We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B ”
Review of Ferndale Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferndale Lodge
Ranked #71 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B ”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Good location, 2 minutes from the quaint village of Ambleside, friendly welcome, great breakfast & comfortable rooms. Request for easy access room for elderly parents accommodated for which we were very grateful. A top spot. Recommend.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    35
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
84
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

just spent a few days here very friendly people and lodge is right in the centre of everything and ideal for exploring ambleside. free parking and lovely breakfast. car park accessible through the pay and display at side of ferndale.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MR m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Had a fab few days in the lakes , weather was fantastic , b+b was excellent with friendly owners who made it like home , couldn't fault anything about our stay really apart from maybe the death trap of an iron we wee given to use , but other than that it was a lovely relaxing place to stay , with everything on your doorstep you would require . Thanks for a great stay ..

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Aspo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay in this B & B. Owners very friendly and welcoming.Breakfast was freshly cooked and excellent. We liked our own table with room number on. Our small double room was comfortable, bright and clean. The free parking was very much appreciated once you found it (through a Pay and Display car park). Would have liked wi-fi.. Very well situated in centre of town, and handy for bus station (5 mins walk). Would definitely recommend Ferndale to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 on first floor. It is a small double room with small en-suite toilet and shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malc777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The B&B was warm and enjoyable. The owner was very helpful. The bed was comfortable (it usually takes me a few days before I can fall to sleep in a strange bed, but didn't in this one) The breakfast was freshly cook and you could have a combination of different variation on the breakfast scheme to choice from, Would go back and stay again. Plenty of places to eat round the town centre and as we were on the door step not to far to walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay over the Easter weekend. We were 3 couples in all. Our room was very comfortable, spacious, bright and clean. The breakfast was excellent and well cooked. We liked the fact that the tables had our room numbers on them. Would definitely recommend. We ate in several different pubs/restaurants in the evenings all close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattikins101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This B&B was warm and welcoming and the staff and owner were all very helpful. The bed was comfortable, the water was HOT, the breakfasts were excellently cooked andw e were spoilt for choice on what to choose to eat each morning. All the breakfasts were freshly cooked as was the toast. The parking was fun, and you have to drive through the public car park next door to reach Ferndale Lodge car park.
Ferndale Lodge has an ideal location to reach all the ammeneties in Ambleside and it is easy walking to reach the bus s tation, and all the local restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back look out over the mountains and are probably quieter than those which lover look t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RevMother3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#19 of 103 in Ambleside
426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walmar Bed & Breakfast
Walmar Bed & Breakfast
#82 of 103 in Ambleside
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#11 of 103 in Ambleside
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lyndale Guest House
Lyndale Guest House
#67 of 103 in Ambleside
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndale Lodge

Property: Ferndale Lodge
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferndale Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Ferndale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferndale Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing