We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Ambleside”
Review of Ferndale Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ferndale Lodge
Ranked #71 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A gem in Ambleside”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Although I have stayed at Rob's several times before this is the first time I have written a review. The fact that I have stayed several times previously is a bit of a give away about how much I value this Gem. The rooms are clean and are large enough to sleep two adequately. Bathrooms are clean and the shower (although not power, which of course is good in today's climate of carbon footprint!!) is fine. The breakfast is always excellent and Rob always has a lovely choice of
fresh fruit, yogurt and cereals to start with prior to a full English fry up, if you can manage it. There is free parking at the back on the property which is another brilliant part of this B&B because parking in Ambleside is at best, interesting. Sheila, Rob and Anne are very welcoming and nothing is to much trouble.
One thing it does lack is a drying room for those very rare wet days in the lakes when you come back from a walk drenched!!! Obviously this hasn't been to much of a problem or I wouldn't keep going back however it would be an advantage.
I would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and I like room 2 as it is on the ground floor and after a hard day in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mole10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    35
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
84
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We had a very nice stay at the ferndale lodge in ambleside.
It was near the city centre and we had a very nice and clean room.
Breakfast was perfect and the host was very polite.
Will come back when we visit ambleside again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This was a nice place to stay, very central and with private parking. which was good as long as you dont get blocked in. Pleasant owners, and a lovely house, although we were put in a small annex at the back. smelled a bit damp. fortunately it was sunny when we were there, but you would get wet going to the main house for brekkie otherwise. comfortable beds, and good towels.
Breakfast was ok, just the normal stuff, but the dining room was lovely.
Would recommend this place, but you might want to ask for the main house.
Ambleside is a lovely town with lots of pubs, shops and a great family park with tennis, bowls, badminton etc.

Room Tip: ask for the main house. try to park at the bottom of the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockchic911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Just had 2 nights here and will definitely go back. Lovely large comfy, clean room. Nice bathroom, gallons of hot water, more than adequate shower don't know what people been moaning for. Superb choice at breakfast, fresh cooked ingredients. Well run by lovely people who obviously take a pride in the place. We were at the front, road noise what road noise!! Parking a big bonus and no big deal, don't know why such a fuss about it. Perfectly located for everything in Ambleside. Absolutely recommend it.

Room Tip: Maybe the rear has a better view than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieSue56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have just returned from Ferndale Lodge where we had a lovely stay. Would thoroughly recommend this b and b. It is very close to the shops and restaurants and the local amenities in Ambleside, plus it has the advantage of having good car parking. The breakfasts are lovely and we looked forward to ours everyday. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Lovely place.. Very clean and tidy .. Only one niggle the water pressure was low so it was a long shower for me and my hair... Breakfast was very nice good choice as not everyone wants a full English breakfast every morning .. Great location for pubs and shops .. Private parking which is good but you could get blocked in if you arrive early ... All in all a very nice place ... Many thanks we will be staying again

Room Tip: Room at back to avoid the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrscozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Really nice bed and breakfast. Clean modern rooms with all facilities you'd expect - i.e. good sized bed, tea & coffee making facilities, en suite shower room, freeview tv, adjustable heating, large wardrobe etc. Our room, #2, also had a two seater sofa and dressing table and good views from two sash windows. Breakfast was good with a range of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and juices.. plus the cooked breakfast and tea / coffee, staff were flexible if you wanted anything different from the stated menu - e.g. poached eggs instead of fried, brown or white toast. The only thing that let it down was the squeaky floorboards in the room above, luckily our upstairs neighbours went to bed early - but they got up early too, therefore so did we! We would consider staying again, but in a room with no-one above us.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynndesign2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#19 of 103 in Ambleside
426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walmar Bed & Breakfast
Walmar Bed & Breakfast
#82 of 103 in Ambleside
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#11 of 103 in Ambleside
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lyndale Guest House
Lyndale Guest House
#67 of 103 in Ambleside
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndale Lodge

Property: Ferndale Lodge
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferndale Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ferndale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferndale Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing