We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original & Quirky”
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Original & Quirky”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hotel is one of the two original hotels that existed in Keswick and it does have a feeling of authenticity about it. The rooms were nice and spacious, homely and comfortable, although the hotel seems to be going through some changes to give the place a little more TLC to keep it up to date. There are lots of original features which I particularly liked, and it keeps in theme with the Lakedistrict (as opposed to the out of character conservatory across the market square on the adjacent hotel).

The staff were personable and friendly, and the breakfast was generous too, always good for a day of walking and rowing. The price was very good and beats that of the hotels around it, including the hotels independent pub "The Queens Head" which was the cheapest pint in town, and had enough tables so that we could sit down and drink a well deserved pint.

I would stay again and recommend it to those who value originality and comfort, it's a hotel that isn't sleek and uber modern but it has a history, and great staff to make any stay memorable.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front facing the market square, preferably on the 3rd floor it has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    98
    72
    48
    41
See reviews for
46
153
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wallsend tyne&wear
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

stayed 1 night 11/02/12..,,good size room,clean and tidy,but had trouble sleeping due to hard pillows...staff excellent,good pint but a bit expensive at £6.80 for a pint of lager and glass of wine....breakfast ok but got an evening meal that just came out of a packet and microwaved absolutley terrible..would stay there again,but on room only basis,and eat elsewhere...meal was attrocious....have stayed at lots of other hotels superior by far to this for less..but expect this for the lake district,,..geordie

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location, the food in the evening is great and you get lots of it. We stayed in a family room with bunk beds which at first looked great but it could have done with being a lot cleaner in the bathroom and really needs renovating throughout. The breakfast wasn't brill the bacon was like cardboard, the tomatoes where on the turn and the beans where cold.
If they just spent some money doing it up they could probably make a lot more money as the rates are very cheap -you pay for what you get I suppose.
I would go back purely because it's cheap for a family get away but not for more than one or two nights

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanneheyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed with colleagues at end of January. All staff, without exception, were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Food was very good with a varied choice. We had breakfast, lunch and evening meals - not one meal was a disappointment. I stay in a lot of hotels and often breakfast., even in expensive hotels, is not up to much. Here it was excellent, served by an elderly lady who was an expert. She anticipated every need and again nothing was too much trouble. Decor is faded but location is ideal for the town centre and as a base for short or long walks.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Widmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Crosby
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Not the last word in luxury and we were upgraded to a superior room as there were few other residents but more than adequate. Staff especially friendly and accommodating. This is a characterful building (probably more so, years back). The room was spacious and whilst the bathroom was somewhat basic, it sufficed for what was a two-night stay. If this constituted a better class of room though, I'd worry a bit if one were to stay 'standard' class.
Breakfast was just the job and maybe the service was over-attentive if anything, but I'm sorry, previous remarks concerning the age of staff etc. are simply unacceptable and are out of place here or anywhere else. Bar manager knows his trade, keeps a good cellar and the range of local beers can't be faulted. Plenty of regular trade in there too, which is always a good sign.
Didn't dine here of an evening as there were more exciting eateries to explore but all in all, the Queens provides value for money and that counts for a lot in these straightened times.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bothyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Good central location, good choice, friendly staff, nice food worth a visit

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Stayed here just before Christmas 2011, nice hotel, rooms could do with a little tender love and care but clean and well kept. The staff were fantastic, very friendly could have not been more helpful. From reception, barstaff everyone was very welcoming and always had a smile.
nice break made even nicer by a great staff team. Well done Queens Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T333MAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
475 reviews
0.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Property: Queen's Hotel
Address: Market Place, Ambleside LA22 9BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Queen's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Ambleside
Queen's Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing