We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained pleasant place to stay”
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well maintained pleasant place to stay”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Good location in the town. Very helpful and pleasant staff. premises well maintained and clean. Room was spacious enough. Hotel has a bar and restaurant and provided very good meals at reasonable prices. Had a pleasant weekend. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 250Winnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    98
    72
    48
    43
See reviews for
46
155
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly welcome and decent food. A fussy party was catered for with no problems. I enjoyed the fish and chips, a large helping. Pleasant local beers available. Loved the sticky toffee pudding. Will return in the future.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Took a sot break here with the wife, first impressions reasoanble quaint hotel with pub/restaurant.

Parking is an immediate problem, spaces outside are for public use and limited to half an hour from 10-6 with a disc. There are a coupel of spaces round the back of the hottel but in the 3 days we were there the same cars seemed to be permanantly parked there. There is however a publub car park 200 yards round the back but at a cost of £7 per 24 hrs. You would have thought that paying nearly £00 per night the hotel would throw in the costs of car parking or have some deal with the local council.

Went to reception after check in time only to be told to come back in half an hour as room wasnt ready, we explained that we just wanted to pick key up as we didnt have out luggage with us at the time. We we given key and that was it, no explanation of where room was or breakfast times etc.

Eventually went to room, no lift of course, room was adequate and bathroom was what seemed like a converted cupnoard, you could sit on toilet clean your teeth over sink whilst your feet were in the shower. To be able to shave at sink and look in mirror you had to have the door open.

No air conditioning so windows have to be left open, rooms at the back overlook the outside bar and both front and back are on the main road through ambleside so best bring your earplugs.

Bedding and most of room was clean and overall a decent room but some more care and attention is needed with the cleaning see photos.

Food was pricy compared to other establishments within a 100 yard.

Room Tip: I dont thinkthere will be a good room due to location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alandt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ambleside hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was our first visit to the lakes and it was a really good 4 days break we stopped at the queens hotel .The room we stayed in was adequate for our needs and yes it could benefit from some updating which we know is taking place from winter this year .The manager has only been with this hotel for six months and has said he will be updating the rooms .We found all the staff very friendly and helpful and we really did enjoy our break .The food after 6 pm could be a little bit cheaper and more varied ,but we will be going back .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We ended up in the Queen's late on a Sunday evening looking for some dinner. We'd been to an excellent, Michelin-starred restaurant for lunch, so we really just needed something to tide us over. Naturally, the food at dinner time didn't compare to lunch, but it was good pub grub. Three of us had fish and chips and one of us lasagne. Portions bordered on huge, although the cost wasn't as great as could have been hoped: a tenner is a lot for fish and chips in a pub. We ate in the bar rather than the restaurant and they were happy for us to be accompanied by our dog.
Probably wouldn't make a point pf revisiting if we were in Ambleside, but it served a purpose at the time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank StuartHolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

How can a pub charge £2.50 a pint for soda and lime, just where do they get their prices from. We was contemplating on staying here later in the year and went to look at one of the rooms. The reception guy was very friendly but will not be staying if the bar prices are as expensive as what we payed for POP!
You don't even get charged that price in a swanky restaurant and this is only a pub in need of a refurb!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sonia e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Dated decor
Poor service
Bad seating and tables
Tacky cutlery
Expensive food and really bad quality
Uncooked chips and potato
No climate control
Condiments poor quality alternatives don't reflect price of food

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
380 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,391 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Property: Queen's Hotel
Address: Market Place, Ambleside LA22 9BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Queen's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Ambleside
Queen's Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing