We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Stay”
Review of Ferndale Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferndale Lodge
Ranked #67 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We just returned after spending a very relaxed weekend at the Ferndale. We were met by Ann who is a lovely and friendly lady and looked after us during our stay there. We stayed in one of the annex rooms just above the private car park which was lovely and cosy and extremely clean and adequate for our needs. The breakfast served to us on both mornings was a very good choice with a tasty hot breakfast served by Ann with a cheery smile. The hotel itself is almost in the very centre of Ambleside making it very easy to get around, even though I have limited mobility, There are plenty of pubs and restaurants to eat at in the evening, our favourite being The White Lion which is about 200 yards away.
Thanks again Ann and your team for a wonderful stay and we look forward to returning in the near future.
Derrick & Julie from Sheffield.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dex777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Returned here for first time since December 2012. It's still every bit as good as last time, but there's something else that I wish to add.

On this trip we had a rather nasty accident on Helvellyn, which resulted in us being air lifted off the mountain and me spending 5 nights in hospital, in Carlisle. On the evening of the day it happened my wife phoned Ferndale to say that we would not be able to return for our luggage until the following day. The landlord immediately offered to come up to Carlisle (at least an hours drive) and pick her up so that she could at least retrieve the car, which had spent the day parked up at the foot of Helvellyn. THAT'S WHAT I CALL TRUE CUSTOMER SERVICE

For reference this is what I wrote in December 2012, and which I still fully endorse:

An excellent location, just a few minutes from the centre of town, the bus station and the start of several walks. Rooms are small but clean, comfortable and perfectly well equipped. Breakfasts are tasty and nicely presented in the front lounge. The owner is friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Select a room at the rear, to get a great sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrypoole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently for a short break. The room was absolutley ideal and the location could not have been any better. Rob and his staff were very frinedly and we enjoyed our time there. We would recomend this to anyone, close to walks and the lakes, plenty of good bars and restaurants to choose from. We have already booked our next break and are really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andyto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over valentines weekend we couldn't of asked for more. The welcome you get is wonderful Ann couldn't do enough for us it was a lovely break would stay here again. The rooms are clean and comfy and the food first class thank you

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbriaJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for Valentines night as a surprise pressy for my husband and we both had a fantastic time. Great food & hospitality. Also an excellent location. Would defiantly recommend :-)...........................................

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cazza_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked a nights stay at this hotel last minute. We wanted somewhere that offered the beauty of the Lakes and a few nice pubs! Ambleside didn't disappoint and the Ferndale was the perfect location. Thanks :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have stayed many times at Ferndale Lodge and I would not hesitate to go again. We stayed for three days between Christmas and New Year and the atmosphere in the bed and breakfast was very friendly. Breakfast options are excellent and vegetarians are well catered for. We have stayed in several of the rooms in Ferndale Lodge and no complaints about any of those. Location is perfect too, a minute or two away from Ambleside town centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#52 of 103 in Ambleside
220 reviews
4.7 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,241 reviews
1.6 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
494 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndale Lodge

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £54 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferndale Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ferndale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferndale Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing