We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An anniversary weekend in November :-)”
Review of Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake House
Ranked #16 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have just returned after staying two wonderful nights in room 5; one of the superiors rooms at the Lake House. The room was amazing, very spacious bright and clean with lots of home comforts and added touches, which made it even more special. We wanted to take the shower in the en-suite home with us, its the best we have had in any of the places we have stayed!!!!. The complimentary wine was a lovely touch… thank you. The views from the room are stunning and lovely to wake up to. The food was great with lots of choice. The staff were lovely, friendly, attentive and accommodating, but not over powering. If you need any advice seek out Michelle she won't let you down... Michelle was a massive help when choosing anything from where to go for an evening out, to a day trip out in the car. Always there with a smile and a willingness to help you. Thank you Michelle you helped to make our stay even more special. We have had a fantastic experience and will definitely be recommending the Lake House to our friends. Go book a room now… you won't regret it.
Paul and Mary :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Many thanks for this fantastic review we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable Anniversary weekend with us at Lake House and Michelle will be delighted when we tell her that she was a massive help!!

Regards Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Having just returned today from a wonderful break at the lakehouse hotel, we hope our review will tempt others to stay here. Room 5 a superior dbl was perfect. Wonderful views accross the lake, large comfortable bed and lovely bathroom with a bath! To help ease the aches from 3 full days walking. A wonderful time of year to visit. Easily accessible to all walks - never needed to move the car! Jason and all the staff were wonderful, breakfast superb and the complimentary wine very well received. Definately be back next year.

Room Tip: Room 5 beautifully located, quiet from trafic, very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

"magical 4 days!” it sound s like you have had a wonderful time with a description like this, thank you, we will pass on all your kind comments to the staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Regards Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed here in September as a birthday treat and chose to stay in the hideaway room (not sure which number it was) with the huge window overlooking grounds. It was so beautiful at night we slept with the curtains wide open. It was a lovely, clean and neutrally decorated room with a large pristine bathroom. We took the dog and this concerned me as I have never stayed at a dog friendly hotel before, but you could not tell that other doggy people had been there - it was spotless.
Breakfast was very nice - staff served tea and coffee but all food was self-service and plentiful.
On our second night we did not fancy eating out so early (all Ambleside restaurants stop serving by 9pm) so we ordered takeaway and borrowed 2 dvd's from the hotel reception which was free - this was a really nice touch.
The hotel was a great base to explore Ambleside from and the staff were friendly without being overbearing.

Room Tip: Stay in the hideaway - the rooms are modern and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

It sounds like you had a great Birthday Treat enjoying all Lake House has to offer, we really appreciate you taking the time to write this review, thankyou.

Regards Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We just came back yesterday having stayed 2 nights an we didn't want to come home. We were in room 18 in the hideaway block at the back of the hotel which was a downstairs room at the end of the row (you only had one neighbour at the side of you and no one above). This was perfect for us with having our mad springer spaniel with us as they have even put a piece of tough carpet so we could clean him on it (we have this at at home and its great). They even provide a tray for you mucky boots and a dog bowl... The staff are great and so helpful, for breakfast we put our dog in the car for 2 minutes and asked for trays and filled our plates up and took them back to our room with coffee and toast etc. The cooked breakfast is Buffett style so you help yourself, the waitress on both morning couldn't have been more helpful. We hope to return again in the near future and would recommend this hotel to anyone, the location just outside Ambleside was perfect as you have parking and a huge lake to let your dog wash himself in .....

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ginnyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Many thanks for this great review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us at Lake House and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Ambleside.

Regards Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just stayed at lake house after a recommendation from friends .
All the staff we're really friendly & couldn't do enough for us ,
One of staff (Michelle) even offered to look after our dog daisy
for the evening while we dined at the regent ( lovely meal).
Our hideaway room was excellent , spacious , clean,
comfortable & a great view. Also great breakfast.
A very pleasant hotel & great staff next time we visit the lakes
We'll be back for sure

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

It's really good to get reviews like this when guests have had a great break and they take the time to tell us all about their stay.

We will pass on your comments to the team at Lake House and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area next time.

Regards Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed three nights for a short break without the kids. Great, spacious room with a view out over Windermere, and the public areas are all well appointed and looked after. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk from Ambleside itself, but you also have the option of all the lakeside bars/ restaurants/hotels by the lake in Waterhead. You can get straight out to the hills from the back of the hotel, there's a good walk out to Troutbeck for instance, do not follow our example of not leaving enough daylight to return comfortably from the top of Wansfell though... We only had the breakfast on the final day as we were enjoying getting to lie in without our children jumping on our heads, but when we did make it down it was excellent, and the breakfast room also has a great view. One other thing to mention, I think the website says wifi is available in the public areas, I assume this is because its not available in every single room, but we got very good signal in the room we were in. My only issues with the room at all, firstly, lovely bath in room 4 with shower head attachment, but no bracket for this and no curtain so with the impressive water pressure it was beyond my, admittedly limited, ability to shower without soaking the floor. The other two points tend to be common to most hotels, firstly it could have done with a few more hangers and also some hooks for coats etc, and secondly (pet peeve alert), I do wish the default position with UK hotel rooms was to have all the radiators off and you can turn them on if you wish rather than the other way round. it must waste vast amount of energy countrywide, and it's a pain having to open all the windows to get the room back to a comfortable temperature, I know temperature is a personal thing, but it seems hugely wasteful to have a room heated all day for a guest that may be arriving at 9 in the evening. But as I say, every where seems to do this, not just the Lake House.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fullerton42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate the feedback and constructive comments, its sounds like you had a good time at Lake House enjoying your time away without the kids!!

Regards Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Had a really nice stay - staff made us feel welcome and the room was comfortable - the beds were just sink-in-and-fall-asleep comfy (or I may have been very tired). Gorgeous view - would definitely stay again! Thank you Lake House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely, comfortable welcoming stay, we will pass on your kind comments to the team at Lake House and we look forward to welcoming you back when you visit the Ambleside.

Regards Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,261 reviews
0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,756 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
578 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 102 in Ambleside
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake House

Address: Lake Rd | Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £69 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run country house has spectacular views across Waterhead Bay, Windermere Loughrigg Fell and the Langdale Peaks as well as offering stylish, modern and luxurious accommodation. With its country house atmosphere combined with stylish decor and modern luxury touches, not to mention its eighteen gorgeous bedrooms and wonderful raised vistas, Lake House is a perfect place to stay and make your own. Come together in the large, light dining and living area with stunning lake views, or find your own space to relax and escape on one of the lovely reading landings or from the privacy of your large bedroom. Lake House manages to combine grandeur and intimacy in private surroundings for all occasions. Please note, due to the relaxing nature of the building rooms are not suitable for children.Each of the 18 bedrooms are decorated and fitted to the highest standards, all en-suite with TV with DVD, CD players and tea/coffee making facilities. Some superior rooms feature four poster beds and have the best views over Lake Windermere.Traditional Lakeland breakfast is served in the dining room with an array of continental breads, cereals and fruit with wonderful lake and mountain views. Full English is set out for you to help yourself and there are trays for you to take it all up to your room if you so wish - breakfast in bed do it yourself style!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake House Hotel Ambleside
Lake House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing