We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“passing visit”
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Visited the Queens hotel for a meal, and the food twas that good, revisited again. The Lamb Henry was to die for. Other meals were also excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful. This is a popular place to eat. Our first visit to eat was unsuccessful, as the place was packed. That says a lot. Well worth trying.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank malcolm s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

It is very cheap, exceptionally cheap. Staff is very kind even if sometimes not very professional, and the location is very good. Also rooms are as clean as possible. Still, mould stains on walls and ceiling, other stains in the shower and sink (that cannot be cleaned), ruined/broken IKEA style forniture and polar temperatures in the room at 7am (central heating off) did not offer a comfortable stay. They also don't have enough parking space and you might need to park a bit far away.

Nevertheless, I paid 34GBP for a single (which is exceptionally convenient) puls 5 GBP of breakfast. At the end of the day, I had a roof on my head and a private toilet. On average not so bad. I think 14 Celsius in my room in the morning was the only serious issue.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pr0t0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Although this hotel is in need of a revamp / redecoration it is clean and tidy. Our room was small but functional, perhaps a little tired. It was also good value for money considering it's town centre location. The bar was well stocked with good local beers and the food was ok. The staff were very friendly at all times during our stay making us feel very welcome. Given to location there is a parking problem although a very small (5 car) area is available at the rear most people will need to use the towns public parking which is a pain.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Good location in the town. Very helpful and pleasant staff. premises well maintained and clean. Room was spacious enough. Hotel has a bar and restaurant and provided very good meals at reasonable prices. Had a pleasant weekend. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 250Winnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly welcome and decent food. A fussy party was catered for with no problems. I enjoyed the fish and chips, a large helping. Pleasant local beers available. Loved the sticky toffee pudding. Will return in the future.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Took a sot break here with the wife, first impressions reasoanble quaint hotel with pub/restaurant.

Parking is an immediate problem, spaces outside are for public use and limited to half an hour from 10-6 with a disc. There are a coupel of spaces round the back of the hottel but in the 3 days we were there the same cars seemed to be permanantly parked there. There is however a publub car park 200 yards round the back but at a cost of £7 per 24 hrs. You would have thought that paying nearly £00 per night the hotel would throw in the costs of car parking or have some deal with the local council.

Went to reception after check in time only to be told to come back in half an hour as room wasnt ready, we explained that we just wanted to pick key up as we didnt have out luggage with us at the time. We we given key and that was it, no explanation of where room was or breakfast times etc.

Eventually went to room, no lift of course, room was adequate and bathroom was what seemed like a converted cupnoard, you could sit on toilet clean your teeth over sink whilst your feet were in the shower. To be able to shave at sink and look in mirror you had to have the door open.

No air conditioning so windows have to be left open, rooms at the back overlook the outside bar and both front and back are on the main road through ambleside so best bring your earplugs.

Bedding and most of room was clean and overall a decent room but some more care and attention is needed with the cleaning see photos.

Food was pricy compared to other establishments within a 100 yard.

Room Tip: I dont thinkthere will be a good room due to location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank alandt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was our first visit to the lakes and it was a really good 4 days break we stopped at the queens hotel .The room we stayed in was adequate for our needs and yes it could benefit from some updating which we know is taking place from winter this year .The manager has only been with this hotel for six months and has said he will be updating the rooms .We found all the staff very friendly and helpful and we really did enjoy our break .The food after 6 pm could be a little bit cheaper and more varied ,but we will be going back .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,416 reviews
2.1 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: Market Place, Ambleside LA22 9BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Price Range: £65 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Queen's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Ambleside
Queen's Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing