We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake House
Ranked #17 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

First time in Ambleside and could not have hoped for a more enjoyable stay. staff really helpful and great breakfast. also free bottle of wine in our room (17 a hideaway) was a welcoming gesture will defiantly be coming back.full marks to the Lake House.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

'Full Marks' that's fantastic thank you, we look forward to welcoming you back to Lake House for a future visit.

Regards Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for Lake House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days recently and had a wonderful time. Our room (room 1) on the ground floor next to reception was large with a comfy bed, in room free Wifi and large windows. Good breakfast although the "specials" seem to remain the same the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was delicious. Property is on a steep hill which provides excellent views of the lake although after a tiring day can be a final challenge. Boat cruises are on the door step and Ambleside is approximately a 10/15 minute walk away. Staff were helpful and the room was ready on arrival even though we were quite early. Parking not a problem but may have been tight if we arrived later. We were stood outside one night and a small herd of deer emerged from the woods and ran down the drive which were an extra delight!

Room Tip: Room 1 has a large bed, large windows and wifi. No stairs to access which is a blessing after climb...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate the feedback, it sounds like you had a good time with us at Lake House at the icing on the cake seeing the herd of deer, wonderful.

Regards Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Returning again 12 months on we were warmly welcomed by friendly staff who showed us to our room and offered to carry our luggage.
A great room, spotlessly clean, nicely but minimalist decor on this occasion was just what we wanted.
A snack by room service at reasonable rates, then off for a pint just across the road with the sun setting over the lake with fells in the background - perfect.
All in all we cannot fault this hotel - it is also conveniently located just a few minutes walk from the slight bustle of Ambleside itself and handy for those who want a lake cruise.
We personally prefer to walk - and for those with the energy there is Jenkin Crag with a pathway literally next to the hotel at just a few hundred feet - or continue to the top of the pike at around 1500 feet. Just make sure you have a map or guide, the right footwear and take all appropriate precautions - you literally couldn't be closer to the walk! Fairfield horseshoe was a bit too much for us this time.
So there you have it - great place, great people, great location location location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidLifeButNoCrisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Great place, great people, great location location location, it really doesn't get any better than this, thank you. hopefully we will see you again maybe in the 12 months!!

Regards Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

They say first impressions count, well I had a feeling this hotel would be good from the moment I booked by contacting the hotel by telephone. I spoke to a lady called Lucy who was so cheerful and helpful and she booked exactly everything we wanted (including room 5).
Arrived a little early, parking was fine, right outside the front door and check in was easy and no problem.
The room was large with a fabulous view of the lake and the Langdales. Had to agree with other reviewers about this room; excellent.
The breakfast was buffet style and also excellent. Although served between 8am and 10am staff kept replenishing the food and made sure it was lovely and fresh all the time. Views from the breakfast room were great.
Not much more to say about this place as it has all been said by other reviewers. We certainly didn't find anything wrong with the carpet either!
My wife and I would have no hesitation in recommending The Lake House to anyone, in fact friends are already booked for next week and we shall be returning as soon as we can.
Great stay, thank you.

Room Tip: Room 5 was large and had excellent views of the lake and the Langdales, but I'm sure all the roo...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KenHoltSouthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Many thanks for this fabulous review it's so refreshing when guests enjoy their stay, as that is what the team at Lake House work so hard to achieve and we look forward to welcoming your friends and yourselves back for a future visit.

Kind Regards

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Centrally located above the Lake but not on the shore side, but you can see the lake! Simple B&B no frills but quite pleasant and priced accordingly. The greeting by an Eastern European lady was very matter of fact" breakfast vill be served from 8am to 10am, you understand"! From there on once we had received our orders we settled in and had a very pleasant nights sleep in a well appointed room, clean and serviced but like most old houses lacked ventilation and tiny windows!!!
When will British B&B 's and even hotels learn we WANT windows that can open and even in winter!!!!!

Room Tip: Lake view above trees.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, feedback is really important to us and we have noted your comments.

Regards Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend four nights at this lovely hotel. We were assigned the best of the newly refurbished "Hideaway rooms", elegantly decorated, very comfortable and each day immaculately clean. The staff were most welcoming, efficient and clearly proud to be working there.
We will return...a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank soave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

What a lovely review, thank you we will pass on your comments to the staff they will be delighted!!

Regards Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We visitited here 5th-7th July for a special occasion, we were put into one of the hideaway rooms which are gorgeous and so peaceful they are very modern and spacious. The hotel is lovely to o but only went in there for breakfast which was delicious lots of choice to choose from and the staff are always asking if your ok and need anything else. In the reception there is also a large selection of dvds that you can borrow and take to your room. The location is great too just a walk over the road and your on the lake from with some little shops, cafes and pubs.I will definitely be staying here again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend staying in one of the hideaway rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren_B1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate the feedback, it sounds like you had a great time enjoying the peace and quiet in one of the Hideaway rooms.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Regards Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake House

Address: Lake Rd | Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £87 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run country house has spectacular views across Waterhead Bay, Windermere Loughrigg Fell and the Langdale Peaks as well as offering stylish, modern and luxurious accommodation. With its country house atmosphere combined with stylish decor and modern luxury touches, not to mention its eighteen gorgeous bedrooms and wonderful raised vistas, Lake House is a perfect place to stay and make your own. Come together in the large, light dining and living area with stunning lake views, or find your own space to relax and escape on one of the lovely reading landings or from the privacy of your large bedroom. Lake House manages to combine grandeur and intimacy in private surroundings for all occasions. Please note, due to the relaxing nature of the building rooms are not suitable for children.Each of the 18 bedrooms are decorated and fitted to the highest standards, all en-suite with TV with DVD, CD players and tea/coffee making facilities. Some superior rooms feature four poster beds and have the best views over Lake Windermere.Traditional Lakeland breakfast is served in the dining room with an array of continental breads, cereals and fruit with wonderful lake and mountain views. Full English is set out for you to help yourself and there are trays for you to take it all up to your room if you so wish - breakfast in bed do it yourself style!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake House Hotel Ambleside
Lake House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing