We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot for a long weekend in the hills”
Review of Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake House
Ranked #16 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot for a long weekend in the hills”
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Very warm welcome and a lovely room overlooking the lake, we spent most of the time out walking but with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere to turn to was a pleasure after some chilly wet weather. Not sure how they could improve on a super place. Thank you... we'll be back. (I disagree with some of the comments about it not being a hotel... you get more than what you'd get in B&B... we loved it)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bottytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    153
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
49
432
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
waasmunster
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2009

far too expensive,very small bathroom (only for 1 person) with a very little mirror, tv didn'work,breakfast was rather poor (didn't even have a slice of cheese),luckly it was only for 1 night

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BresWaasmunster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Small car park and quite small, easily negotiated if you are a confident driver - we parked our estate easily. Other reviews have stated that it isnt a hotel, they are correct, however, it is a beautifully clean and tidy establishment with very friendly staff. Katie, the receptionist is probably one of the nicest bubbliest receptionists I have ever met in a hotel (seasoned hotel stayer) and couldn't be more helpful. The breakfast is serve yourself and there was plenty and it was fresh (ate at 9am) we stayed in Room 10 which has a lovely four poster bed and I have to say it is like sleeping on a cotton wool cloud - I did wake once to a humming sound but this went off after a few minutes and so did I!!
We had a stunning view of the lake and the surrounding hillside especially as we were lucky enough to witness a sunset. We ate at the sister hotel (The regent) which was also very friendly and clean. The walk into Ambleside only took about 15 - 20 minutes, but be aware...if you dont like shops that sell walking gear then I am afraid you only have Lakeland leather to look forward too! But hey ho, this wasnt a shopping trip (tell that to the bank manager). Beds were made each morning and the towels were all fluffy and lovely, the toiletries were all free and supplied in the room and they were huge!! not those tiny pesky little bottles which only last one wash. Overall i would say that this hotel is lovely for a short stay, it doesnt have all the facilities that "HOTELS" have so if it rains you are a bit stuck and have to spend a few hours reading a book in a pub! such is life.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owenfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

just returned from a three night break at lake house. we had a truly wonderful time, helped by the beautiful weather. the hotel is spotlessly clean and the breakfast is all freshly prepared and plentiful. the location is fabulous, just across the road from lake windermere and from where you can catch boats etc across the lake. we paid about £129 per night for a double room including full breakfast. we thought it was worth this money but would not have wished to pay more.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LENA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We stayed in the Lake House Hotel 22.05 - 25.05 2009.
I have to agree with people here, we were there when they complained and we agreed, it is not a hotel! We were also expecting all the facilities hotel should have but didn't get any. One night we came back after all day hiking after 9pm and the hotel was locked with our key in the reception and nobody cared, luckily we had a mobile with the sisters hotel number.
Breakfast was really nice just not sure if I would be satisfied for longer than 3 mornings.
Rooms were nice and clean with lake view.
It is just really over priced and it is not what its claims to be "a hotel".
We actually mention it to the owner that he shouldn't say is a hotel and he replied rudely that they don't state anywhere that it is a hotel and when we paid on the receipt it said Lake House Hotel. I just think they are taking the p.....
You can stay in any other B&B for half the price.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanaS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Just returned from a weekend trip to this hotel / guesthouse. The good stuff was the rooms were very clean and nice abd the breakfast was excellent as was the service from the staff but, the problem is this is not a hotel its a guest house that pretends to be a hotel. We were under the impression that it had a bar a pool a restaurant etc everything you would expect from a 4* hotel Well it didn't all these things are located in what they call their sister hotel which is 300 yeards away across a very busy main road down some steps and then across a car park. We complained when we got there and then refused to pay the toal amount on leaving due to what we considered the misrepresentation of the hotel / guest house unless we recieved a credit. The owner then blocked our car in a threatened to call the police but we stood our ground and were finally issued a credit. If you want a nice clean if somewhat overpriced guest house then The Lake House will be fine but do not be miseld into thinking this is a hotel it's not.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul-Stocksbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We stayed in this hotel for four nights. We were a party of two adults and a 4 year old. We stayed in room 7, which was not a lake view hotel. First impressions of the room were good , a single bed and a double with plenty space in between. White linen and room itself including bathroom were very clean. Good tea/coffee making facilities. The furniture, especially the wardrobe looked frail and had only a couple of hangers but it was adequate. Check in was efficient. There is no lift in this building.
The first night of our stay was troubled by a buzzing sound on and off, sounded to me like a loud extractor fan in the room, to my husband he described it as a generator outside the window (he is a lighter sleeper) We were going to mention it the following morning but the couple in the room below us got there first. I overheard the lady telling the manager that she wanted a change of room as they had had no sleep since 3am , he said it was a problem he had been told about before !! and it was connected to the heating and he would ensure it was turned off going forward. To be fair it was not a problem for the rest of our stay. However neither did we need the heating on as the weather was nice, I am not sure what would be the situation if the weather was cold, that noise would be a high price to pay for heat.
Breakfast was excellent, crossiants on the scarce side, only 4 left out and maybe another 4 to follow, unless you are v fast you don’t get one! Amanda on reception/breakfast duty / rooms is excellent, a really friendly helpful girl who is a fantastic asset to the establishment.
One more negative thing - the hot water was extremely hot, so we needed to be very careful our 4 year old did not turn on the tap as he would have been scalded.
On the plus side the location in Ambleside is brilliant . It is not actually lakeside (there is a road in between ) but it is perfect for getting boats /buses etc to other destinations. Also there is free internet access on the landing which is very handy. I would definitely stay here again, however mention the heating issue on checking to ensure it is turned off / not buzzing at night. After 9pm there does not seem to be someone full time at reception so don’t leave it too late to check this. The parking issue mentioned by another reviewer is worth mentioned again, we arrived on a Friday and my husband was driving, just as well, its not for the faint hearted getting into a tight space on a cliff edge! We paid £480 for the 4 nights , booking directly with the hotel. The hotel appears to be one of the better establishments in the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ..xxx......xxx9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake House

Property: Lake House
Address: Lake Rd | Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run country house has spectacular views across Waterhead Bay, Windermere Loughrigg Fell and the Langdale Peaks as well as offering stylish, modern and luxurious accommodation. With its country house atmosphere combined with stylish decor and modern luxury touches, not to mention its eighteen gorgeous bedrooms and wonderful raised vistas, Lake House is a perfect place to stay and make your own. Come together in the large, light dining and living area with stunning lake views, or find your own space to relax and escape on one of the lovely reading landings or from the privacy of your large bedroom. Lake House manages to combine grandeur and intimacy in private surroundings for all occasions. Please note, due to the relaxing nature of the building rooms are not suitable for children.Each of the 18 bedrooms are decorated and fitted to the highest standards, all en-suite with TV with DVD, CD players and tea/coffee making facilities. Some superior rooms feature four poster beds and have the best views over Lake Windermere.Traditional Lakeland breakfast is served in the dining room with an array of continental breads, cereals and fruit with wonderful lake and mountain views. Full English is set out for you to help yourself and there are trays for you to take it all up to your room if you so wish - breakfast in bed do it yourself style!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake House Hotel Ambleside
Lake House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing