We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Quality”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The Fisherbeck just served up another excellent 4 night stay for us. High standard of room and the breakfast menu and service is better than ever.

Despite being veterans of both this location and the hotel, we still found 3 new walks from the front gate, avoiding driving. Only used the car to get into Langdale on one day.

Back in September!

Room Tip: they are all good (I'm not saying which is the best in case I can't get near it again!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Normanstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear Normanstanley,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review. It is very much appreciated.

It is very gratifying when our regular guests post their comments...it would be so easy not to.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your room. Our ongoing annual refurbishments continue and I do think our guests appreciate the fact that there is something new almost every year.

How great to hear that you didn't have to move the car. I do think we are so well situated being just about half way between the lake in one direction and the majority of the shops & restaurants in the other that we are very well situated. And, as you said there are a multitude of walks right from the front door.

Thank you again and we certainly hope we will be able to welcome you back very soon.

Until then we all send our kind regards

Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay and have to say what a wonderful place it is. The welcome we received when we arrived after a very long drive was lovely and our room was superb. We found both Raymond and Gillian Lane to be very accomodating and answered any questions we had about where to eat or places to go. As everyone else has said the breakfasts were some of the best we have had and we couldn't have asked for more. All the staff are very friendly and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leolion59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the Lake District in general.

Ambleside is such a great place to base your trip being just about the geographical centre of the lakes making it easy to get to other places within the national park during the day and with plenty of bars, restaurants and activities for the evenings.

Thanks also for your kind comments about breakfast. We take the idea that it's the most important meal of the day....particularly when someone else does the cooking, and the washing up!!!!!

And we have also passed on your comments to all our staff who are greatly encouraged.

We do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck some time in the future and we will keep you posted about special offers.

Kind regards

Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Old fashioned can be a phrase that evokes fustiness and tired ideas but the Fisherbeck is anything but that. What is old fashioned is the professional way the B&B is run by Raymond and Gillian Lane. They have high standards, sadly lacking in many other establishments these days, and it shows in the comfort and service outlined in many complimentary reviews on here.

We are just back from a most relaxing four days spent in the Fisherback, using as a base for exploring the Lakes. The Lanes and their staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. I won't mention the facilities as they are well described elsewhere but the ambience of the Fisherbeck is what draws us back time after time. Warmth and personality is what is offered and that can't be bought.

We'll be back and can't wait.

Room Tip: The House is a typical old Lakeland building without a lift so if walking upstairs is a problem ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kandersteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Kandersteg,

How very kind of you to take the time to write your review. It was, as always, a pleasure to see you both again and catch up on news from the previous months....great photos by the way.

Raymond & I trust you had a safe & pleasant journey home from The Fisherbeck and that your few days away were relaxing & refreshing.

We look forward to the next time.

Best to you both

Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We recently had a 2 night stay at the Fisherbeck and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay, from checking in (we were able to check in early because our room hadn't been used the night before)to checking out all the staff were very friendly and helpful.The breakfast was one of the best weve had at a hotel for a long time.It's only a 5 minute walk into town or to the lake so the Fisherbeck is ideally situated.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Jon 1999,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review and we are very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

I do think that our location is ideal, being just about half way between the lake and the shops, and with lovely views of the surrounding fells to the front.

As I cook breakfast every morning, with either husband Raymond or our manager Rachel, we really do appreciate your views. Rachel is the one responsible for putting on our rather interesting array of specials and trust you might have had the opportunity to try one or two.

Thank you again and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck when next planning a visit to the Lake District.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We have stayed in a few different b & b's in Ambleside over the last six years. Whilst most of them have been good, there has usually been a bit of an issue with parking. This time we tried 'The Fisherbeck' as it has it's own good-sized car park. We had a wonderful welcome from the owners, they couldn't do enough for us.

The whole place is spotless. The bedroom was lovely and the breakfasts were wonderful with an amazing and varied menu all served (no self-service) and cooked to order.

It is located about half way between the town and the lake, so it is an easy walk to either. We can certainly recommend the Ambles restaurant and the China Garden.

We can heartily recommend this guest house, it is superb.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dk_iom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
It means a great deal to us.

I must admit it does make quite a difference having a reasonabley sized car park which I know can be a bit of a problem in Ambleside. The beauty of being located where we are, nicely between the shops, restaurants and the lake, and just a stonesthrow from the Garden Centre means that you can park and not have to drive again until you are ready to leave if you wish. Another advantage for the more active is that there are great walks right from the front door, up to Jenkins Cragg, Troutbeck, Wansfell and many others.

Thank you again and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck in the not too distant future. Our 3 nights for the price of 2 offer continues until April 4th and will resume in November. Mid-week offers however are available throughout the year.

We trust you had a safe and pleasant return journey to the Isle of Man.
Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We had not booked in advance but were lucky enough to get a triple room in this Hotel with parking which was a bonus. It is a lovely family run hotel. Central to town. The breakfast was lovely . The weather was pretty miserable but in the afternoon after we had been for a sail on Lake Windermere we got back to the hotel wet and cold and it was lovely to sit by the windpw in the lounge room and order afternoon tea from the menu. Our triple room was very spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately we live in Australia or we would be spending many weekends at this Hotel.

Room Tip: If travelling in threes and wish separate beds the triple room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rothsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post your review and we trust you had an enjoyable time whilst vacationing last year, and a safe return trip to Australia.

The family room that we were able to provide you with certainly is very spacious and I too think it is ideal for three travelling together each wanting their own bed space. And whilst it is on the second floor, and no lift, I do think the space and the views from up there are worth the stairs!!!

We too are sorry that you do not live a little closer because we would be delighted to have you with us more often, but if you are planning another trip in the future please let us know so we can hopefully hold onto that room for you.

Thanks again
Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Deserves all the plaudits. Strikes a nice balance between a b&b and a hotel. Quiet even when busy. Staff very helpful when dealing with requests for variations of the breakfast menu. Refreshments available throughout the day to relax in the lounge with. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swa1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear swa1960,

Sorry to be so impersonal but please know how very much I & all the team here at The Fisherbeck appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write your review. Your comments will be passed along to each of our staff members.

We trust you had a safe and pleasant journey home after your stay with us and we hope you will consider us again if you are planning a future holiday in the Lake District.

With thanks again
kind regards
Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
0.3 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £81 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing