We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go again but only off peak...sure it is 5 star on a weekday afternoon...”

Chesters By The River
Ranked #24 of 120 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
636 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Will go again but only off peak...sure it is 5 star on a weekday afternoon...”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great place, and we will go back but only off Peak. We visited on Saturday and the busyness of the place just took away the pleasure...maybe they could alleviate this a bit by speeding up service, having waiter service rather than having to queue and seating everyone on arrival so people are not fighting for chairs.

Very stylish place and do like it even if it is a little expensive and the coffee a little sharp.

Would be great if it opened in the evenings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony and Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    934
    486
    196
    116
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Very popular and lively eatery. Parking was a problem when we went on a Saturday and we had to queue for a while. But that gives the opportunity to watch the chefs at work in the kitchen producing a wide and imaginative menu. The cafe overlooks the river and adjoins an interesting gift/kitchen shop. Really worth a visit when in the area! Chester was a dog - a loveable rogue! Hence 'bad dog no biscuit' slogans around the shop and cafe.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flower_golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food after a long walk”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A glorious March sunny day, a couple of miles walk along the river bank finished off with food to die for (and if you eat too much, perhaps to die of!)

Pork pies 6 inches high with home-made pickles, cheese scones "just like Mum used to make" all washed down with a beer or three.

Not cheap - but then quality usually isn't

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul51_and_Marg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Lake district treasure!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Love it Love it Love it!

We visit every time we are walking anywhere close by ( sometimes not that close! ) The location is fantastic, and the food……. Although one of us has a sweet tooth and one very much savoury, this place never fails to make both of our days!

I notice from a few of the comments below people mentioning how busy it gets, this is very true, certainly during the summer months and bank holiday weekends, but please don't let this put you off, or just arrive before the lunch rush.

The freshly made savoury food always amazes me, last time we visited - Feb 14 - i tried a fresh veg chilli stuffed avocado, and some blood orange Israeli couscous ( one of these was probably enough! ) and my other half tried some homemade fudge and pecan rocky road cake. In her words this place serves THE best cake in the country! and we always leave with some to take away!

It is not the cheapest place around, but you certainly won't grumble when you see the portion size and taste whatever you try!

Like i mentioned before, stick with it when its busy, go for a walk and pop back once its quietened down. Trust me, its worth it!

Enjoy! I know i will next time i am visiting!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CraigMTanyaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great venue, great food, poor service”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Popped in on a (typically?) busy afternoon. The place was packed.

The food was excellent- prepared with lots of love and attention to detail. 5 out of 5.

The Venue was also very nicely done- again a solid four or 5 stars.

However I think Chesters may be a victim of it's own success. My lasting impression was of the staff, running around bumping into customers - making us feel as if we were in the way. It also took a long time to get the tables cleared from previous customers. I think a little attention in this area would have made it a perfect 5.

I'll know we'll go back there next time we're in the lakes and can I highly recommend the place, but it's a shame I can't give Chester 5 stars.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bongo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chesters By The River also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Skelwith Bridge, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Chesters By The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing