We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second to none”
Review of Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake House
Ranked #16 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second to none”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at the lake House in room 1 last month and were not disappointed. The hotel is perfectly situated for all amenities and the staff are amazing., very attentive and helpful, particularly two young English girls ( just sorry we didn't ask names ) The room was spacious and clean and breakfast second to none. Ambleside itself is a great place but, we would recommend travelling a little further afield to Duddon Valley, unspoilt beauty and not so touristy, this was recommended to us by one of afore mentioned girls who seemed to have a great knowledge of the area. The Regent Hotel, sister hotel to Lake House is equally as good by standard and the food and staff again excellent. Cannot fault this family run business. Well done and we shall definitely return and have already recommended to family and friends alike

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellsy944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank- you so much for this great review we will pass on all your kind comments to all the staff at Lake House and The Regent and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Regards Jason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    153
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
49
433
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Level Contributor
155 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

This beautiful Victorian country house sits on a hill overlooking Waterhead bay with its yachts and steamers. It's nice and quiet but only ten minutes walk into the centre of Ambleside. This makes it the best of both worlds.

Our room also had a fan which was on as we arrived. Given the current weather, this was a very thoughtful touch.

The two things that really stand out are the cleanliness of the pretty rooms and the cheerfulness of the staff.

An extra fried egg? No problem. More hot water with my tea. No problem. Bread to fed the ducks. No problem. You get the idea. Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely staff at this light, elegant country house.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethCarlisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. I've stayed in a good number of B&Bs and I can honestly say it's the best I can remember. Really nice room (with a great fan - it was very hot). Spotlessly clean, really well decorated, and comfortable. The staff were lovely, smiley and helpful. Breakfast was very nice with a choice of two different types of sausage, freshly fried egg, and lovely bacon as well as the usual fare. Great location as well. Only one small complaint - where did they quarry the pillows from? Very much looking forward to my next visit..

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank billherdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review we are delighted to hear that you had a great time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
155 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

This beautiful Victorian country house sits on a hill overlooking Waterhead bay with its yachts and steamers. It's nice and quiet but only ten minutes walk into the centre of Ambleside. This makes it the best of both worlds.

Our room also had a fan which was on as we arrived. Given the current weather, this was a very thoughtful touch.

The two things that really stand out are the cleanliness of the pretty rooms and the cheerfulness of the staff.

An extra fried egg? No problem. More hot water with my tea. No problem. Bread to fed the ducks. No problem. You get the idea. Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely staff at this light, elegant country house.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethCarlisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
The staff will be delighted when we pass on your very generous comments, thank you. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Lake House and hopefully we will see you again.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our first stay at this B & B where we stayed for three nights. Our own particular room, although smaller in size, was very comfortable and clean with what seemed to be a newly fitted carpet. We had a side view room with a lake view, which was lovely. The weather was a bonus too with being so hot (a fan was provided in our room). The breakfast was buffet style and adequate with a good selection. Poached eggs always available, but just ask if you prefer fried or scrambled, as staff will be happy to oblige. Extra toast and tea too should you so wish. Staff very polite an helpful. The Lake House is set in beautiful landscaped gardens; a very short distance from the pier where you can access trips to the islands and Bowness. Lake House has a comfortable residents lounge too. In addition, they have a DVD collection, which you can use free of charge and all bedrooms are equipped with a TV/DVD facility. In addition, it is only a short stroll to Ambleside itself with shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Although we didn't reserve a front room, which have lake views, we were given a side room which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 759Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
We are delighted that you thought Lake House was a little gem and by the sounds of it thoroughly enjoying your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

This is a very clean and quiet place to stay whilst being close enough to restaurants and shops. It is the sister hotel to the full service hotel called The Regent which is nearby.
We stayed in one of the 'Hideaway' rooms which are delete to the main building. They were modern, with access straight into the room from the car park which would be ideal for any wheel chair users.
The room was very clean with good quality bed linen, towels and soaps. Tea and coffee faculties with nice flat screen TV.
Very nice breakfast with good choice of hot and cold items in a very pleasant dining room overlooking the garden.
The two members of staff we spoke to were very friendly and helpful.
I would definitely return as the standard is good and the location for us just right, nearer to Waterhead than in town at Ambleside.
The driveway is quite steep but no problem in the car and there is a separate pedestrian path winding through the garden down to the road.
Overall: good quality and very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANW1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
We are delighted that you found Lake House to be good quality and by the sounds of it thoroughly enjoying your stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and hopefully we will see you again.

Regards

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed at Lake House for 3 nights B and B Lovely clean room quite a comfortable bed restricted view of the Lake but it was nice to wke up and see part of it each morning

The staff were fantastic group of you ladies who were so willing and helpful

I would definitly recomend lake House

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thanks for the great review it is really good to hear when somebody has enjoyed their stay with us and we will certainly pass on you complimentary comments to all the staff.

Regards

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake House

Property: Lake House
Address: Lake Rd | Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run country house has spectacular views across Waterhead Bay, Windermere Loughrigg Fell and the Langdale Peaks as well as offering stylish, modern and luxurious accommodation. With its country house atmosphere combined with stylish decor and modern luxury touches, not to mention its eighteen gorgeous bedrooms and wonderful raised vistas, Lake House is a perfect place to stay and make your own. Come together in the large, light dining and living area with stunning lake views, or find your own space to relax and escape on one of the lovely reading landings or from the privacy of your large bedroom. Lake House manages to combine grandeur and intimacy in private surroundings for all occasions. Please note, due to the relaxing nature of the building rooms are not suitable for children.Each of the 18 bedrooms are decorated and fitted to the highest standards, all en-suite with TV with DVD, CD players and tea/coffee making facilities. Some superior rooms feature four poster beds and have the best views over Lake Windermere.Traditional Lakeland breakfast is served in the dining room with an array of continental breads, cereals and fruit with wonderful lake and mountain views. Full English is set out for you to help yourself and there are trays for you to take it all up to your room if you so wish - breakfast in bed do it yourself style!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake House Hotel Ambleside
Lake House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing