We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with a view if you choose the right room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake House
Ranked #12 of 105 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hotel with a view if you choose the right room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Went for a relaxing weekend break and on first impressions the hotel is lovely. We asked for a room with a view and we certainly got that, it was a fantastic view overlooking the hills and the lake, however it was up 2 flights of stairs.

The room was clean and the bathroom had a fantastic shower, but if you do a look hard as they do on "Four in a bed" you could see dust on the skirting boards just behind the bed!

Breakfast was a buffet style but very tasty and you got the option of changing the poached eggs to either fried or scrambled .Toast was also provided and you could eat as much as you liked for breakfast. Much better than other hotels we have stayed in the the same area.

We did not take up the option for breakfast in bed, or staying in with a meal, a bottle of wine and a dvd as there is so much to do in nearly Ambleside.

Would I stay here again? most definately

Room Tip: Room 10 has a lovely view but it is up a few flight of stairs so if you have difficultly walking thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swallow06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review, it sounds like you enjoyed Lake House and Ambleside and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back for a future visit.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    152
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
48
425
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lake House . A very nice welcome awaited and we were lucky enough to stay in a cosy room right at the front of the house looking over Windermere . Bathroom was small but very modern . The shower was huge and underfloor heating was wonderful ! Soft white towels and nice toiletries . We also made full use of the ice machine installed near the reception desk . Staff were pleasant and extremely helpful booking a taxi when the rain proved too heavy , though walking into the centre of ambleside is only a short 10 -15 minutes . There's a pretty regular bus service right opposite the hotel too. Plenty of lovely pubs and restaurants to choose from close by. Breakfast was extremely pleasant and unhurried with nice views of the lake and fells beyond . A lovely garden a plenty of safe parking . All in all a wonderful first stay for us in the lakes . We will be recommending this place to our friends and would certainly return .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JGlass_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
What a lovely review, thank you we really appreciate the feedback and recommendation to your friends, best form of advertising!!

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at Lake House hotel for a belated valentine's break and were very impressed.

The look of the hotel from the outside is very apealing with large front lawns and the building itself is made from traditional lakeland slate.

As we went in to the main reception area we knew straight away that we had made a good choice in booking to stay here. It was a spacious and inviting area with classic and upmarket decor.

We were in the lowest priced room but I was very impressed with the layout and size of the room. It had 3 windows that let in plenty of light and a ornate light fitting that gave a very good focal point. The bed was very comfortable and we both had a great 2 nights sleep.

The bathroom was a good size. The best part was the power shower - I need one at home!

The restaurant/breakfast room was light and airy with modern high back chairs and 3 cove windows where we sat and ate breakfast overlooking Waterhead area and had a partial view of Lake Windermere.

The food was good quality, we had breakfast which was a typical English breakfast with Cumberland sausage.

Staff seemed friendly enough although we didn't see much of them.

My only comment would be that it could benefit from a little bar. The lounge area could be converted as it didn't seem to be used much.

We will definately be stayig here again. We fequently visit Ambleside to visit friends as I am a former resident and will be using Lake House as our base from now on :)

Room Tip: we stayed in the cheapest room and were very impressed so I would imagine the other rooms are amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangelo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are delighted that you were impressed with Lake House and we look forward to welcoming you back for future visits.

Regards Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This is a fab place to stay, it's cosy, clean and ideally situated just outside Ambleside. The room we stayed in was gorgeous, spacious and it had an enormous bed and it was very clean. The staff were really polite and helpful. The breakfast was scrummy and they even did my favourite vegi sausages. When we return to the lakes we won't hesitate to stay here again. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Wow, we've had 2 fantastic's in a row the team at Lake House will be delighted, we will pass on your fab comments to all of them and hopefully we will see you again soon!!

Regards Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This little hotel was in a lovely spot, we had a excellent view and the room was clean with a four poster bed and a nice big shower, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was really good, would be happy to go back, we stayed for our anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Regards Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, first night in one of the hideaway rooms, second night in one of the first floor rooms over looking the lake. Both rooms were immaculate with the hideaway being very new and modern and the main house room being traditional. The staff are very friendly and the place has a cosy, welcoming feel. Breakfast was very good and served at good times. This accommodation is in a fantastic position for not just exploring and walking the Lake District, but also for pubs, restaurants, cafés and shops. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bangcocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
“Great Place, great location' well this says it all thank you and we really appreciate you taking the time to write this fantastic review.

Maybe we will see you again when you are in the Lakes.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned after a two night stay in room 3. What can I say: lovely clean, warm room with a beautiful view. Breakfast was superb,we were treated like royalty by the two female staff (sorry didn't catch their names).We have stayed at many bed and breakfast/Hotels in The Lake District. The Lake House is certainly one of our favourites!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynniekins B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Well what can I say but thank you for this superb review we will tell the girls at Lake house they will be delighted and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Lake house when you visit Ambleside.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake House

Property: Lake House
Address: Lake Rd | Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run country house has spectacular views across Waterhead Bay, Windermere Loughrigg Fell and the Langdale Peaks as well as offering stylish, modern and luxurious accommodation. With its country house atmosphere combined with stylish decor and modern luxury touches, not to mention its eighteen gorgeous bedrooms and wonderful raised vistas, Lake House is a perfect place to stay and make your own. Come together in the large, light dining and living area with stunning lake views, or find your own space to relax and escape on one of the lovely reading landings or from the privacy of your large bedroom. Lake House manages to combine grandeur and intimacy in private surroundings for all occasions. Please note, due to the relaxing nature of the building rooms are not suitable for children.Each of the 18 bedrooms are decorated and fitted to the highest standards, all en-suite with TV with DVD, CD players and tea/coffee making facilities. Some superior rooms feature four poster beds and have the best views over Lake Windermere.Traditional Lakeland breakfast is served in the dining room with an array of continental breads, cereals and fruit with wonderful lake and mountain views. Full English is set out for you to help yourself and there are trays for you to take it all up to your room if you so wish - breakfast in bed do it yourself style!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake House Hotel Ambleside
Lake House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing