We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce enough but a little disappointed”
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I booked the Queens based on the lovely looking rooms online. Unfortunately, not all the rooms were up to this standard, and while it was a nice enough hotel, we were both a bit disappointed in not getting one of the smart rooms on the website.
On a positive note, the staff were very nice, breakfast was excellent and the manager did offer us a special deal if we returned to make up for the above.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the upgraded rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Came here for Sunday Lunch, starter (soup) cold and powdery, roast beef dinner! The nicest thing on the plate was the carrots and I don't eat veg. No table checks throughout, staff miserable and service slow. Price average, could get better value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Lucill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of June, after reading previous reviews we were a bit apprehensive.. but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was really spacious, as others have said it is perhaps a bit dated, but i appreciated the size and cleanliness of the rooms and it is so central. We got a four poster room which we didn't book, which was great, thank you. We will definitely return, we love Ambleside and we preferred this to other places we have stayed. A big hi to Karl on reception he was great.

HEC

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were looking for an economical, clean and friendly accommodation but wanted to avoid the Bed and breakfast type of stay as we had friends with us from Canada and when we did this in Whitby they said they felt uncomfortable as it felt as if "they were staying in a strangers house".
The Queens Hotel in the centre of Ambleside fitted the bill as it was a medium/ small hotel right in the heart of the village.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the parking at the back of the hotel was a big plus in this busy lakes town. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and the food was good and reasonably priced and the service friendly if a little slow.
On the negative side the wifi didn't work in the rooms(but did in the public areas and was free), our friends hot water didn't work on the first night (tanks were empty due to high demand), our tv didn't work. Overall the place was clean but a little worn out and tired.
We felt it was good value for money and whilst not exceeding our expectations certainly didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacinBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had not pre-booked accommodation when we arrived in Ambleside and as there was a vacant parking spot (difficult to find in English towns and villages) in front of the hotel be pulled in and enquired about accommodation. We were offered a spa room with a comfortable four poster bed at a very reasonable B&B price. The room was warm and adequate with views over the main street which was not a problem because there was little traffic during the night and following morning. The hotel is within the charming Ambleside township and as other travelers have indicated it is an easy 20 - 30 minute stroll to the lake. There is a well stocked main bar on the premised and another one downstairs from it which I did not venture into. The staff were very pleasant and hospitable. We were recommended the Lamb Shanks by the helpful Bar Manager while having a beer before dinner so we decided to dine in which we are so glad we did as the shanks would be the best I have ever eaten. There is a small car park at the rear of the hotel with space for 5 - 6 cars. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

For some reason, in the guest information pack, the hotel management have an A4 sheet of paper explaining that because they are called a Hotel, they have only 2 stars and that comparing them with a 4 star guest house is not really appropriate.

I don't know why they felt that they needed to do this. When I booked I wasn't expecting more than 2* luxury, but to be honest, other than a hotel with an extra star having someone sat bored on a front desk wearing a uniform there's not much difference between the Queens and many 3 star properties I've stayed at.

The Queen's Hotel is very nice and clearly offers more than a B&B. My room, at the back of the hotel was bright and well lit, not huge but big enough for me, and the bathroom was well appointed, clean, roomy and with a nice selection of free toiletries. The TV had the usual range of channels, and there was access to a rooftop terrace with a picnic table from a large piece of hallway off which my room was situated. The room was quiet and my sleep undisturbed.

The breakfast was nice, hot and freshly cooked, with nice ingredients and good service. The toast, unfortunately, had come from one of those machines which makes mathematically averaged properly-done toast - black on one side, uncooked on the other, but apart from that it was spot on.

I had a couple of drinks in the bar and that was very nice, with a decent range of beers.

The location is fantastic - right in the centre of Ambleside, close to everything, with shops and restaurants right nearby. There's a Tesco Metro just a few doors down. There's a brilliant cycle shop with cycle hire just down the hill, and Matthew's Bistro just round the corner is a wonderful restaurant.

Next year, when I return, I'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

the hotel is friendly and comfortable. the food variaty is wide and varied. The presentaion and service are equally good. The value is also good for food and accomodation. There is bars for everyone, a good family come meeting place upstaires and down in the cellar plenty of TV, pool table and music, good amount of space with access to outside for smokers. The sound proofing is excellent not one bit of noise from bar gets to rooms.
If you are staying in this area its highly recomended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redken47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,226 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,416 reviews
2.1 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: Market Place, Ambleside LA22 9BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Price Range: £65 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Queen's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Ambleside
Queen's Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing