We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better.”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better.”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Fisherbeck to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary

We had no complaints about the running and particularly the cleanlliness of the hotel

We had a large west facing room with balcony and lovely views.

As commented by a previous reviewer, the breakfast was served in quite a regimentated way but the food was always hot and plentiful.

Room Tip: Room 2 had a spa bath and walk in shower. Anybody who has problems with stairs, like myself, diffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mw286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    109
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
61
354
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Arrived at the Fisherbeck for a two day break. Accommodation was very good having paid for an upgraded room. Breakfast on day one was very strange. The clinical service by three foreign sounding women only added to the very strange atmosphere. You were constantly being watched by one or other of the waitresses, who seemed to take great delight in removing your plate the second that you had finished. As for the owner, he obviously had a military background and was making sure everything ran smoothly. Breakfast on day two was even stranger. After being shown to a table and sat down, we were told that we were at the wrong table. Upon my protestation at wanting to sit at this table, the waitress seemed VERY upset and insisted that we move to another table. Poor customer handling skills.I have never felt more uneasy whilst eating ever before. On a plus note, the food was okay. Overall, we liked the place, but we will never return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atillathegillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My partner and I visited this hotel last minute booking directly through the hotel. We had a pleasant room at the rear of the property that was clean and adequate for our needs. Towels, toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities which were refreshed daily. We stayed 2 nights. Parking facilities were fine and location great. It was literally on a 5 min walk to Ambleside centre and max 10 min to the lake. At first I thought about booking right in the centre but glad we didnt as the walk into the town was pleasant and no hills. We found a lovely pub called the Royal Oak, it was quaint and got very busy but I recommend it. Breakfast at Fisherbeck was great. I had salmon and scrabbled egg both days and it was fantastic, fresh and hot. Some reviews on here make adverse comments on the regimental style of the eating area, we found this to be an advantage and well organised. We were always pleasantly met by the waiting staff and nothing was too much trouble. They were attentive and efficient. Personally i found breakfast relaxing and it made a change not to have kids running around freely and queuing at buffet tables. A lovely experience to be served breakfast. We did everything we wanted to in 2 days so will probably not return to Ambleside but if we did we would certainly stay at Fisherbeck and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back did not necesary have a fab view but they were so quiet I would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed for three nights from sunday 17th february. This was the first time staying in the fisher beck and it was very friendly, clean, and of a high standard. Breakfast was superb with plenty of choice with food and drinks. Service from the staff and the owner was friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Perfect location, short walk into the centre of Ambleside. Loved it and will defiantly be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexChambers37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review. We really do appreciate it.

We are very fortunate indeed that we are so well locate being just about half way between the lake and the shops and most amenities...just a five or six minute walk in either direction.

And we are so glad that we seemed to have ticked all the boxes, giving you a warm reception, good service, clean & comfortable room and a hearty breakfast.

Thank you again and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We visit Fisherbeck frequently throughout the year usually to mark anniversaries or birthdays. Just returned home today after another fantastic weekend!!!! Newly refurbished room.... Beautiful!!! Breakfast was amazing especially homemade flapjack which we saved for the journey home!!! Nothing is too much trouble!!! Loved it!!!! Many thanks.....see you soon

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you so very much for your rather lovely review. Having been involved in this industry for almost 35 years I know full well that despite all your efforts you can't suit everybody all the time so it is very comforting to know that we get it right sometimes.

We are just so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back to The Fisherbeck, we hope, in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan,Lancs
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Even better than the first,we had a room with a spa bath,recommended after a long day out walking!The breakfast is superb,plenty of choice and lots of it,you get constant refills of coffee and juice,lovely!
It's in a great location,within 5 minutes walk of Ambleside itself,and although its on a main road,it's far enough away so you don't hear the traffic.
We struggled to get the wi-fi working but strangely enough it worked on the Kindle fire but not the iPad!It never really bothered us as to be honest I usually end up wasting far too much time on the net anyway!
We took advantage of their 3 nights for 2 offer,well worth it if you've got the time.
You can also use the gym/spa facilities of a nearby hotel,we didn't as the weather was fine so we took advantage if that while we could.

Room Tip: Both times we have stayed here we have had a room at the front,one with a balcony,the other with a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and that you indeed ventured back for a second visit.

The balcony rooms are indeed great favouites with so many of our guests. No matter what time of year the views from there are quite enviable. And I was pleased to hear that even in February the weather was good. In fact, we really do have far better weather than is often forecast....and if not there is always the spa/health club.

Thank you again and we do hope you will think of us again should you be planning a trip to Ambleside.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We booked last minute for one night stay on Saturday for our wedding anniversary. We were offered a choice of 3 rooms, obviously the best room with the best view was the most expensive, it was discounted to £95 for us. The bed was comfy, linen nice and clean and crisp and beautiful bathroom however for that money I would have expected a bottle of water and at least a packet of biscuits each. Breakfast (like others have commented) on is served between 8.30 - 9.30, no choice of table as each room has a specific one. OK, the food is amazing, however the atmosphere isn't good! Staff are stood waiting and watching, there is no background music and its all a bit formal. However all in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkinooDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

I have to admit that your visit in early February was just a few days after we re-opened after our annual winter closing and I was determined that 2013 would not see us dispose so recklessly of endless numbers of water bottles so a few days after your visit our own filtration system was fitted and re-usable bottles arrived. We now offer our guests as much filtered water as they like without the environmental impact.

I was also determined to re-source biscuits that are made as locally as possible, of good quality & with a variety of flavours so each person who stays has their own packet of three cookies, replenished everyday.

Thank you again.

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,369 reviews
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Property: The Fisherbeck
Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing