We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake House
Ranked #16 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Last minute booking but was very pleased with location and room and service. The towels were thick and large the water was hot and the shower was forceful how we like it. Room was spacious and warm. Bed was comfortable and it was clean. The sitting room downstairs was comfy and our request for tea and coffee to entertain guests we were meeting was served straight away. Tea and coffee available in room also. Breakfast offered a of good assortment of fruit and cereals and the full English very nice and hot. Staff very pleasant. Would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a back room but would imagine a front room view would be lovely as the hotel is higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARILYN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We are delighted that you had a great overnight with us, we will pass on your kind comments to the team at Lake House and hopefully we will see you again when you next visit Ambleside.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    153
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
49
432
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Very clean modern room. Big comfy bed. Great bathroom with heated towel rail and toiletries. Very welcoming of us and the dog! Great breakfast, provided veggie sausages and eggs cooked to order and preference. Great location. Nice walk up to the rear of the guest house. Staff very friendly. The only downside was the room (15) had no windows so the only way to allow natural light in was to have the blinds open on the door which allowed anyone walking past full view into the room! (Including the workmen doing work on the slate roof - They started about 8am but weren't too noisy) But as it was only for one night it was OK, but if we were there longer and spending more time in the room it would have been a bigger issue. This may however have been down to us booking last minute and needing a dog friendly room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate the feedback, sorry about the builders hope they didn't cause too much disruption.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Really lovely place, in a beautiful town. We stayed in a external building to the main house, I think room 14 which had outstanding views. It was a superior room, it was spacious, large and modern, loved it. Staff were extremely friendly, and walking distance to some lovely restaurant ( although there is one at the hotel) and of course the lakefront. Very tranquil place just wish we had spent longer than one night. Parking was quite extreme, but we did all fit with some patience. The Lakes district was extremely busy and the roads buzzing. (end of August) obviously peak season. So at that time you need to book things in advance for sure. This places is walking heaven !

Room Tip: A superiors with lake view was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozziwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, feed back is really important and it sounds like you had an enjoyable time making the most of all that the Lake District has to offer.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

I booked 2 nights for my husband as a wedding gift from me. We both wanted a mini honeymoon in the UK and a friend recommended The Lake House to me. My husbands reaction when he saw the hotel for the first time was a moment to remember. We both fell in love with the beauty of the hotel and its surroundings.  Staff were welcoming and friendly. Our room was relaxing and cosy, wonderful bedding and bed, best sleep we ever had together. Bathroom was spotlessly clean. Exceptional refreshments and room service. The view from our room was breathtaking. It was perfect! Breakfast was lovely with beautiful views of the lake. Nearby crag, lake, boat rides and shops are a bonus. We realy wanted to stay longer. Will definitely book again. An amazing time at the lake district and an even more amazing time at The Lake House. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimplezzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We are delighted that you really enjoyed your mini honeymoon with us at Lake house and by the sounds of it met beyond expectations, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back when you visit Ambleside.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I had a 2 night stay here in May. Fab hotel with amazing views of the Lake and surrounding mountains. Our room had a seating area so we just sat looking at the view drinking wine one evening! The room was lovely with a 4 poster bed, very clean. The hotel was nice and quiet and had a DVD library free of charge, which was good! The breakfast was really nice, help yourself style but everything was checked and re-stocked and it was all fresh food – eggs were made to order. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in a convenient location with some restaurants and the lake harbour 2 minutes walk away. We went on a lake cruise and hopped off at Bowness. Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view of the Lake, it's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review it's great to get such positive feedback about Lake House and all it has to offer including it's beautiful location.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back when you are visiting Ambleside.

Regards

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Beautiful House, wonderful staff, great breakfasts, Staff did our laundry for minimal price and back in few hours, Beautiful location and will come back again God welling. The Lake District is magical and the most beautiful spot in the British Isles, the HIghlands get close although.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Lake House, makes all the hard work worthwhile and hopefully we will get an opportunity to welcome back when you visit the Lake District.

Thank you for this great review.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Immediately on entering this accommodation we knew we had made the right decision. That wonderful undefinable "clean" smell - and look., A warm welcome from the receptionist with an offer of help with the luggage. A nice staircase and landing led to a spacious hallway and an awesome room super clean, intelligently furnished, with great partial views of the lake and fell tops behind. Some reviewers complain it is only a partial view and I appreciate everyone has their own opinion but I feel I must ask this question - would you rather have all the tees cut down?
The location was perfect for us being close enough to Ambleside for a quick stroll in to the village, but just far enough out to have more peace on a busy day. The Jetties for lake trips, or just for having a walk around and nosey were just across the road.
I am struggling to find anything to moan about - in fact I really can't - if I were really picky I would ask if the owners might negotiate a formal gap in the fence to the public footpath running along the South of the property to the top of the crag- that would enable guests to go down to the road and join a footpath rather than the road itself. As it was we went that way anyway with a piece of railing being lowered by frequent use!
As a family run business with two associated ventures we felt there was sufficient depth of facilities to meet our needs, albeit by using the restaurant of one of the other Hotels in the family (which gave us a discount).
It might just have been nice to have a family member role up at breakfast to make it a little more personally involved - but then again many guests probably might not be bothered either way.
Summing up - at the risk of gushing - just a great place to stay, with a good location, clean, friendly helpful staff and good room (no 5 anyway)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Lake - no 5 is just fine but not if we are going the same week - we want i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidLifeButNoCrisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review we really do appreciate the feedback and it's great hear that you enjoyed Lake House and all it has to offer.

Sorry I did not meet you in person busy cooking breakfast!! but please if you visit again just make yourself know to reception and I will gladly come and have a chat.

Regards

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake House

Property: Lake House
Address: Lake Rd | Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run country house has spectacular views across Waterhead Bay, Windermere Loughrigg Fell and the Langdale Peaks as well as offering stylish, modern and luxurious accommodation. With its country house atmosphere combined with stylish decor and modern luxury touches, not to mention its eighteen gorgeous bedrooms and wonderful raised vistas, Lake House is a perfect place to stay and make your own. Come together in the large, light dining and living area with stunning lake views, or find your own space to relax and escape on one of the lovely reading landings or from the privacy of your large bedroom. Lake House manages to combine grandeur and intimacy in private surroundings for all occasions. Please note, due to the relaxing nature of the building rooms are not suitable for children.Each of the 18 bedrooms are decorated and fitted to the highest standards, all en-suite with TV with DVD, CD players and tea/coffee making facilities. Some superior rooms feature four poster beds and have the best views over Lake Windermere.Traditional Lakeland breakfast is served in the dining room with an array of continental breads, cereals and fruit with wonderful lake and mountain views. Full English is set out for you to help yourself and there are trays for you to take it all up to your room if you so wish - breakfast in bed do it yourself style!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake House Hotel Ambleside
Lake House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing