We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Ferndale Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferndale Lodge
Ranked #71 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Visited Ferndale last month with my girlfriend, first time we have stayed in a B&B and we will be back! Very friendly staff who are very polite, helpful and also cook a great breakfast. Rooms are very clean with great views up the Langdales and surrounding mountains. The B&B is based in the heart of Ambleside so it was minutes away from the local restaurants and bars. We received great advice and local knowledge of where to visit and what to do. We have already booked to come back in the new year because we loved it that much!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    35
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
84
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

For what we paid, a 'small double room' was extremely small, we are not usually bothered about this but the room had hardly any room to walk around the bed. However, the staff were really lovely, the place spotless and the breakfast really nice and plentiful. The shower room was also brand new and really modern, even though also extremely small. Would probably go back but ensure was in a larger room. Ambleside is a lovely place and has good links to climb almost all of the major fells. Thanks for a lovely weekend :-)

Room Tip: Small double means SMALL
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Classic_is_best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Everything was good ,clean but the only downside was the shower room it was very small.We only stayed for two nights so it was not a big problem. The owners were very helpful regarding places to eat . Also it was near a lovely Garden Centre .the weather was quite good for us so we enjoyed being able to go to a local restaurant on foot (a few drinks were had that night) and they had live music on which was very enjoyable .

Room Tip: Ask for the front bedroom as that was a little bigger than most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have used Ferndale Lodge on a number of previous trips to the lake district and simply don't even consider anywhere else. Even though we didn't manage to visit last year we had no hesitation in rebooking for this years visit. Clean, comfortable, friendly, great breakfast, excellent value and brilliant location close to the centre of Ambleside.........need we say anything else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

It was a 3 night stay and we could not ask for better place! It was clean and neat, located in the centre of Ambleside, the gentleman owner and ladies who worked there were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious and, what is not always available elsewhere, served for an hour and not just 30 minutes. We had a double room on the top floor, overlooking the street (not a busy one so not much noise), gardens on the opposite side of the road and some hills on the horizon. The size of the room was ok and the bed was really comfortable. And all that for a reasonable price. We would definitely advise this place to a friend/family and we would happily go there ourselves again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thanksforgoodstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My son and I have just spent two nights at Ferndale Lodge as a 'mini holiday' in the Lake District. As a fairly 'last minute' plan, it was booked solely down to being the most reasonably priced b&b in the area at the time ...we just needed somewhere to sleep and be central to activities, we weren't expecting or needing much, just a bed, a shower and a basic breakfast.
We got a little lost in a one way system and found ourselves heading toward Wray castle, so decided to pop in and enjoy the area and phoning them to let them know we would be checking in later in the evening we found them more than understanding and very inviting, friendly and personal when we did finally arrive.
Breakfast was great in both in content and service, my son thoroughly enjoyed his full English (and although I questioned if he'd manage it all before he ordered ) he got through it! He was also advised he could modify it the next day so he chose one less sausage and no egg though this still made for a good sized breakfast! The breakfast card- having a great choice of cooked breakfasts from full breakfasts to scrambled egg on toast to choose from the evening before, makes things run impressively smoothly for both staff and guests.
The service at breakfast was warm and personal (noticing my son likes a cup of tea with breakfast but can't drink a full pot so only half filling it for him the next day for example).
Aside from the cooked breakfasts (I chose English muffins with eggs and bacon both mornings and it was delicious) there is ample choice of cereal, yoghurts and fresh fruits from grapefruit in juice to fresh raspberries, blackberries and strawberries. Enough to set you up for a days hiking/watersports/sightseeing. We found we didn't need a full lunch thanks to the fantastic breakfasts we could go till dinner time with just a snack in between.
The staff at Ferndale lodge have a great balance in friendly and warm and being 'in your face' as you're free to come and go as you please and enjoy your stay with complete privacy.
Ferndale Lodge is less than a minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside - we couldn't have picked a better location if we had known the area well!
The room was clean, bright and cosy and the ensuite was lovely for the size of it (the space was used well!).
Ferndale lodge totally exceeded our expectations (based on stays in b&bs from Whitby to London at relative cost and size) and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ven-n-Thom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I have visited Ambleside twice and both times I stopped at furndale lodge. Each time I have been very impressed with the friendly atmosphere and impeccable cleanliness. The rooms have everything you need and you are guaranteed to have a greats night sleep as the beds were unbelievably comfy. Breakfast was yum and nothing seemed too much trouble. Great start for an action packed day ahead. I have recommended furndale to all my friends and wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryonyleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#19 of 103 in Ambleside
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walmar Bed & Breakfast
Walmar Bed & Breakfast
#82 of 103 in Ambleside
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#63 of 103 in Ambleside
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#10 of 103 in Ambleside
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndale Lodge

Property: Ferndale Lodge
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferndale Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ferndale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferndale Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing