We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samling Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveller rating
440
164
26
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
164
26
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshideaway roomssister hotelwaterhead baythe main housesteep driveb bseparate buildinglovely hotelminute walkbooked a superior roomon arrivaltwo nightsspacious roomreception areaposter bedplenty of choicehotel is situated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 645 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2013

What a discovery! Looking for a b & b or guest house that ticks all the boxes? Look no further. Warm welcome, spacious, comfortable and really well fitted bedroom and excellent modern bathroom plus that stunning view. What more could you ask for? Well a good breakfast - Yes. A couple of minutes walk to the lake shore - Yes. A short walk into Ambleside shops etc - Yes. Somewhere close by to eat and drink - Yes! The Regent Hotel is by the shore and under same ownership - excellent food. Faults - none. In fact I'd say it was a little piece of heaven in the Lake District. We shall return!

Room Tip: We didn't stay but saw the superior Hideaway room - well worth any extra and perfect for a honeymoon!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank violamona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

“England's best view” what a great review you couldn't describe it better, thankyou and we look forward to you visiting Lake House again.

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Arrived here Friday afternoon for a weekend stay and our third visit. The room was spotless with a lovely bathroom and great views. Ate at the Regent hotel Friday night and had a great meal in a lovely restaurant. A superb breakfast the next morning with cereals, fruit, cooked breakfast and toast. The staff were great and look forward to staying again. Would definitely recommend for a quiet weekend and rest.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

It's great when people write a review telling us what a good weekend they had, hopefully we will beable to welcome you back sometime for a fourth visit.

Thankyou

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Checked in on Sunday 17th feb, no problems however the receptionist was a little military in explaining the way the things worked. But it was nice to be shown to the room.
Our Room was one of the hideaway rooms (definatly worth the money) as the room was large and spacious and even had a sofa and wall mounted 32 inch tv in the room too. Bathroom was great and constant hot water even taking showers one after another the water didn't get cold.
If you are in one of the hideaway rooms, on the top floor beware of your head in certain places if you are over 6ft tall as head was bashed a couple of times.
We had the option of the "cosy night in" on Sunday night this was great after a long drive, however one thing would be a good idea for the future would be a foldable table to be in the room to eat from as me and my wife had to eat off the bed, which was a little uncomfortable.
Breakfast was great, quick service and the option of porridge to order was good too.
Great location for lake windemere as the cruise ferry for the lake departs across the road, and the main hussle and bussle of Ambleside is a 10 minute walk away.
Wanted to stay longer, and definatly will be back again.

Stayed: February 2013
1  Thank Andrew1783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

It's great to hear that you had a great time and you also enjoyed the location being just across the road from the lake and a level walk into the town centre.

Sorry about the receptionist she really does try hard to make everything okay for the guests but she does speak quite fast and this can misinterpreted sometimes as you say almost military!!

We really appreciated taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your stay, thankyou.

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

the whole experience from arrival to departure was outstanding.The staff were very friendly and helpful,and the total value for money was amazing without a doubt. The views at breakfast were amazing and the food complemented this also.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: we stayed in the new rooms to the rear of the main hotel,which were excellent
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Wow, what a fantastic review, like you say the views from Lake House are superb and we will pass on your kind comments to the staff, look foward to seeing you again!!

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Excellent location wonderful views. Staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was self service but also very tasty. Only compliant bed was very soft and not what I am use too but room very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thanks for your great reveiw and hopefully we will see you again when you visit Ambleside.

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews