We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fully deserved high scores.”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fully deserved high scores.”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Deserves all the plaudits. Strikes a nice balance between a b&b and a hotel. Quiet even when busy. Staff very helpful when dealing with requests for variations of the breakfast menu. Refreshments available throughout the day to relax in the lounge with. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swa1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear swa1960,

Sorry to be so impersonal but please know how very much I & all the team here at The Fisherbeck appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write your review. Your comments will be passed along to each of our staff members.

We trust you had a safe and pleasant journey home after your stay with us and we hope you will consider us again if you are planning a future holiday in the Lake District.

With thanks again
kind regards
Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    109
    30
    8
    1
See reviews for
61
362
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We only stayed one night but we wish it could have been longer.... We could not fault the staff and nothing was a problem. The room was immaculate and comfortable. The breakfast was especially impressive, sit down with table service and a extensive menu. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaBrezmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Tanya,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your very complimentary review.

It is very gratifying to know when you do an all consuming job like this one that you are getting it right, maybe not all the time, but that is what we strive for. We also pass all our reviewers comments on to our team who very much appreciate such remarks.

We too were very sorry you could only be with us for the one night but hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck sometime in the future.

With thanks again
Kind regards
Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governorate of Muscat, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The breakfasts really were top class. Good quality, well cooked food with lots to choose from. The candlit Valentine's breakfast was particularly enjoyable (the area had a short power cut but this did not deter the staff)! The service was friendly and professional in all areas. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable and the bathroom with separate bath and shower was wonderful. Despite the hotel being pretty full we didn't hear any noise from other guests. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our first floor balcony room was lovely but the garden rooms might be better for walkers who have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigertripper11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Tigertripper11,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review. It is very much appreciated.

Valentine's weekend certainly was memorable from our perspective and we are very thankful that the 2 hour power failure, during breakfast service, did not deter you. Rachel, our manager and qualified chef, was with me in the kitchen that morning and she was a real Trojan...quite literally working in a confined space with very little lighting and no air conditioning to keep the temperature down. Whilst candle light in the dining room was somewhat romantic it did not have quite the same ambiance back of house. Thankfully it appears our front of house staff performed like little ducks on a lake, looking calm on the surface but pedling like heck underneath. We are just glads we pulled it off.

We will also pass your comments along to our housekeeping staff. Doing a good job in this area is something we take very seriously, and we know they will be very happy to hear your very positive remarks.

With thanks again
Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed at the Fisherbeck over valentines. Lovely Hotel with friendly staff. breakfast was excellent and the garden room superb. Will definately stay again.

Room Tip: The garden room was excellent. very modern. Thge last room facing the road did have a little traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alzima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear AlanT,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

We do get a lot of very good comments about our 4 Garden Rooms. They were a brand new build 3 years ago. Instead of trying to refurbish what we had, which were 4 very small rooms, we knocked them all down, started again and used all the space we had to create some very spacious accommodations. Why not consider visiting us again in some warmer weather when you could also take advatage of your own outside seating which each of these rooms has.

I will also be very happy to pass on your comments about our friendly service to all our staff. We couldn't do this job without them and they really like to know that they are appreciated.

With thanks again
Kind regards
Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed here for three nights, Friday to Monday, quite a busy time, I think they were almost full. However, the service was faultless and the b & b is so clean and orderly. A lot of the rooms have undergone full refurbs as had ours and the finish was first class. A very comfortable stay, pack light sleepwear as it can be a little warm, but you can't complain at that and you can feel that they only have their guests interests at heart.
The only thing I would change would be that the breakfast staff clear the plates together as I hate having my partners plate cleared whilst I'm still eating and silver service is very nice although not expected but if you're going to do it, do it well. The position is good, an easy ten minute walk into central town and a great location for exploring Windermere.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloraDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear FloraDawn,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and to be so complimentary. We do take our work very seriously and it is very much appreciated when we hear such good reports, though I have noted your comment with regard to clearing your plate at breakfast. I agree entirely with you.


I think it is possible that the room you stayed in had just finished its refurbishment so we were very pleased you had enjoyed the space and benefitted form the new spa tub. If you returned home more relaxed and pampered than before you arrived I would like to think that we had done our job.

With thanks again
Kind regards
Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Fisherbeck was lovely. Room was very comfortable, room 4, newly decorated and clean. Breakfast was great and staff were very helpful. Owners gave us some excellent advice on where to eat. Being coming to Ambleside 20 years and count this as one of the nicest.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iphonerules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Iphonerules,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review.

We really do appreciate it..

Room 4 was newly refurbished 12 months ago, together with room 2, which is next door. And we have just finished redecorating 4 other rooms this last month.

Thank you again and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck in the coming months.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Had a great weekend here last weekend. The room was lovely (Room 14), with a great bath and seperate shower. The breakfast - what can I say, absolutely top notch. I'm usually one for missing breakfast, especially after sampling the great Ambleside nightlife, but it was that good we made a point of getting up for it! Helpful staff, spotless rooms, ample parking. If coming from the North in the snow, don't trust your satnav!!! Phone the hotel for directions, far safer!

Room Tip: Room 14, in the garden, beautiful room, separate double ended bath and shower - great after a day o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Paddy S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review.

Not only are we glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, but also that you had a good weekend in Ambleside, though I must admit, you probably know more about the nightlife here than I do.

Cooking breakfast 7 mornings a week as I do, but with help each day, we are all very flattered at your comments and strive to keep the standard high. Our manager Rachel who is a highly qualified chef and cooks with me 4 days a week, is a wiz at coming up with ideas for the daily specials.

Room 14 really is a great space isn't it? But there are 3 other very similar Garden Rooms so there is plenty of choice if 14 is not available.

Sorry about the satelite navigation. Coming from the north can be a bit of a nightmare as it will take you the shortest way which is a bit hairy over Kirkstone Pass, but not the quickest and less stressful way skirting by Keswick, Thirlmere and Grasmere.

Thank you again
Kind regards
Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,201 reviews
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Property: The Fisherbeck
Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing