We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't believe reviews!!”
Review of Kirkstone Pass Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kirkstone Pass Inn
Ranked #66 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't believe reviews!!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My self and my husband stopped here for lunch Thursday 27th March. The place was fairly busy and first impressions were good. Lovely old fashioned pub with roaring log fire. Unfortunately it went downhill rapidly from there. Service at the bar was very very slow, was disappointed with the choice on the menu. We ordered the homemade soup and a chicken burger with salad. Words cannot describe how disappointed we were with the food that was served to us. The chicken burger was extremely small, overcooked and served on a soggy muffin. The salad consisted of a very small amount of shredded lettuce, one slice of cucumber and one slice of tomato. I can't believe that for this along with a glass of wine and half a bitter cost us £17.00. It makes my blood boil that these places think serving second rate food is acceptable. Maybe we just had a bad experience?? Certainly would NEVER go back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    61
    16
    19
    26
See reviews for
37
110
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just called in at the KIRKSTONE PAAS INN and its great the staff made you fell welcome and the food is great and good value for your money. Its a very old pub going back 500 years, a must visit place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RICKERNIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Both myself and my wife stopped for two nights from the 19th of November, the pub itself is quaint, the room was clean but one piece of advice for everyone because of the location it does get rather chilly in the room obviously because of the time that we visited . The staff and owners are friendly and make your stay a delight, the food was excellent. But the most stunning thing about the highest residence is Cumbria is one of the best views in the country the location gives you time to reflect. Will be going back in April this time though.
L.M.Moseley

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Visited twice in one week, the pub has a great atmosphere and in a fantastic location.
The food and beer is good and there is a nice log fire.
Which idiot wrote that the staff are SARCASTIC ? This is B£%&@*$&#
We had excellent service by the two girls.
The little spanish girl is very sweet and polite and the Australian girl is very nice and can take a joke (would have asked her out if I was 30 - 40 years younger) !
I would recommend a visit here, you will not be disappointed !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed over night 17 of november 2013 made welcome from arriving to leaving lovely people food great will definately be back.... A must for everyone who wants to step back in time and a big hug to holly the dog

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 double room bed comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank june h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, very spacious room, the most comfy bed I have ever stayed in. The quilt the matress and pillows where all perfect, having 2 children I'm usually up by 7 each day but we all slept in till 8 due to being so comfy! Breakfast was nice and service was great how lovely it is to wake up and have breakfast in such a nice pub. I would certainly go back had such a cosy room loved everything. The only possible downside is no long mirror but that's only because im vein. X x x

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missymoanalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

With John and Gail Jennings at the helm this hostelry ticks all the boxes We dropped in for a quick pint on our tour of the Lakes(expertly managed by my coz ,Pat, born and bred in the Lake District)Getting here can be tricky if you don't have a car /bike etc., however there is a bus service from Penrith to Bowness and back, which stops at the pub. You are now in South Lakeland so check this out on Cumbrian bus service websites etc and remember the season. Although the pub is not far from Ambleside it is remote (and high,1500 feet).

If you are traveling by car you can either come the Penrith way (A592) or the Ambleside way (same road).OK, so now you are on your way...the scenery is superb, we came past Rydal and went on to Ullswater (I think! better check with my navigator) and the pub is set in the most glorious mountainous countryside. We had the benefit of a sunshiny Autumn day, the colours were just coming through,all red and brown brackens, blue sky and fluffy white clouds. From this you step into a dark cosy pub with welcoming shiny bright bar.There are a selection of local beers and ales on offer .I had Kirkstone Dark, a lovely dark mild and Pat had Red Screes ale. Both well kept,fresh and thirst quenching. We didn't sample the food but there were plenty of folks munching and looking happy. The staff were knowlegable and helpful and Gail was around and about to chat to customers. Bed and breakfast is available and there is a bunkhouse (£9.50 a night) This is a walkers paradise and it doesn't matter if you are more of a stroller than a hiker, this is a great base for your lakeside hol. Ecobuffs will like the teeny wind farm which supplies the pub from the next door field. Disabled access? yes to the pub, not sure about the rest, the loos are upstairs. Definitely would return

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pencooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.9 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
7.3 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.6 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.9 mi away
The Mortal Man
The Mortal Man
#3 of 4 in Troutbeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkstone Pass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkstone Pass Inn

Property: Kirkstone Pass Inn
Address: Ambleside LA22 9LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Kirkstone Pass Hotel Ambleside
Kirkstone Pass Inn Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing