We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Fish&Chips”

Four Seasons Terrace Cafe Hayes Garden World
Ranked #58 of 120 Restaurants in Ambleside
Restaurant details
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Best Fish&Chips”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Me and my husband have had lunch on Friday. The food came so fast than what I expected. The food is so fantastic; it’s filled of a wide variety, delightful and extremely satisfying. If you sit in the back on the left side- you would avoid long queues. This is truly a great place with a good food. A place with an amazing lunch as well as shopping you've ever had.
I can truly recommend superb coffee. as we visited, there was quite a queue to the shop itself, building a lot of promise and expectation. The queue in fact was the only bad thing about this store. the staff are friendly, offering help and knowledge on the coffees that they serve, the milk is perfectly textured and overall leading to one of the best coffees that i have ever tasted. I would really say value for money!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    44
    31
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disorganised!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is a very large cafe inside Hayes Garden World. Self-service for hot and cold food. Takes ages sometimes, and this is compounded when you finally get to one of the two tills, mainly staffed by slow, inexperienced young staff dealing with queues coming from two directions, whilst your food gets cold! The food, however, is always OK, but some of it is overpriced, particularly sandwiches and cold drinks. Having said that, you can usually get one of the many tables, if you can find one which has been cleared of dirty pots!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle England
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

New years eve around lunchtime, fairly busy but not overwhelmed, bowl of soup and ham and cheese panini, , soup eaten by other person in party, and both pots of tea finished, still no panini, i asked the waitress once, and twice had to go to the food counter to ask where on earth my panini was, apparently a tuna one is served before the ham ones, and also they had knocked off my order by mistake, so after 30 minutes, i got a very tasty panini, now i normally wouldnt have bothered posting this on trip advisor, but this is the reason , the waitress said because i had waited so long, i could get a free pot of tea, only i had to queue up another 10 minutes at a different counter for it, appalling service, but nice enough food,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank exglobalagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exorbitant”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Who knew you could get a chili so wrong. Gravy based and microwave rubber rice for £7 pounds please. The prices are so exorbitant for a cafe self service style affair. But then again it's not the food that draws em in I guess so no incentive. Nice garden centre like

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Risingfromtheashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good in off peak times”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Went yesterday and it was overly full. We had a wheelchair and struggled very much to get a table.staff didn't seem to totally know what they were doing as in they sometimes walking back n forth.doing nothing. Waited quite a long time for food also.

Helpful?
Thank babyduo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Four Seasons Terrace Cafe Hayes Garden World also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Four Seasons Terrace Cafe Hayes Garden World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing