We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, excellent breakfast..”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We had booked the least expensive room available at The Fisherbeck so were pleasantly surprised to find that it had pretty much the same amenities as more expensive rooms at other hotels. There was no view (to be expected in this instance) but the accommodation was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent - with cereals, yogurt and fruit - and a hot selection ranging from fish and smoked salmon to the standard English cooked breakfast. The Fisherbeck is within a very short walk of the town centre so is ideally located - it also has plenty of available parking - a precious commodity and a rarity for a B and B in Ambleside!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlife57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Beachlife 57,

How very kind of you to take the time to write a review of your recent stay with us here at The Fisherbeck.

We do try to make our standard double rooms as well equipped as our others so we were very pleased that you had been quite satisfied.

Thanks also for your compliments on our breakfasts. We do try to make it a meal to be remembered....for the right reasons!!!

We trust you enjoyed the remainder of your trip and had a safe and pleasant journey home to California.

With kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

The Fisherbeck was a wonderful choice of hotel for our first visit to Cumbria, the hosts and all the staff made us feel very welcome, whilst providing a truly professional '5 star service' during our stay. Room number 4 is beautifully presented with a luxury bathroom and also had breathtaking views from its balcony. The breakfast was incredible with many choices as well as a special of the day, staff were very attentive and professional. The quality of the snacks available were as incredible as the breakfast and we spent several evenings in the lovely lounge enjoying them - the scones and homemade damson jam were delicious! Mr and Mrs Lane were terrific hosts and we look forward to returning to this lovely place for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhoey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Dear Mr. & Mrs H

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review and we are thrilled that you had such a good week, both with ourselves and in & around Ambleside.

Rachel, our manager, who previously worked for us several years ago as a chef, & I cook breakfast most mornings and prepare a great deal of the other Lite Bite Menu food so we were very pleased that you had enjoyed them so much. We will have to think of some new ideas for breakfast specials for your next visit.

Thanks also for your mention of our lovely housekeeping and waiting on staff. We absolutely could not do this job without their hard work and consistent attention to detail.

Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Fisherbeck next year.

Kind regards

Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We came to see the Torch Run in the Lake District. The skies opened and we had two days of rain but The Fisherbeck proved to be a very pleasant haven. With a sumptuous breakfast and very comfortable accommodation it was a bright spot in our otherwise damp visit to Cumbria. Our host was on hand to assist in any way he could. WiFi is in the sitting room. Free parking alone should entice you to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Dear Jenny W

Thank you very much for your review. It is very much appreciated.

It really was a damp night wasn't it.....but we too managed to have a look at the Olympic Torch as it went through Ambleside. It was far more exciting and engaging than I had expected and I particularly enjoyed watching it leave Ambleside on board the Tern to sail down the lake to Bowness.

I also noted your comments with regard to parking here at The Fisherbeck, and I must admit we do feel rather blessed to have such a good space for our guests.

Thank you again and we do hope you will think of staying with us if you return to the Lake District. We always suggest telephoning us directly for our latest offers...not always available on-line and hopefully by that time our WiFi connection will be building wide with planned upgrade due in October.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Lovely place to stay in Ambleside. Comfortable very clean room, great bathoom, fantastic breakfast and friendly obliging staff - couldn't fault anything.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 with a nice view of the fells
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beastygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Beastygirl,

Thank you very much for writing your review, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed staying in room 2. It is a very popular room being a decent size and having good views of the fells. I think the balcony is such a bonus, particularly if we ever manage to get some decent weather this year!!!!!

This room was completely refurbished a year ago and we are particularly please with the bathroom now that it offers a spa bath, separate shower and 2 wash hand basins with all marble tiles. And being able to offer this room as either a twin or a super king makes it very versatile.

We do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

From the sitting room of the Fisherbeck hotel, one can have a picturesque view of the fell. The sitting room is a nice place to relax after a tiring trip. We had our welcoming tea served there after reaching the hotel - indeed it was a nice gesture by Fisherbeck. The hotel is located not in the Ambleside town but about a 5 minute walk away and is a distance from the pier to take ferry to Windermere. For those who drive, it is not a problem and the hotel has a large parking yard in front.

The room that we booked was small facing the back which has another 3-storey building (looked like office building) across the street. Luckily we stayed on the second floor and could have a better view of the greenery hill slope on the far right and the houses and streets on the far left. Had we stayed in the room right below i.e. on the first floor, the window view would be the opposite windows. The en-suite shower and toilet was also small. So was the shower enclosure. However, the toiletries provided are of high quality with very nice fragrance. The breakfast was superb and delicious. It was a great start for the long day in sight seeing. A minor feedback is that the staff at the breakfast seemingly too efficient to clear the plates and lack in asking if we need more serving made us feel a bit rushed. This could be due to the staff's language difficulties in communication.

The stair and passage to the rooms were narrow. Staying in upstairs proved to be a challenge for managing luggage. Luckily, the owner, Mr Raymond Lane, was always ready to lend a helping hand to carry heavy luggage from the car park to the room. On our departure, Raymond again lent his helping and strong hands. Raymond was very helpful in providing information on what to see for us who stayed just for two days. With his recommendation, we went to Aira Force Fall at Ullswater before we left the Lake District. It was a worthwhile journey to see the fall. We enjoyed the tranquility of the nature and the freshness of the air in the Aira Force . Raymond was very kind and considerate in providing a separate room that was available to one of us to rest by himself so as to prepare for driving the long trip home safely the next day.

All in all, we had a very comfortable stay and nice experience at Fisherbeck. We appreciate very much Raymond's efforts which made a difference. Fisherbeck will be on the top of our list in our future choices of accommodation at Lake District.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WXYZ_BPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Greeetings from Ambleside to our guests in Singapore.

Thank you very much for writing your very detailed review of your stay with us. I am sure it will be very helpful to future visitors.

I remember that you had booked our standard double rooms which are the least expensive and whilst there is no view to speak of from these rooms we are very fortunate that we have such a great location with views to the surrounding hills from the front bedrooms, lounge and upper dining room.

We trust you enjoyed your trip to England and had a safe and pleasant homeward journey.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

What a wonderful place!
Beautiful room and extremely clean.
First class breakfast with lots of choice.
The owner was a great guy, couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable.
Will return again in July
Thanks for a great stay, mr and mrs Charlton

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissy20586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Dear Mr & Mrs Charlton,

How very kind of you to write your review. It means a great deal to Rayond & I and all of our members of staff, without whom we could not do this job, that guests enjoy their visits with us.

I know you have re-booked for July and we shall look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Let's hope that the weather is like it is at the moment...very warm & sunny.

We both send our very best wishes

Raymond & Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Fisherbreck Review,
My girlfriend & i stayed at the Fisherbreck last weekend, the location is excellent, perfect for planning long or short walk's & visiting the local Pub's & varied restraunt's which were literally 5 minute's walk away.
The Hotel itself is great value & i can understand the why this hotel has excellent rating's.
Our room [ No 20] was colourfully decorated, spotlessly clean & had all the trappnig's of major 5**** rated high priced hotel's, the bathroom was spacious & contained a spa bath & great shower.
Breakfast had a varied menu from cereal, full english to kipper's, haddock & a good selection of vegetarian dishe's all served with mountin's of toast , tea or coffee, various juice's & locally produced jam's & marmalade.
The staff were friendly & made you most welcome.
The lounge area conatined a small bar which offered various drink's,& snack's..
Checkin & checkout were quick & easy.
We really enjoyed our stay & we would recomend this hotel for short or long stay's.
Mark Bailey.
Handforth, cheshire.

Room Tip: stayed in room number 20, great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Dear Mr. Bailey,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your very detailed review. How thoughtful to mention the room number. I always think it helps guests to make decisions if they can refer back to a specific room, and room 20, though at the rear of the building, has a nice aspect and has always been a favourite of many of our regular quests, particularly those walkers who like to indulge in the spa tub after a day on the fells. And the advantage of booking directly with ourselves also means you can request which ever room you prefer.

Thanks also for your kind comments with regard to breakfast. We make a great deal of the menu ourselves and try to add that little extra with our range of daily specials, like the kippers, smoked haddock fishcakes and savoury breakfast scones. We recently changed our bread supplier and we are having rave reviews about the Staveley based Mores Artisan Bakery bread we use for toast. The trouble is we are eating far too much of it ourselves!!!!!!!

Thank you again and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck in the not too distant future. And just as a matter of interest, if you can't get away during the summer, we offer 3 nights for the price of 2, based on the full price tariff starting in Novemebr and running right through until March staying any nights of the week at all, but only available if booked directly with ourselves.

We do hope you have been able to make the most of the fabulous weather we have been having.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
0.3 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £82 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing