We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake House
Nearby Hotels
US$176
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Glen Rothay Hotel(Rydal)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$147
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
439
164
26
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
164
26
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshideaway roomssister hotelwaterhead baythe main housesteep driveb bseparate buildinglovely hotelminute walkbooked a superior roomon arrivaltwo nightsspacious roomreception areaposter bedplenty of choicehotel is situated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit and we were not disappointed. We stayed for 4 nights and booked a hideaway room again as we like being slightly removed from the main building. The room was spotlessly clean and contained everything you could want. We preferred the layout of the hideaway room we had the 1st time we stayed, which was up some stone steps, but the room this time was perfectly fine. There was a minor issue with the heating on the first evening, which was resolved immediately by an extremely helpful member of staff. On the first morning of our stay, there were two occasions when members of staff knocked then let themselves into our room, in order to clean the room, before we'd had a chance to open the door. Thankfully this did not happen again during our stay, but I would suggest that a system is devised in order for guests to let staff know when it is okay to clean the rooms, or embarrassing situations could potentially arise!! The breakfasts were faultless, really good quality sausage and bacon, and eggs cooked to order. The service was excellent. We would have no hesitation on recommending this establishment to friends and family, and would happily return here ourselves. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Many thanks for this great review we are delighted that you had an enjoyable time appreciating the location and thank you for your kind comments on our outstanding service.

We look forward to welcoming you or anybody you have recommended to Lake house in the future.

Regards Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel itself was really lovely - great location and the rooms were really clean and well furnished. We booked two rooms for our family - one superior and one standard room.
We chose this hotel as we wanted to bring our dog and they advertise as being dog friendly, and indeed the rooms were kitted with dog bowls for feeding and drinking!
When I made the booking I was informed that brreakfast was served in the dining room but that dogs were welcome there, so I was a upset when we all turned up to eat as a family in the morning and were treated by the waiting staff as if we had brought something very dirty in with us (our dog was actually very clean!). So we ended up having to have breakfast in shifts but also feeling as if we had done something wrong too.
We decided to take up the hotel's suggestion of a walk over to Troutbeck and I asked the receptionist whether there was a bus service back to Ambleside if we didn't want to make the return journey on foot. She assured me that there was a very reliable and frequent bus service. After having a lovely lunch in Troutbeck (go to the Queen's Arms, great food and atmosphere!) we then discovered that the bus service stops completely from October through to April.
As a hotel, the place was excellent and represented great value for money. But I owuld take any advice or information the staff give you with a pinch of salt!

Room Tip: Go for the superior room!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremys30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate the feedback but on this occasion we do have to disagree with what you have said, we would never say that dogs can be taken into the dining room where food is being served, we have three places in Ambleside that are all dog friendly and the policy is the same for all of them.

We as a family are all dog lovers and have them ourselves but would never expect to take them into a dining room where other people are eating and I believe that we did offer for you all to have breakfast in the lounge with your dog.

Please accept our apologies that the incorrect information was given concerning the buses but now we know that the buses from Troutbeck resume from the 1st April, thank you.

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here for the first weekend in December! The hotel is in a beautiful position over looking Lake Wndermere. We received a warm welcome from the staff and shown to a very comfortable, clean room! We had only been our room for ten minutes when a knock came on the door and we were presented with mulled wine and mince pies- a festive touch that was much appreciated!
The breakfasts had an excellent choice and were served with a smile! The staff were ready to answer any questions and could recommend places to visit!
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Many thanks for your fantastic review the team at Lake House will be delighted that you had such a good time and we will pass on your kind friendly comments.

Thanks again Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed at Lake House in November, as a thritieth wedding anniversary treat. We chose the hotel mainly for its location, and we were so pleased that we did. The hotel was lovely, charming rooms, fantastic loung and dining room, the room we had was everything we could have asked for. Breakfasts were too die for; the choice of food was fantastic, everything was freshly prepared and eggs cooked perfectly to order. The views from both the dining room and the lounge were superb, the walk into Ambleside very pleasant. The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for anyone, everyone was very pleasant at all times. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay to spend our anniversary. And without doubt, we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

We are delighted that your Anniversary treat was a success with us at Lake House, we really appreciate you taking the time to write this review and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back for a future visit.

Regards Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

just returned home after spending 2 nights at lake house ( 2nd/3rd dec) , we had room 5 a large superior double with views to die for across waterhead bay to the langdales magnificent .
the room is large and very homely with a gorgeous king size bed ,which my girlfriend refused to get out off as u can lie in bed and see the langdales without getting out !!!.
great bathroom with bath and shower great for relaxing aching muscles after a hard days walking .
good location only 200 yds from hayes garden world and about half a mile into ambelside itself .
great buffet style breakfast cereal/fruit juice eggs cooked as u like them to go with ur bacon/sausage/tomato/hash browns /mushrooms/beans everything to set you up for the day !!.
great friendly helpful staff always with a smile on there faces .
the only problem we had was the heat in the hotel , but after turning off the radiators and opening windows in our room it was spot on .
overall fantastic stay , great views , wonderful staff , room 5 was superb , great location no wonder they have so many repeat customers . we'll be back for sure .thank you lake house .

Room Tip: room 4/5 have great views over waterhead bay to the langdales
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dranubis59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Wow, what a fantastic review we are delighted you enjoyed Room 5 it's a brilliant room like you have said being spacious and with amazing views, hopefully we will see you again sometime.

Thank you, Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews