We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”
Review of Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake House
Ranked #15 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

I booked 2 nights for my husband as a wedding gift from me. We both wanted a mini honeymoon in the UK and a friend recommended The Lake House to me. My husbands reaction when he saw the hotel for the first time was a moment to remember. We both fell in love with the beauty of the hotel and its surroundings.  Staff were welcoming and friendly. Our room was relaxing and cosy, wonderful bedding and bed, best sleep we ever had together. Bathroom was spotlessly clean. Exceptional refreshments and room service. The view from our room was breathtaking. It was perfect! Breakfast was lovely with beautiful views of the lake. Nearby crag, lake, boat rides and shops are a bonus. We realy wanted to stay longer. Will definitely book again. An amazing time at the lake district and an even more amazing time at The Lake House. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dimplezzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

We are delighted that you really enjoyed your mini honeymoon with us at Lake house and by the sounds of it met beyond expectations, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back when you visit Ambleside.

Regards Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I had a 2 night stay here in May. Fab hotel with amazing views of the Lake and surrounding mountains. Our room had a seating area so we just sat looking at the view drinking wine one evening! The room was lovely with a 4 poster bed, very clean. The hotel was nice and quiet and had a DVD library free of charge, which was good! The breakfast was really nice, help yourself style but everything was checked and re-stocked and it was all fresh food – eggs were made to order. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in a convenient location with some restaurants and the lake harbour 2 minutes walk away. We went on a lake cruise and hopped off at Bowness. Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view of the Lake, it's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review it's great to get such positive feedback about Lake House and all it has to offer including it's beautiful location.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back when you are visiting Ambleside.

Regards

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Beautiful House, wonderful staff, great breakfasts, Staff did our laundry for minimal price and back in few hours, Beautiful location and will come back again God welling. The Lake District is magical and the most beautiful spot in the British Isles, the HIghlands get close although.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Lake House, makes all the hard work worthwhile and hopefully we will get an opportunity to welcome back when you visit the Lake District.

Thank you for this great review.

Regards Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Immediately on entering this accommodation we knew we had made the right decision. That wonderful undefinable "clean" smell - and look., A warm welcome from the receptionist with an offer of help with the luggage. A nice staircase and landing led to a spacious hallway and an awesome room super clean, intelligently furnished, with great partial views of the lake and fell tops behind. Some reviewers complain it is only a partial view and I appreciate everyone has their own opinion but I feel I must ask this question - would you rather have all the tees cut down?
The location was perfect for us being close enough to Ambleside for a quick stroll in to the village, but just far enough out to have more peace on a busy day. The Jetties for lake trips, or just for having a walk around and nosey were just across the road.
I am struggling to find anything to moan about - in fact I really can't - if I were really picky I would ask if the owners might negotiate a formal gap in the fence to the public footpath running along the South of the property to the top of the crag- that would enable guests to go down to the road and join a footpath rather than the road itself. As it was we went that way anyway with a piece of railing being lowered by frequent use!
As a family run business with two associated ventures we felt there was sufficient depth of facilities to meet our needs, albeit by using the restaurant of one of the other Hotels in the family (which gave us a discount).
It might just have been nice to have a family member role up at breakfast to make it a little more personally involved - but then again many guests probably might not be bothered either way.
Summing up - at the risk of gushing - just a great place to stay, with a good location, clean, friendly helpful staff and good room (no 5 anyway)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Lake - no 5 is just fine but not if we are going the same week - we want i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MidLifeButNoCrisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review we really do appreciate the feedback and it's great hear that you enjoyed Lake House and all it has to offer.

Sorry I did not meet you in person busy cooking breakfast!! but please if you visit again just make yourself know to reception and I will gladly come and have a chat.

Regards

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Superb location overlooking the lake. Very quiet but only 20 minute walk to Ambleside centre. Small selection of pubs and restaurants nearby. 1st visit to lake district and this was perfect location from which to explore. Lovely breakfasts and very friendly, helpful staff. Only criticism was towels weren't changed during the weeks stay but we didn't ask. We stayed in separate hideaway room which was lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLBLetchworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

We are delighted that your 1st visit to the Lake District was a success and you enjoyed your stay with us at Lake House, sorry about the towels had you mentioned it we would have gladly changed them for you.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and maybe we might see you again for a 2nd visit.

Regards

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had a weekend break here. What a lovely building. The rooms were more than adequate. A decent help your self cooked breakfast. Staff were pleasant and very helpful, will stay here again if in the area .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helena_wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review we really appreciate the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at the lake House in room 1 last month and were not disappointed. The hotel is perfectly situated for all amenities and the staff are amazing., very attentive and helpful, particularly two young English girls ( just sorry we didn't ask names ) The room was spacious and clean and breakfast second to none. Ambleside itself is a great place but, we would recommend travelling a little further afield to Duddon Valley, unspoilt beauty and not so touristy, this was recommended to us by one of afore mentioned girls who seemed to have a great knowledge of the area. The Regent Hotel, sister hotel to Lake House is equally as good by standard and the food and staff again excellent. Cannot fault this family run business. Well done and we shall definitely return and have already recommended to family and friends alike

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellsy944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank- you so much for this great review we will pass on all your kind comments to all the staff at Lake House and The Regent and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Regards Jason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
561 reviews
5.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake House

Address: Lake Rd | Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £86 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run country house has spectacular views across Waterhead Bay, Windermere Loughrigg Fell and the Langdale Peaks as well as offering stylish, modern and luxurious accommodation. With its country house atmosphere combined with stylish decor and modern luxury touches, not to mention its eighteen gorgeous bedrooms and wonderful raised vistas, Lake House is a perfect place to stay and make your own. Come together in the large, light dining and living area with stunning lake views, or find your own space to relax and escape on one of the lovely reading landings or from the privacy of your large bedroom. Lake House manages to combine grandeur and intimacy in private surroundings for all occasions. Please note, due to the relaxing nature of the building rooms are not suitable for children.Each of the 18 bedrooms are decorated and fitted to the highest standards, all en-suite with TV with DVD, CD players and tea/coffee making facilities. Some superior rooms feature four poster beds and have the best views over Lake Windermere.Traditional Lakeland breakfast is served in the dining room with an array of continental breads, cereals and fruit with wonderful lake and mountain views. Full English is set out for you to help yourself and there are trays for you to take it all up to your room if you so wish - breakfast in bed do it yourself style!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake House Hotel Ambleside
Lake House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing