We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 wonderful nights at lake house”
Review of Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake House
Ranked #16 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“2 wonderful nights at lake house”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

just returned home after spending 2 nights at lake house ( 2nd/3rd dec) , we had room 5 a large superior double with views to die for across waterhead bay to the langdales magnificent .
the room is large and very homely with a gorgeous king size bed ,which my girlfriend refused to get out off as u can lie in bed and see the langdales without getting out !!!.
great bathroom with bath and shower great for relaxing aching muscles after a hard days walking .
good location only 200 yds from hayes garden world and about half a mile into ambelside itself .
great buffet style breakfast cereal/fruit juice eggs cooked as u like them to go with ur bacon/sausage/tomato/hash browns /mushrooms/beans everything to set you up for the day !!.
great friendly helpful staff always with a smile on there faces .
the only problem we had was the heat in the hotel , but after turning off the radiators and opening windows in our room it was spot on .
overall fantastic stay , great views , wonderful staff , room 5 was superb , great location no wonder they have so many repeat customers . we'll be back for sure .thank you lake house .

Room Tip: room 4/5 have great views over waterhead bay to the langdales
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dranubis59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Wow, what a fantastic review we are delighted you enjoyed Room 5 it's a brilliant room like you have said being spacious and with amazing views, hopefully we will see you again sometime.

Thank you, Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    156
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
50
439
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

You can tell a good bed and breakfast because it keeps drawing you back. I've stayed here four times now and each time I'm delighted by how lovely it is.

Michelle on reception (and who serves breakfasts) is a gem. The beautiful, large, light, spacious house is immaculate and the rooms are very clean and pretty.


If I had one suggestion for improvement it would be that breakfast was served on full sized plates instead of the large side plates which makes your food difficult to manoeuvre. Having said that, it's still the best value place I stay and the nicest place I have EVER stayed for the price. You would have to pay a lot more to find something better than this gorgeous, warm and welcoming house on the edge of the lake.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethCarlisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
This is the best advert you can have, thankyou and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th visit !!!!
Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have just returned after staying two wonderful nights in room 5; one of the superiors rooms at the Lake House. The room was amazing, very spacious bright and clean with lots of home comforts and added touches, which made it even more special. We wanted to take the shower in the en-suite home with us, its the best we have had in any of the places we have stayed!!!!. The complimentary wine was a lovely touch… thank you. The views from the room are stunning and lovely to wake up to. The food was great with lots of choice. The staff were lovely, friendly, attentive and accommodating, but not over powering. If you need any advice seek out Michelle she won't let you down... Michelle was a massive help when choosing anything from where to go for an evening out, to a day trip out in the car. Always there with a smile and a willingness to help you. Thank you Michelle you helped to make our stay even more special. We have had a fantastic experience and will definitely be recommending the Lake House to our friends. Go book a room now… you won't regret it.
Paul and Mary :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Many thanks for this fantastic review we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable Anniversary weekend with us at Lake House and Michelle will be delighted when we tell her that she was a massive help!!

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Having just returned today from a wonderful break at the lakehouse hotel, we hope our review will tempt others to stay here. Room 5 a superior dbl was perfect. Wonderful views accross the lake, large comfortable bed and lovely bathroom with a bath! To help ease the aches from 3 full days walking. A wonderful time of year to visit. Easily accessible to all walks - never needed to move the car! Jason and all the staff were wonderful, breakfast superb and the complimentary wine very well received. Definately be back next year.

Room Tip: Room 5 beautifully located, quiet from trafic, very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
"magical 4 days!” it sound s like you have had a wonderful time with a description like this, thank you, we will pass on all your kind comments to the staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed here in September as a birthday treat and chose to stay in the hideaway room (not sure which number it was) with the huge window overlooking grounds. It was so beautiful at night we slept with the curtains wide open. It was a lovely, clean and neutrally decorated room with a large pristine bathroom. We took the dog and this concerned me as I have never stayed at a dog friendly hotel before, but you could not tell that other doggy people had been there - it was spotless.
Breakfast was very nice - staff served tea and coffee but all food was self-service and plentiful.
On our second night we did not fancy eating out so early (all Ambleside restaurants stop serving by 9pm) so we ordered takeaway and borrowed 2 dvd's from the hotel reception which was free - this was a really nice touch.
The hotel was a great base to explore Ambleside from and the staff were friendly without being overbearing.

Room Tip: Stay in the hideaway - the rooms are modern and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
It sounds like you had a great Birthday Treat enjoying all Lake House has to offer, we really appreciate you taking the time to write this review, thankyou.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilsden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We just came back yesterday having stayed 2 nights an we didn't want to come home. We were in room 18 in the hideaway block at the back of the hotel which was a downstairs room at the end of the row (you only had one neighbour at the side of you and no one above). This was perfect for us with having our mad springer spaniel with us as they have even put a piece of tough carpet so we could clean him on it (we have this at at home and its great). They even provide a tray for you mucky boots and a dog bowl... The staff are great and so helpful, for breakfast we put our dog in the car for 2 minutes and asked for trays and filled our plates up and took them back to our room with coffee and toast etc. The cooked breakfast is Buffett style so you help yourself, the waitress on both morning couldn't have been more helpful. We hope to return again in the near future and would recommend this hotel to anyone, the location just outside Ambleside was perfect as you have parking and a huge lake to let your dog wash himself in .....

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ginnyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Many thanks for this great review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us at Lake House and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Ambleside.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just stayed at lake house after a recommendation from friends .
All the staff we're really friendly & couldn't do enough for us ,
One of staff (Michelle) even offered to look after our dog daisy
for the evening while we dined at the regent ( lovely meal).
Our hideaway room was excellent , spacious , clean,
comfortable & a great view. Also great breakfast.
A very pleasant hotel & great staff next time we visit the lakes
We'll be back for sure

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
It's really good to get reviews like this when guests have had a great break and they take the time to tell us all about their stay.

We will pass on your comments to the team at Lake House and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area next time.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake House

Property: Lake House
Address: Lake Rd | Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run country house has spectacular views across Waterhead Bay, Windermere Loughrigg Fell and the Langdale Peaks as well as offering stylish, modern and luxurious accommodation. With its country house atmosphere combined with stylish decor and modern luxury touches, not to mention its eighteen gorgeous bedrooms and wonderful raised vistas, Lake House is a perfect place to stay and make your own. Come together in the large, light dining and living area with stunning lake views, or find your own space to relax and escape on one of the lovely reading landings or from the privacy of your large bedroom. Lake House manages to combine grandeur and intimacy in private surroundings for all occasions. Please note, due to the relaxing nature of the building rooms are not suitable for children.Each of the 18 bedrooms are decorated and fitted to the highest standards, all en-suite with TV with DVD, CD players and tea/coffee making facilities. Some superior rooms feature four poster beds and have the best views over Lake Windermere.Traditional Lakeland breakfast is served in the dining room with an array of continental breads, cereals and fruit with wonderful lake and mountain views. Full English is set out for you to help yourself and there are trays for you to take it all up to your room if you so wish - breakfast in bed do it yourself style!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake House Hotel Ambleside
Lake House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing