We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, lovely area - recommended”
Review of Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake House
Ranked #16 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great hotel, lovely area - recommended”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and was impressed by the huge room (room 5 lake view) it had everything you needed tea/coffee , little chairs looking out at the lake, huge bed, little dog teddy on the bed ! bathroom very modern and nice. Breakfast was fresh and yummy , about 15 minute walk to Ambleside with a few nice bars and restaurants. People really love dogs here, its great ! never seen so many dogs at a holiday spot (love dogs !)
So our room overlooked the lake at the front of the house, lovely room but the only fault I would have to give is ..... the curtains and blinds let too much light in , so in the mornings you cant properly sleep in ! (love my sleep) and also quite noisy from cleaning rooms next door and banging etc from 8 or so in the morning , not a real complaint but black out blinds would be great for when you want to snooze late !!
Helen on reception is brilliant , friendly and professional . Getting a dvd in the room is a lovely treat ! all in all great hotel , would recommend

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pami.eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
We are delighted that you found Lake House a lovely place to stay and that you also enjoyed the area, especially being just across the road from the beautiful Waterhead Bay.

Thankyou for taking the time to write this review and hopefully we will see you again.

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    155
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
49
435
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We have recently returned from 2 days stay, firstly I must say two things, the hotel is very clean and the staff are superb. The lovely receptionist showed us to the door of our room which was in a small block behind the actual hotel, slight alarm bells, once we were in the room ... marvellous, warm and very clean. The fixtures and fitting were of a very good standard, Well back from the road so no noise, but well placed 5 minutes walk from the lake side and 15 minutes from Ambleside.
Breakfast was included and served in the hotel's breakfast room, again very clean with Very polite and attentive staff, we sat at the window with views over the lake and enjoyed a very nice breakfast. Dinner can be taken in a very nice hotel 5 minutes walk as the Lake House does not offer evening meals??
Many services are however on offer with the hotel trying to make our stay as memorable as possible, and they have ... we will return.
P.S. watch out for disgustingly high parking fees throughout the lakes, take a lot of change.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on hotel rooms but the block at the rear of the hotel rooms 14 - 18 are very good, ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bumblebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a good review, we will pass on your kind comments to all the staff and look forward to your return.

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

What a discovery! Looking for a b & b or guest house that ticks all the boxes? Look no further. Warm welcome, spacious, comfortable and really well fitted bedroom and excellent modern bathroom plus that stunning view. What more could you ask for? Well a good breakfast - Yes. A couple of minutes walk to the lake shore - Yes. A short walk into Ambleside shops etc - Yes. Somewhere close by to eat and drink - Yes! The Regent Hotel is by the shore and under same ownership - excellent food. Faults - none. In fact I'd say it was a little piece of heaven in the Lake District. We shall return!

Room Tip: We didn't stay but saw the superior Hideaway room - well worth any extra and perfect for a honey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank violamona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
“England's best view” what a great review you couldn't describe it better, thankyou and we look forward to you visiting Lake House again.

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Arrived here Friday afternoon for a weekend stay and our third visit. The room was spotless with a lovely bathroom and great views. Ate at the Regent hotel Friday night and had a great meal in a lovely restaurant. A superb breakfast the next morning with cereals, fruit, cooked breakfast and toast. The staff were great and look forward to staying again. Would definitely recommend for a quiet weekend and rest.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
It's great when people write a review telling us what a good weekend they had, hopefully we will beable to welcome you back sometime for a fourth visit.

Thankyou

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Checked in on Sunday 17th feb, no problems however the receptionist was a little military in explaining the way the things worked. But it was nice to be shown to the room.
Our Room was one of the hideaway rooms (definatly worth the money) as the room was large and spacious and even had a sofa and wall mounted 32 inch tv in the room too. Bathroom was great and constant hot water even taking showers one after another the water didn't get cold.
If you are in one of the hideaway rooms, on the top floor beware of your head in certain places if you are over 6ft tall as head was bashed a couple of times.
We had the option of the "cosy night in" on Sunday night this was great after a long drive, however one thing would be a good idea for the future would be a foldable table to be in the room to eat from as me and my wife had to eat off the bed, which was a little uncomfortable.
Breakfast was great, quick service and the option of porridge to order was good too.
Great location for lake windemere as the cruise ferry for the lake departs across the road, and the main hussle and bussle of Ambleside is a 10 minute walk away.
Wanted to stay longer, and definatly will be back again.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew1783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
It's great to hear that you had a great time and you also enjoyed the location being just across the road from the lake and a level walk into the town centre.

Sorry about the receptionist she really does try hard to make everything okay for the guests but she does speak quite fast and this can misinterpreted sometimes as you say almost military!!

We really appreciated taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your stay, thankyou.

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

the whole experience from arrival to departure was outstanding.The staff were very friendly and helpful,and the total value for money was amazing without a doubt. The views at breakfast were amazing and the food complemented this also.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: we stayed in the new rooms to the rear of the main hotel,which were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Wow, what a fantastic review, like you say the views from Lake House are superb and we will pass on your kind comments to the staff, look foward to seeing you again!!

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Excellent location wonderful views. Staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was self service but also very tasty. Only compliant bed was very soft and not what I am use too but room very clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thanks for your great reveiw and hopefully we will see you again when you visit Ambleside.

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,663 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
534 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake House

Property: Lake House
Address: Lake Rd | Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run country house has spectacular views across Waterhead Bay, Windermere Loughrigg Fell and the Langdale Peaks as well as offering stylish, modern and luxurious accommodation. With its country house atmosphere combined with stylish decor and modern luxury touches, not to mention its eighteen gorgeous bedrooms and wonderful raised vistas, Lake House is a perfect place to stay and make your own. Come together in the large, light dining and living area with stunning lake views, or find your own space to relax and escape on one of the lovely reading landings or from the privacy of your large bedroom. Lake House manages to combine grandeur and intimacy in private surroundings for all occasions. Please note, due to the relaxing nature of the building rooms are not suitable for children.Each of the 18 bedrooms are decorated and fitted to the highest standards, all en-suite with TV with DVD, CD players and tea/coffee making facilities. Some superior rooms feature four poster beds and have the best views over Lake Windermere.Traditional Lakeland breakfast is served in the dining room with an array of continental breads, cereals and fruit with wonderful lake and mountain views. Full English is set out for you to help yourself and there are trays for you to take it all up to your room if you so wish - breakfast in bed do it yourself style!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake House Hotel Ambleside
Lake House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing