this issue really spoiled our stay for us.

Good points:
- The bedrooms were pretty and looked the same as in the photos (the twin room had different furniture but was still very nice).
- The bathrooms were in the main very nice.
- The games room was fun (though could do with a couple of shorter pool cues).
- The view was lovely.
- It was very nicely decorated (though needed to be refreshed in the kitchen area).
- The bed was very comfortable.

Bad points (bearing in mind this is supposed to be 5 star accommodation):
- Cleanliness.
- Quite a lot of damaged or too worn items (e.g. badly stained upholstery in hallway, badly worn kitchen equipment and microwave, broken drying rack, dodgy fridge and dishwasher).
- We were asked to pay extra for accidental damage insurance at the time of booking (so would have expected fewer damaged/worn out items).
- Not as private as it appears in the photos (next door's balcony is maybe 12 to 15 feet away from this cottage's).
- This may sound a bit petty but I do feel handwash/soap should be provided in all the bathrooms. Other reviews for this property have mentioned this but it doesn't seem to have been heeded by the owners. This seems rather penny pinching and unhygenic.

I feel this place isn't living up to its potential and would be hugely improved with a good clean and some of the damaged items replacing. I think if this was done then it would be excellent value for money for 6 people, though still not 5 star due to some of the fittings (e.g. the kitchen) being rather worn out.

Please note that I've rated this cottage as poor based on it being advertised as being 5 star. I would have given it a higher rating if this had not been the case.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Cleanliness and the fact it wasn't 5 star or as private as it appears in photos.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
We were expecting a review from you two!

To those of you that rely upon such reviews please see our many other positive reviews on the English Country Cottages web site in and particular the positive comments about cleanliness . These 2 guests stayed at our property for a week and not once did they ring to ask us to address their issues which we would gladly have done. Should there have been cleaning and maintenance issues, it would have taken our cleaner a short visit to put these to right. However, once their stay ended, it was only then that they chose to complain. They sent a lengthy email to our holiday letting company detailing a pile of spurious complaints, and then, asked for some money back, declaring “and please don’t use that old cliché of ‘you should have complained at the time’. Now we certainly aren’t suggesting these complaints were created in order to form a case, but it does make you start to think? Included in their list were two missing light bulbs from 2 chandeliers holding 16 bulbs. Crumbs in the toaster and the most comical complaint of the lot was the inconvenience of having to “scramble” behind the TV to plug the DVD cable in. We had to laugh at that one.
Anyway, back to your TA review which strangely enough is more muted than your letter to the agent, but thank you for your positive comments. In response to the ‘bad points’ you made;
Cleanliness – well, we’ve already mentioned our positive reviews on cleanliness, but it’s also worth pointing out our property has recently received its annual assessment in which it received 100% in the category of property cleanliness.
Damaged/worn items - Hall bench, yes agree, the upholstery is stained. Guests come in from walking in all weathers with wet/dirty clothes and rucksacks. Dodgy fridge? Well, the odd thing was we sent you a note beforehand saying there was a problem with the shelf, but in between sending that and you arriving we had it fixed. Anyway, if you’d taken a dislike to that particular fridge (only 18 months old) you could always have used the other one in the Utility. Dodgy dishwasher? You don’t say why. We’ve not had one complaint from anyone else about this including the two sets of guests who have occupied the cottage since you left.
Not as private as it appears – The property is in a private farmyard shared with two other properties and it says this quite clearly in the very first sentence of the property description! It also says it is situated in the hamlet of Outgate. Given you have an exceptionally keen eye for detail, it’s surprising you missed this one. In your letter of many complaints (and a couple of insults) you said that due to the existence of the two other farmyard properties you were disappointed not to have been able to have played your saxaphones! We must remember to add that one to our description - this property is NOT saxaphone friendly.
No soap in the bathrooms – we don’t provide soap/hand wash and maybe we should do in the future if this is important to some. However, that should not have been an excuse to give up washing for the week which we agree is unhygienic -there is a shop down the road that sells loads of the stuff!
Following their complaint to the letting agent, we have arranged for the drying rack to be replaced. There is nothing wrong with the fridge, microwave or dishwasher.
The property has recently been through a rigorous review by ECC and been rated 5 star. Thee bedrooms have recently been upgraded with quality new furniture, all from John Lewis, new staircase and 2 updated en-suites over the last 18 months. We're try to keep things up to date to make sure our guests enjoy a comfortable stay, but sometimes you can't please everyone all of the time.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian C
Co. Durham
2 reviews
“Wonderful: home from home”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a very enjoyable stay at Tock How View. The facilities were exceptional and the decor throughout was very tasteful. Wonderful location and we definitely intend to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing