We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are never disappointed..................”

Chesters By The River
Ranked #26 of 118 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We are never disappointed..................”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Really can't ever fault the place even when busy the staff are quite simply fantastic and just keep serving up delicious food. The team in both the restaurant and the shop always make us feel welcome and are an amazing team working really well with each other to ensure that all goes well for the customers.
A visit to the Lakes simply would not be the same without a visit to Chesters to finish the day off.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 494Bumpkin494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    897
    475
    190
    109
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slow service but delicious Lemon Meringue Pie!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We visited on Easter Saturday so we expected it to busy. Walking from Elterwater we arrived at about 2.15 but it was almost an hour later by the time my husband had queued and the food came. The lemon meringue pie is the best I have ever had but really having one till is a joke. I felt really sorry for the lady at the till she was facing an impossible task. Surely for busy periods a second till should be available.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stopped off here for a drink after our walk, beautiful chilled setting by the river and ample seating available inside and out. Although we didn't eat the cafe had a wide selection of drinks available and the food menu looked very tempting. Would like to return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jlsc0tland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A change from the local food”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Chesters is in a great location and the menu is very different from other establishments in the valley freshly made on the premises and their sausage rolls are excellent. And not forgetting the in house baked dog biscuits a must for our retriever

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kintbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch or afternoon tea.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We heard about Chesters from a friend of ours, so made a point of visiting while we were on holiday in the Lakes last week.

The salads were truly amazing, and my husband and I shared a sharing platter of beautiful and interesting salads. Our daughter had a lovely pizza from the pizza oven (and she made the occasional raid on our salad platter as well), and we all followed it up with cakes that we really didn't need but couldn't resist.

It was very busy, and the queue is long and slow, but that basically means that the turn over of tables works, and by the time you get to the front of the queue, there is a table for you. You get to walk past all the food ( salads and many, many cakes) while you are waiting, so it helps the selection process (to a degree).

We would certainly return, the salads were the best thing I have eaten in a restaurant for quite a while.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chesters By The River also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Chesters By The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing