We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful food for expensive cost!”
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Dated decor
Poor service
Bad seating and tables
Tacky cutlery
Expensive food and really bad quality
Uncooked chips and potato
No climate control
Condiments poor quality alternatives don't reflect price of food

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

An excellent base for walkers and backpackers to stay, a friendly atmosphere with clean comfortable rooms at very reasonable price! We would definitely book again for a longer stay to take advantage of the lovely surrounding walks with easy access to transport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We came here for a Sunday lunch with two families around 2.30pm on a lovely sunny afternoon. The place was very empty. The decor is Ok but looks tired and needs updating.
For some reason we decided to try it anyway. The food was average and ordinarily I wouldn't have written about it on TA. However, the process of ordering at the bar doesn't seem to work. We ordered drinks and main course at the bar and when we came to order the dessert, after we'd had our main course, they asked for more money. We said that we'd had the two-course Sunday lunch special and we had a bit of a stand-off as the person behind the bar said we could not have the two-course special unless we ordered both courses at the same time. After some debate they agreed to knock the cost off for one or two desserts, but seriously - is that any way to run a business? I suppose if you're not put off by the decor or the average food, then the service is probably going to do it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank scottmordue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Sunday lunch was well cooked, well presented and served by efficient staff. Very good value for money. However the hotel itself is dusty and untidy. Very good choice of draught beers. Could be very good if cleaned

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It's Fathers Day so I thought I would take myself out for lunch. I've walked past this hotel several times but today the 3 course lunch sign beckoned. A nice quiet interior, wood panelling, comfortable. The staff were very helpful and attentive, able to help me with my selection. Nice draught lager and meal ordered I sat down and enjoyed a quiet pint. First course was Chicken Liver Pate with trimmings. This was very nice. Next came the Roast Beef, Yorkshire pudding and veg. This was also very good with nice healthy portion sizes. For sweet, Apple and Cinnamon pie with cream. Yes, this was superb and finished the meal well with another cold lager. All in all a nice time. Only slightly let down as I left. The gents toilets definitely require some TLC. Apart from that a good time.

Room Tip: Only used the Restaurant aspect of this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim186575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Went to this hotel for 2 nights with a group of friends to participate in the WaterAid 200 walk. The hotel was OK for 8 males but I would never take my wife or family here. It is a bit of a dump but the location is good. the staff are OK when they can be bothered but have a very relaxed style when it comes to Customer Service. Breakfast was really disgusting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richiewoodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is well positioned in the centre of Ambleside,but has only a very small car park. The room we were allocated was next to the staff corridor doors and as staff went through the door it banged waking us up on numerous occasions.
The window in the room was dirty as well as the net curtain, otherwise it was clean. The breakfast was excellent with a large choice of food.
The staff were also excellent.
It is unlikely we would stay again

Room Tip: Beware that there is a bar and cellar bar which will create noise to the lower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0hnmillingt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,241 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,731 reviews
0.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
2.1 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: Market Place, Ambleside LA22 9BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Price Range: £63 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Queen's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Ambleside
Queen's Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing