We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place when in Ambleside”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake House
Ranked #15 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
252 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A great place when in Ambleside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Situated on a hill near the lake, you can enjoy a view of the surrounding area from here. The rooms in the rear building are even quieter, but don't all have a view from their windows. And its an easy walk to the lake or the center of Ambleside.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room with a nice view. Rooms 14 and 15, while comfortable, only offer a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed Lake House and all that it has to offer we really appreciate you taking the time to put a review on Trip Advisor, thank you.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    153
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
49
431
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from a 5 day break at the Lake House, which was overall a pleasant stay. Having stayed at the property before, we were looking forward to returning. Unfortunately we did not experience the same care and attention as our previous visit 6 months before! During our stay, the carpet in the bedroom was not hoovered once,infact no signs that it had been hoovered prior to our arrival. On the fourth day from returning from a long day walking to find our bed had not been made either. Come on Lake House, this is not acceptable.
Word of warning if eating at the sister hotel 'The Regent on the Lake', be prepared to take written confirmation of any dinner offers, along with names of staff who confirmed them as the restaurant manager is very aggressive and will try to over charge you, regardless of what has been agreed. Food excellent, but with so many offers being available, staff are really not sure what is being offered and at what rate! This did spoil our stay and with so many excellent hotels fighting for your business, there are plenty of others to choose from! Unfortunately we wont be returning. The Lake House were given the opportunity to address this matter whilst we were staying but chose not to.

Room Tip: room 5 has a great river view and is large and comfortable. To the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are really disappointed that you felt you had to write this review as your attitude towards the staff at both Lake House and the Regent Hotel was abusive and rude, especially as you were trying to get a dinner offer that did not exist!!

We are pleased that you have decided not to return as we are not prepared to accept anybody upsetting and treating our staff in this way

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked the Lake House just for one night, firstly we were very impressed with the location in Waterhead which is a mile outside of Ambleside town centre but across the road from the pier and the lake, however there are some steep steps up to the hotel, we enjoyed having a drink on the lakeside and there are plenty of places to eat there. We booked a superior room which was a hideaway room (there were approx 6 in a separate building at the back of the hotel), it was very quiet and romantic and had more of a boutique hotel feel about it, the room was large as was the bed and it had a lovely bathroom, we didn't overlook the lake but we could see it from the side window and there was a lovely wooded area outside, with a small patio, unfortunately we didn't have the weather to sit outside and the patio furniture needed a bit of TLC maybe it hadn't been cleaned since winter? The reception was very helpful giving us brochures and discount vouchers for the boat trips, there is free WIFI but even though we could log on we couldn't get a good enough signal to get online, but hey we were on a romantic break who needs the internet?? The breakfast was very good, I had the special 'Eggs Benedict' and the staff in the morning were excellent. A great Bed and breakfast and a good first experience of Waterhead/Ambleside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toriajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Many thanks for such a lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your 'Romantic Getaway' and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back for a future visit.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Would recommend Lake House to anyone visiting Ambleside. Lovely staff who were warm and welcoming and very accommodating throughout our stay. En suite room was clean and fresh and bed comfy ,The location is great , all amenities. and pubs/ restaurants within easy reach.
Buffet breakfast was excellent, all replenished quickly so nice and fresh.
We went to The Regent ( sister hotel ) for Dinner and was definitely not disappointed. Food was fantastic, worth every penny !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRH1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review telling how much you have enjoyed your stay including your meal at our sister place The Regent Hotel, it makes all the hard work worthwhile.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brotton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Me and my partner stayed at the lake house for 2 nights. We had a top floor room, and I was assured the views were nice, as being short I couldn't see out of the ceiling windows! (The only down point) although we were too busy out exploring to really warrant having a fab view, when the lake is only a stones throw away anyway!. The bathroom has a lovely bath and shower, the soaps and gels provided were beautiful! All of the staff were lovely and breakfast was delicious! I had never been to Ambleside before, and would love to come back, if so we would most definitely stay at the lake house again, perhaps in one if the lovely hideaway rooms! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bereccata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
'Loved It' that's good enough for us, many thanks for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My partner booked a surprise night away on Valentines Day and I was not disappointed. The room we had (I think no 4) was at the front of the hotel overlooking the Lake - the views were stunning despite the drizzle. Our room appeared to have recently been decorated and although we had no shower we had huge mounts of very hot water to relax in a lovely bath after long walks. The bed was one of the comfiest we have ever slept in. Fab English breakfast and extremely pleasant and helpful staff.

The walk at the back of the hotel is lovely and gives fantastic views of the Lake - well worth the effort.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tillymint1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We are delighted that you had a fab Valentines Treat, we really appreciate the feedback and for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor, thank you.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangladesh
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We booked a front room overlooking the lake and were not disappointed. The Lake House is in a commanding position overlooking the lake. The room was clean if rather small with a small but adequate shower room.
Breakfast was excellent and the staff were so helpful and kind. They do not serve dinner and recommend the nearby Regent Hotel. We ate there once and it was not that good.
The Lake House is expensive for the size of room but you have to pay for such a location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to put a review on Trip Advisor feed back is really important to us, we have noted your comments, thank you.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake House

Property: Lake House
Address: Lake Rd | Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run country house has spectacular views across Waterhead Bay, Windermere Loughrigg Fell and the Langdale Peaks as well as offering stylish, modern and luxurious accommodation. With its country house atmosphere combined with stylish decor and modern luxury touches, not to mention its eighteen gorgeous bedrooms and wonderful raised vistas, Lake House is a perfect place to stay and make your own. Come together in the large, light dining and living area with stunning lake views, or find your own space to relax and escape on one of the lovely reading landings or from the privacy of your large bedroom. Lake House manages to combine grandeur and intimacy in private surroundings for all occasions. Please note, due to the relaxing nature of the building rooms are not suitable for children.Each of the 18 bedrooms are decorated and fitted to the highest standards, all en-suite with TV with DVD, CD players and tea/coffee making facilities. Some superior rooms feature four poster beds and have the best views over Lake Windermere.Traditional Lakeland breakfast is served in the dining room with an array of continental breads, cereals and fruit with wonderful lake and mountain views. Full English is set out for you to help yourself and there are trays for you to take it all up to your room if you so wish - breakfast in bed do it yourself style!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake House Hotel Ambleside
Lake House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing