We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserved praise”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2012

When I looked at tripadvisor i could scarcely believe the praise for Fisherbeck, but having stayed there I can now understand the guests' enthusiasm. For a Bed&Breakfast, Fisherbeck has a very high standard.
Our room, though small, was very clean and modern, and we found the bed comfortable. The lighting in the room was excellent compared with many hotels these days which insist on subdued wall lighting. We found the separate toilet and shower room useful in the morning.
We were grateful for the complimentary pot of tea served in the lounge on our arrival.
Breakfast was delicious, with a wide choice, and it was nice to be served at our table rather than fetching it ourselves from a semi-dried out heated range.
Mr Lane confirmed our choice of Dodds Restaurant in Ambleside for an evening meal, and encouraged us to set out promptly, which turned out to be sound advice.
We would have no hesitation in returning to The Fisherbeck if we stay in Ambleside again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gansonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

We do indeed try very hard to maintain high standards throughout from your pot of tea on arrival to a clean and comfortable room right through to breakfast the next morning.

Raymond was particularly appreciative of your comments regarding lighting. We feel just as you do that good lighting makes such a difference. I can't bear not being able to read or put make up on just because the lights are in the wrong place or are the wrong size.

As I cook breakfast every morning I was also appreciative of your comments and we certainly try to do our best so that our guests are sent off each morning well fed and watered.

With thanks again & we do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

We went to stay here for one night and really dissappointed, especially after reading all the reviews. The hotel decor is dated, there is a funny smell in the hotel and rooms, bathroom was not clean; sinks and bath needed bleaching! The keys are on old tatty keyrings. Bed was unconfortable and room was tiny! Breakfast service was very rushed and and because it's not buffet, we had to askfor orange juice several times for top ups. I would rather pay for a standard b&b, as this is all it is. I really feel we were ripped off at about £100 per night when I could have booked a room at the langdale hotel for that! If you like a little luxury, dont bother. If you will be out walking all day and only need a bed, it's ok (although it is uncomfortable!).

Some good things; location is good and coffee was great!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poppyseed1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Poppyseed 1976

Thank you for writing your review and whilst you obviously didn't enjoy your one night stay we find all comments profitable so we can act where necessary, though it would have been even more useful if we knew which room you stayed in and when.

Interestingly though by the date you posted your review you will have stayed at just about the same time as the hotel inspector. On this accassion she booked in anonymously staying overnight, as oppossed to a walk in day visit, and we did not know who she was until after the commencement of her stay. The following morning she asked to have a good look around and she inspected ALL of our rooms and ALL bathrooms and was very impressed.

Again it would have been so useful to know which room you stayed in because the vast majority of our beds have been replaced within the last 3 years or so and we buy only the best quality posturpaedic double pillow top matressess from a highly reputable national manufacturer made here in Cumbria. If your bed was uncomfortable we would very much like to replace it if necessary.

Glad you got plenty of orange juice though. You can have as much as you like, as you can with anything else we serve at breakfast. You only have to ask. We probably never will go to a buffet style breakfast as our dining room is situated on three levels and would be almost impossible to lay out.

Thanks again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

If you plan to visit Ambleside for a short break than I have no hesitation in recommending The Fisherbeck.

LOCATION-the hotel is situated just a few mins stroll away from the town centre, with its numerous restaraunts and pubs, and also the Lake front, with its pier and ice cream parlours. Parking is ample and free which is a major plus for the Lake District.

SERVICE-this is excellent. I was in communication with the hotel staff prior to arrival to organise a special surprise for my wife on arrival and all communication was prompt, professional and friendly...many larger hotels in big cities could learn a lot from the service at The Fisherbeck.

BREAKFAST- this is simply outstanding. The menu is extensive and absolutely delicious. The hotel has won awards for their breakfast and it is so clear to see why. The service is excellent too.

ROOMS-it would be unfair to comment on all of the rooms as we were lucky enough to have a balcony room facing the front of the hotel (room 15). It was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. Some have commented that the rooms are a little small and it is true that they are compact (so too was the bathroom), but this is a Lake District B&B and so fairly similar to many of the other rooms available in the area. However, it was possible to have a little noise from the room above, not because they were loud guests-the floor was a little squeaky in parts so you could clearly hear them at night when they walked across their room. For many though, this probably wouldn't be too much of an issue.

All in all a nice place to have a short breakaway and enjoy the locality and wonderful breakfasts. Thanks to all the staff who worked hard to make our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Reserve the rooms with balcony and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterTravel_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Traveller from Manchester

How very kind of you to write such a comprehensive review of your stay with us.

We are indeed blessed with a good amount of parking though it gets a little full now and again. But we always manage to fit everyone onto the car park.

We have mentioned your comments to our staff who, we hope, are trained to look after our guests, and that certainly seems to have been the case. The same young ladies who serve breakfast also clean the rooms and were glad to hear that they had ticked all the boxes both during breakfast service and in housekeeping.

Thank you again and we do hope you will think of us again if you are planning a trip back to the Lake District.

With kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice on where to stay as our room No 14 was amazing! It was so comfortable and spotlessly clean. Having the outside patio space was brilliant as the sun did actually shine for us. Breakfast was a pleasant change to be served fresh and hot to the table rather than buffet style. Great selection on the menu with a daily special also.Great wine list with lovely champagne! It would appear that they go the extra mile at The Fisherbeck to suit everyone. Would definatly recommend and hopefully be back again soon.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank happydays072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear HappyDays072,

Thank you very much for writing your kind review. Room 14 is a firm favourite with many of our guests, as are all four of the Garden Rooms.

So glad you enjoyed breakfast and we agree that hot food served to you is one way to make our guests feel taken care of whilst they are with us.

We do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck again in the not too distant future and until then we send our kind regards.

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

It was our first time to the Lake District and we weren't dissappointed.We booked the cheapest accomodation and could not fault it at all. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. Everyday clean towels were replaced and on arrival the bathroom was well stocked of toileteries.
The breakfast was fantastic, something for eveyones taste, faultless. All the staff were friendly and polite. Excellent Value!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Chritine G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I cannot believe that living in Manchester that this was your first visit to the Lake District. So often we explore further afield and yet there is such a great deal to see and do almost on our doorsteps. So we hope there will be future visits to Ambleside and hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We had booked the least expensive room available at The Fisherbeck so were pleasantly surprised to find that it had pretty much the same amenities as more expensive rooms at other hotels. There was no view (to be expected in this instance) but the accommodation was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent - with cereals, yogurt and fruit - and a hot selection ranging from fish and smoked salmon to the standard English cooked breakfast. The Fisherbeck is within a very short walk of the town centre so is ideally located - it also has plenty of available parking - a precious commodity and a rarity for a B and B in Ambleside!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlife57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Beachlife 57,

How very kind of you to take the time to write a review of your recent stay with us here at The Fisherbeck.

We do try to make our standard double rooms as well equipped as our others so we were very pleased that you had been quite satisfied.

Thanks also for your compliments on our breakfasts. We do try to make it a meal to be remembered....for the right reasons!!!

We trust you enjoyed the remainder of your trip and had a safe and pleasant journey home to California.

With kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The Fisherbeck was a wonderful choice of hotel for our first visit to Cumbria, the hosts and all the staff made us feel very welcome, whilst providing a truly professional '5 star service' during our stay. Room number 4 is beautifully presented with a luxury bathroom and also had breathtaking views from its balcony. The breakfast was incredible with many choices as well as a special of the day, staff were very attentive and professional. The quality of the snacks available were as incredible as the breakfast and we spent several evenings in the lovely lounge enjoying them - the scones and homemade damson jam were delicious! Mr and Mrs Lane were terrific hosts and we look forward to returning to this lovely place for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhoey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Dear Mr. & Mrs H

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review and we are thrilled that you had such a good week, both with ourselves and in & around Ambleside.

Rachel, our manager, who previously worked for us several years ago as a chef, & I cook breakfast most mornings and prepare a great deal of the other Lite Bite Menu food so we were very pleased that you had enjoyed them so much. We will have to think of some new ideas for breakfast specials for your next visit.

Thanks also for your mention of our lovely housekeeping and waiting on staff. We absolutely could not do this job without their hard work and consistent attention to detail.

Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Fisherbeck next year.

Kind regards

Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,721 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £83 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing